Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
phan52

Grasses outside of a bunker

15 posts in this topic

I was in the back of a bunker with a downhill lie. The bunker had some long grasses surrounding the bunker, but very clearly not IN the bunker. I take my club back and brush the grass outside the bunker before striking the ball.

Legal?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I was in the back of a bunker with a downhill lie. The bunker had some long grasses surrounding the bunker, but very clearly not IN the bunker. I take my club back and brush the grass outside the bunker before striking the ball.

Legal?

Never mind, just found it in the rules, 13-4 Ball in Hazard. It's OK, in the backward movement for the stroke, to touch the grass.

I figured as much. My opponent didn't agree. He's a guy who is pretty knowledgeable of the rules so I got a little confused.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know, in your situation, the grass was outside of the bunker, but I would also make the point that as far as bunkers are concerned, things growing in a bunker are not part of the hazard.  So you really don't need to even consider the note under R13-4.  There is no penalty for touching the grass in a bunker with your club, and even if the grass were in the confines of the bunker, no penalty for grounding your club on the grass.

13/2

Status of Tree in Bunker

Q.Is a tree in a bunker part of the bunker?

A.No. Grass-covered ground within a bunker is not part of the bunker. The same principle applies to a tree. The margin of a bunker does not extend upwards.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Never mind, just found it in the rules, 13-4 Ball in Hazard. It's OK, in the backward movement for the stroke, to touch the grass.

I figured as much. My opponent didn't agree. He's a guy who is pretty knowledgeable of the rules so I got a little confused.

Ther grass was not in the bunker so 13-4 wouldn't be relevant anyway.

But if it was in the bunker this decision applies.

13-4/4

Touching Grass with Club During Practice Swing in Hazard

Q. A player takes a practice swing in a water hazard without grounding his club, but his club touches some long grass. Is there a penalty?

A. No – see Note to Rule 13-4 . However, the player must ensure that his actions do not breach Rule 13-2 or constitute testing the condition of the hazard.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ther grass was not in the bunker so 13-4 wouldn't be relevant anyway.

But if it was in the bunker this decision applies.

13-4/4

Touching Grass with Club During Practice Swing in Hazard

Q.A player takes a practice swing in a water hazard without grounding his club, but his club touches some long grass. Is there a penalty?

A.No – see Note to Rule 13-4. However, the player must ensure that his actions do not breach Rule 13-2 or constitute testing the condition of the hazard.

Hi Rulesman,

D13-4/4 deals with a water hazard.  Does not grass growing in a bunker have the same status as grass growing outside of a bunker?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Although 13-4/4 mentions a water hazard, the rule and the decision are about hazards of both types (see the titles).

It is simply giving an example to reinforce that live grass in a hazard is not ground in the hazard.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think that changes anything I said in post #3. I still don't think R13-4 is the applicable rule when ruling on grass in a bunker. I believe the definition of a bunker covers this.  The grass itself, and the ground from which the grass is growing, is not part of the hazard in a bunker.  This is not true with water hazards.  Although touching the grass in the back swing is treated the same in both bunkers and water hazards, this is for different reasons.

Other things regarding grass in bunkers and water hazards are treated differently.  (grounding the club, loose impediments)

Live grass in a water hazard is still grass in the hazard, which is not the case in a bunker.

I'm just being argumentative today......we'd both give the same ruling. :beer:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Live grass in a water hazard may well be grass in the hazard but is is not ground in the hazard and 13-4 is about touching the ground in any hazard.

Phan52 introduced 13-4 into the debate, correctly but arguably redundantly.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think that changes anything I said in post #3. I still don't think R13-4 is the applicable rule when ruling on grass in a bunker. I believe the definition of a bunker covers this.  The grass itself, and the ground from which the grass is growing, is not part of the hazard in a bunker.  This is not true with water hazards.  Although touching the grass in the back swing is treated the same in both bunkers and water hazards, this is for different reasons.

Other things regarding grass in bunkers and water hazards are treated differently.  (grounding the club, loose impediments)

Live grass in a water hazard is still grass in the hazard, which is not the case in a bunker.

I'm just being argumentative today......we'd both give the same ruling.

Have you never seen a poorly tended bunker with grass growing up through the sand?  That ground is still part of the bunker - only the grass is not.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

U guys keep bringing up the "ground". I'm not sure how that relates to the OP's question. I agree with ur point concerning weeds or grass that's not suppose to b there. :surrender:
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

U guys keep bringing up the "ground". I'm not sure how that relates to the OP's question. I agree with ur point concerning weeds or grass that's not suppose to b there.

I was only replying to you, not to the OP.  The OP answered his own question before we chimed in.  You said no penalty for grounding on grass growing in the bunker , and I dispute that.  If the grass is growing in the bunker there is definitely a penalty for grounding your club in it.

There is no penalty for grounding in an area of turf within the boundary of a bunker because such turf is not part of the bunker.  The terminology is important in this ruling.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The word pedantic comes to mine when I think you know that we both understand the rule.

BTW, You might want to email the USGA and tell them they're using bad terminology.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Also, I will agree that 13-4 is applicable regardless if the "grass" is part of the hazard or not.  The above video shows what my comments were about.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The word pedantic comes to mine when I think you know that we both understand the rule.

BTW, You might want to email the USGA and tell them they're using bad terminology.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1C0HSjcFpDw


So if I'm understanding this correctly a player could in fact ground his club in the bunker if the ball is in a position showed in the video?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So if I'm understanding this correctly a player could in fact ground his club in the bunker if the ball is in a position showed in the video?

You understand it correctly. The ball is not in the bunker.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Are you allowed to use the cart for the practice round.  If so, I would recommend using it, purely because you are practicing one day before the tournament and the less tired you are, the better.  For your caddie, it does not make a huge difference.  Unless carrying the bag tires him out so much that it will impact your pace of play during the tournament, either option is fine for him.  Good luck with the tourney and hydrating and carb loading the day before the tournament is huge.  Make sure you have a good breakfast early in the morning, say 6 am or so, which will then allow you to snack lightly through the tournament and keep your energy levels up
    • Shot 80 yesterday which is my best score since starting up golf again last year. I was 2 under after 7 so part of me feels a little bit disappointed that I let it slip!   I was feeling so good on the tee at 8 that I thought I'd hit a little draw into the lateral slope of the fairway to get a better position.  Unfortunately my ball missed the ground and went into the trees.  Took a few holes to get the wheels back on and back to playing shots I can actually hit.
    • Played better at Western Gailes yesterday and loved the course - very welcoming and had me thinking much more than Turnberry did as the greens were smaller with danger pretty much everywhere. I started out brilliantly, playing the first 4 in -1, but then turned into the wind - into and off the right - and immediately lost a ball playing for too much wind on the hardest hole, which I'd have bogeyed anyway. Putting again wasn't as good as it has been and I just haven't felt like I'm going to hole anything outside of 6 feet. Highlights were the first four holes, particularly feeling like DJ or Rory on the 4th, a good par on 7 (see below) and a good last four holes - bar another lost ball on 18...  http://www.gamegolf.com/player/benpage101/round/1072354 My par on the 7th - only swing I recorded was a really nice punch 5 iron from 170 into a strong breeze: 3rd tee: 'Secret' 6th green: Looking back on the 13th green: I get a few days' rest now before my last couple of rounds, both at Machrihanish Dunes. I've learnt a lot about my game playing these two rounds that I hadn't known beforehand. I find it really hard when I don't know the line and have to guess and commit to the shot far less. If I can see it though, it's generally fine. I need to sort the driving in the wind out as there's just no room for error - a slight mishit and a ball that would be safe is gone. Additionally, particularly at Turnberry, I need to stop overthinking things. Occasionally I'd find myself trying to hit a 7 iron with the ball miles back in my stance to deloft it, aiming way left to compensate and just should have hit what I felt comfortable with and taken the hit with the wind. My putting has to get better as well, particularly from range. So much fun though and I will definitely play Western Gailes again (probably more of a certainty than Turnberry) - I loved the course and the welcome you get was amazing.
    • Played better at Western Gailes yesterday and loved the course - very welcoming and had me thinking much more than Turnberry did as the greens were smaller with danger pretty much everywhere. The main thing I've taken away from this trip though is that I need to control my driver in the wind better. A lot of times, it was definitely the play and my second shot was excellent, but I lost too many going with the wind, which probably wouldn't have been too bad without it. Partial wedges were really good again and approach play was generally alright. I started out brilliantly, playing the first 4 in -1, but then turned into the wind - into and off the right - and immediately lost a ball playing for too much wind on the hardest hole, which I'd have bogeyed anyway. Putting again wasn't as good as it has been and I just haven't felt like I'm going to hole anything outside of 6 feet. Highlights were the first four holes, particularly feeling like DJ or Rory on the 4th, a good par on 7 (see below) and a good last four holes - bar another lost ball on 18...  http://www.gamegolf.com/player/benpage101/round/1072354 My par on the 7th - only swing I recorded was a really nice punch 5 iron from 170 into a strong breeze: 3rd tee: 'Secret' 6th green: Looking back on the 13th green: I get a few days' rest now before my last couple of rounds, both at Machrihanish Dunes. I've learnt a lot about my game playing these two rounds that I hadn't known beforehand. I find it really hard when I don't know the line and have to guess and commit to the shot far less. If I can see it though, it's generally fine. I need to sort the driving in the wind out as there's just no room for error - a slight mishit and a ball that would be safe is gone. Additionally, particularly at Turnberry, I need to stop overthinking things. Occasionally I'd find myself trying to hit a 7 iron with the ball miles back in my stance to deloft it, aiming way left to compensate and just should have hit what I felt comfortable with and taken the hit with the wind. My putting has to get better as well, particularly from range. So much fun though and I will definitely play Western Gailes again (probably more of a certainty than Turnberry) - I loved the course and the welcome you get was amazing.
    • Lake Mead. It's down 150' +/-, and still losing about 5' every year. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Erg
      Erg
      (49 years old)
    2. irishmike27
      irishmike27
      (37 years old)
    3. Tutenharman
      Tutenharman
      (27 years old)
  • Blog Entries