Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Teeing up outside the tee off zone followed by OB shot


Note: This thread is 3883 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I was reading the golf digest and it says :

Q You teed your ball in front of the markers ( a two shot penalty ) and it goes out of bounds (  a penalty of stroke and distance ) . Your opponent says you are hitting your fourth shot when you re-tee. OK ?

Ans: Not OK. You're penalized two strokes for playing outside the teeing ground . That ball wasn't in play so the ensuing shot didn't count. decision 11-4b/6

What does this mean ? Where do you play your next shot from and which shot will you be hitting? Fifth off the tee?


  • Moderator
Posted

I was reading the golf digest and it says :

Q You teed your ball in front of the markers ( a two shot penalty ) and it goes out of bounds (  a penalty of stroke and distance ) . Your opponent says you are hitting your fourth shot when you re-tee. OK ?

Ans: Not OK. You're penalized two strokes for playing outside the teeing ground . That ball wasn't in play so the ensuing shot didn't count. decision 11-4b/6

What does this mean ? Where do you play your next shot from and which shot will you be hitting? Fifth off the tee?

The play never went out of bounds because it was never in play in the first place.  You cannot take both penalties. The player takes the first penalty for teeing in front of the tee markers (two strokes). Then the player should tee again from behind the tee markers and is playing his third shot.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

If he hadnt gone OB he would be playing his 4th ? Now because he went OB and was also ahead of the marker he plays his third from the tee because the 2nd penalty only counts if he was in play ? is this correct ?


Posted

If he hadnt gone OB he would be playing his 4th ? Now because he went OB and was also ahead of the marker he plays his third from the tee because the 2nd penalty only counts if he was in play ? is this correct ?

It doesn't matter if he goes OB or hits a hole-in-one. The actual result doesn't factor into the equation. "In play" here means that the hole was correctly started, not where the ball ended up. He has to replay the ball as his 3rd shot from the teeing ground.

Dom's Sticks:

Callaway X-24 10.5° Driver, Callaway Big Bertha 15° wood, Callaway XR 19° hybrid, Callaway X-24 24° hybrid, Callaway X-24 5i-9i, PING Glide PW 47°/12°, Cleveland REG 588 52°/08°, Callaway Mack Daddy PM Grind 56°/13°, 60°/10°, Odyssey Versa Jailbird putter w/SuperStroke Slim 3.0 grip, Callaway Chev Stand Bag, Titleist Pro-V1x ball

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted

If he hadnt gone OB he would be playing his 4th ? Now because he went OB and was also ahead of the marker he plays his third from the tee because the 2nd penalty only counts if he was in play ? is this correct ?

No, he would have to tee off again because of the penalty.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I was reading the golf digest and it says :

Q You teed your ball in front of the markers ( a two shot penalty ) and it goes out of bounds (  a penalty of stroke and distance ) . Your opponent says you are hitting your fourth shot when you re-tee. OK ?

Ans: Not OK. You're penalized two strokes for playing outside the teeing ground . That ball wasn't in play so the ensuing shot didn't count. decision 11-4b/6

What does this mean ? Where do you play your next shot from and which shot will you be hitting? Fifth off the tee?

First, the question isn't written correctly.  There is no opponent in stroke play.   If he had an opponent he would have been playing match play and the ruling would be different.

Just think of it this way, in stroke play if you start the play of a hole from outside the teeing ground it is a 2 stroke penalty and you must correct the error before you tee off from the next hole, otherwise you are disqualified .

If you played from outside the teeing ground, went back to the tee and made the same mistake again, it would still just be 2 penalty strokes total.  Until you play a ball from within the teeing ground you do not have a ball in play.

When correcting this error you will always be hitting 3, regardless of what happened with the ball played from outside the teeing ground or how many times you made a stroke at it.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
So going OB and teeing off from in front of the marker is more or less the same thing ?

No they are not.  Not even close to the same thing.  The ball played from outside of the teeing ground never happened, that stroke doesn't count, anything that happened to the ball doesn't matter.  It is simply a 2 stroke penalty and then the player is playing his third from inside the teeing ground.

For a stoke played correctly and hit out of bounds, the stroke counts and the player adds one penalty stroke and must play again from the same spot.  If the stroke was played from the teeing ground, then he may play the next stroke from anywhere within the teeing ground and he may tee his ball.

For a ball thought to be out of bounds, the player may also play a provisional ball before he goes forward to search.  There is no such thing as a provisional ball for a ball played from outside of the teeing ground.

I suppose that it might appear that the procedures are similar, but they are in reality much different.  Keep in mind too that in match play, you would only replay the stroke if your opponent wishes it.  In that case, if your opponent recalls the stroke, there would be no penalty and the shot would be replayed from the correct place.  If your opponent chooses not to recall the stroke, then the play stands and you would be required to take the out of bounds penalty and play under stroke and distance.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

For a stoke played correctly and hit out of bounds, the stroke counts and the player adds one penalty stroke and must play again from the same spot.  If the stroke was played from the teeing ground, then he may play the next stroke from anywhere within the teeing ground and he may tee his ball.

Something to add to the above because I have seen confusion on this. Say you correctly start play of a hole from within the teeing ground but your ball is lost or OOB so you are required to replay from the teeing ground playing your 3rd stroke.  If you were then to play from outside the teeing area by mistake (say your re teed forward of the markers,), the stroke does  count in this case and the ball is in play.

In this case you have played from a wrong place, and incur a 2 stroke penalty, you would however, continue to play with the ball played from the wrong place.

  • Upvote 1

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Something to add to the above because I have seen confusion on this. Say you correctly start play of a hole from within the teeing ground but your ball is lost or OOB so you are required to replay from the teeing ground playing your 3rd stroke.  If you were then to play from outside the teeing area by mistake (say your re teed forward of the markers,), the stroke does  count in this case and the ball is in play.

In this case you have played from a wrong place, and incur a 2 stroke penalty, you would however, continue to play with the ball played from the wrong place.

That is a really good distinction to raise, I don't know that I would have got that right, on the fly.

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

That is a really good distinction to raise, I don't know that I would have got that right, on the fly.

It's found in the definition of a Ball In Play.  The second paragraph explains the two scenarios we have been talking about.  It's written in USGA speak. :loco:

A ball is " in play " as soon as the player has made a stroke on the teeing ground . It remains in play until it is holed , except when it is lost , out of bounds or lifted, or another ball has been substituted , whether or not the substitution is permitted; a ball so substituted becomes the ball in play .

If a ball is played from outside the teeing ground when the player is starting play of a hole, or when attempting to correct this mistake, the ball is not in play and Rule 11-4 or 11-5 applies. Otherwise, ball in play includes a ball played from outside the teeing ground when the player elects or is required to play his next stroke from the teeing ground .

Exception in match play: Ball in play includes a ball played by the player from outside the teeing ground when starting play of a hole if the opponent does not require the stroke to be canceled in accordance with Rule 11-4a .

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Something to add to the above because I have seen confusion on this. Say you correctly start play of a hole from within the teeing ground but your ball is lost or OOB so you are required to replay from the teeing ground playing your 3rd stroke.  If you were then to play from outside the teeing area by mistake (say your re teed forward of the markers,), the stroke does  count in this case and the ball is in play.

In this case you have played from a wrong place, and incur a 2 stroke penalty, you would however, continue to play with the ball played from the wrong place.

Let's make it more fun:

However, should there be a chance you gained a significant advantage by playing from that wrong place, you would need to abandon the ball played from the wrong place and return to the teeing ground again to correct your error or else be in danger of committing a serious breach and subject to DQ.  Obviously that wouldn't be likely to be the case if you teed up just outside the teeing ground, but it would be the case if say you teed up 10 yards left of it to avoid having to go over hazard.

Admittedly, a bit of a ridiculous scenario and not likely to ever happen.


Posted
That's not quite right. If you play from a wrong place, you continue with that ball and hole out with a 2 stroke penalty. If there is a serious breach, you play a second ball from the correct place and report the matter to the Committee which decides which ball is to count.

Posted
That's not quite right. If you play from a wrong place, you continue with that ball and hole out with a 2 stroke penalty. If there is a serious breach, you play a second ball from the correct place and report the matter to the Committee which decides which ball is to count.

Ouch.  Dumb mistake on my part.  I was thinking you could abandon if you discovered the breach before completing the hole, but you're exactly right.  Thanks for the correction.


Posted
Quote:

Originally Posted by ColinL

That's not quite right. If you play from a wrong place, you continue with that ball and hole out with a 2 stroke penalty. If there is a serious breach, you play a second ball from the correct place and report the matter to the Committee which decides which ball is to count.

Ouch.  Dumb mistake on my part.  I was thinking you could abandon if you discovered the breach before completing the hole, but you're exactly right.  Thanks for the correction.

This is only necessary if you can't contact the committee before playing from the next tee or before leaving the last green.  If you can get a timely ruling, only one ball needs to be played unless you finished the hole before the committee rules that it was a serious breach.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

It's a matter of emphasis, perhaps, but I think it better to regard the requirements of Rule 20-7 as the norm, with the possibility of a Committee decision being available at the time as an exception.

Worth mentioning, too, that the penalty for playing from a wrong place in match play is loss of hole and so there is no question a serious/not serious breach or of holing out or of playing  a second ball.


Posted

It's a matter of emphasis, perhaps, but I think it better to regard the requirements of Rule 20-7 as the norm, with the possibility of a Committee decision being available at the time as an exception.

Worth mentioning, too, that the penalty for playing from a wrong place in match play is loss of hole and so there is no question a serious/not serious breach or of holing out or of playing  a second ball.

That's one of the best things about match play.  Many penalties are just loss of hole, so even if both players screw up, only the first mistake counts.  The hole is finished at that point.  It's happened that both players play the other guy's ball and don't discover the mistake until they get to the green.  All that matters is who played the wrong ball first.  He loses the hole and that ends it.  In stroke play they would both have to go back to where the mistake was made and both play correctly from that point on, each adding the 2 stroke penalty to his score.  That's the sort of penalty can start to bog down a stroke play tournament, yet doesn't cause any delay in a match.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3883 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • I'm not sure you're calculating the number of strokes you would need to give correctly. The way I figure it, a 6.9 index golfer playing from tees that are rated 70.8/126 would have a course handicap of 6. A 20-index golfer playing from tees that are rated 64/106 would have a course handicap of 11. Therefore, based on the example above, assuming this is the same golf course and these index & slope numbers are based on the different tees, you should only have to give 5 strokes (or one stroke on the five most difficult holes if match play) not 6. Regardless, I get your point...the average golfer has no understanding of how the system works and trying to explain it to people, who haven't bothered to read the documentation provided by either the USGA or the R&A, is hopeless. In any case, I think the WHS as it currently is, does the best job possible of leveling the playing field and I think most golfers (obviously, based on the back & forth on this thread, not all golfers) at least comprehend that.   
    • Day 115 12-5 Skills work tonight. Mostly just trying to be more aware of the shaft and where it's at. Hit foam golf balls. 
    • Day 25 (5 Dec 25) - total rain day, worked on tempo and distance control.  
    • Yes it's true in a large sample like a tournament a bunch of 20 handicaps shouldn't get 13 strokes more than you. One of them will have a day and win. But two on one, the 7 handicap is going to cover those 13 strokes the vast majority of the time. 20 handicaps are shit players. With super high variance and a very asymmetrical distribution of scores. Yes they shoot 85 every once in a while. But they shoot 110 way more often. A 7 handicap's equivalent is shooting 74 every once in a while but... 86 way more often?
    • Hi Jack.  Welcome to The Sand Trap forum.   We're glad you've joined.   There is plenty of information here.   Enjoy!
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.