• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
Rayoatley

Putting

Recommended Posts

Rayoatley    0

You are on the putting green - your partner is standing  behind you looking at the line, your putter is grounded - just prior to striking the ball - your partner is telling you - to move your putter head, left -right - etc to get the right line - and then you stroke the ball. Is this legal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Wansteadimp    23

Not if your partner is still stood on your line when you make the putt.

However, if your partner steps away from the line prior to the stroke I think you are okay.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rayoatley    0

Your response is contrary to rule 8-2b.

b . On the Putting Green

When the player’s ball is on the putting green , the player, his partner or either of their caddies may, before but not during the stroke , point out a line for putting, but in so doing the putting green must not be touched. A mark must not be placed anywhere to indicate a line for putting

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ernest Jones    993
Your response is contrary to rule 8-2b.

b . On the Putting Green

When the player’s ball is on the putting green , the player, his partner or either of their caddies may, before but not during the stroke , point out a line for putting, but in so doing the putting green must not be touched. A mark must not be placed anywhere to indicate a line for putting

Why? No mark was made and the partner has stepped away for the stroke.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rayoatley    0

I get the step away from the "line" before the "stroke" is actually made, I just don't see how your partner can tell you to adjust your putter as you are ready to stroke the ball. I don't see this happening at any time in PGA or LPGA. Seems like if it was legal - Ryder Cup would be the right time to use it. - No marks - and step away from line before the stroke.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fourputt    922

I get the step away from the "line" before the "stroke" is actually made, I just don't see how your partner can tell you to adjust your putter as you are ready to stroke the ball. I don't see this happening at any time in PGA or LPGA. Seems like if it was legal - Ryder Cup would be the right time to use it. - No marks - and step away from line before the stroke.

As long as he is part of your side , then it is allowed.  "A “ side ” is a player, or two or more players who are partners ." "A “ partner ’’ is a player associated with another player on the same side ."

I make this clarification because the term " partner " is so often misused in golf.  Players often use it to refer to anyone they are playing with, but that is not how it is used in the rules.  A partner is part of your team in a competition, whether the team is 2, 3, 4 or more players.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

ColinL    32

Ray

You will see caddies helping their players to align for a stroke and particularly for a putt.  I think I'm right in saying it is much more obvious (intrusive even!) in women's golf.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ernest Jones    993

I get the step away from the "line" before the "stroke" is actually made, I just don't see how your partner can tell you to adjust your putter as you are ready to stroke the ball. I don't see this happening at any time in PGA or LPGA. Seems like if it was legal - Ryder Cup would be the right time to use it. - No marks - and step away from line before the stroke.

Part of this is probably confidence in their (Tour pros) ability. I know I'm much more comfortable stroking my own read and line then trusting someone else's and I'm a 20, so I imagine if I'm good enough to be on tour I'm going to be pretty confident in my own abilities.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

turtleback    484

Your response is contrary to rule 8-2b.

b. On the Putting Green

When the player’s ball is on the putting green, the player, his partner or either of their caddies may, before but not during the stroke, point out a line for putting, but in so doing the putting green must not be touched. A mark must not be placed anywhere to indicate a line for putting

as other have pointed out, his response is not contrary to Rule 8-2b.  It is during the stroke that providing alignment help is illegal.  But it (pointing out the line by telling the player how to adjust his putter face) is fine during the addressing of the ball (i.e,  when the player is ready to hit his stroke but has not yet initiated it).

But more tellingly, this happens all the time on the LPGA tour.  The caddies line up their players on the green and then step away right before the putt is hit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

wadesworld    15

But more tellingly, this happens all the time on the LPGA tour.  The caddies line up their players on the green and then step away right before the putt is hit.

Correct.  I also saw it on nearly every shot during the US Women's Amateur.  It happens all the time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this