IGNORED

Pay for modifications or just get new irons?

Note: This thread is 3696 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Just looking for some opinions/advice. So I have a set of MP-59s that I have been playing for almost 2 years. They are great clubs and I've been quite happy with them. Problem is that I have been working really hard on my swing and have made a lot of progress. As the swing gets better and better, it's becoming clear that different shafts would benefit my game. Another issue is that the fitter I used when I bought the clubs didn't do a very good job. He said that standard lie would be fine, however, it turns out I need the clubs bent 1-1.5 degrees upright. It's also time to re-grip.

So my question is if you were in a similar position would you pay for the upgrades/mods on the current set or just get a new fitted set of irons?

Unless you want a different head for some reason, I'd just do the math.  If the cost for everything you want to do is within $100 or so of the cost of new......spec'd the way you want, I'd buy new.  If it's less, go with the makeover.

2 years certainly hasn't put enough wear on the club heads to justify spending much more......again, unless there's a specific club head you want in place of the MP 59's.

• Upvote 1

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades