Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3807 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

In this situation, is stroke-and-distance the only option?  I think yes, but wanted to check.

I was hitting over the pond (center) from the black dot, and overshot the green.  My ball came to rest in a ditch on the other side of the green (grey arrow).

I wasn't keeping score, so at the time I got my ball out of the muck and moved on to the next hole.  But then I started thinking about it later.  I don't remember if the ditch was marked with red or yellow stakes but either way, I couldn't drop on the far side of the ditch because of trees and there was nowhere within two club lengths to drop that was not nearer the hole.

So I assume in this case, I would have to go back and hit from my black dot again.  Yes?

Would it be legal if, when I hit the first ball and thought it may have made it to the ditch, to play a second ball right away and then look for my first ball and play it if possible?  I don't think anyone would care during a casual round but I'm wondering what the official rule would be.

"No man goes round boasting of his vices,” he said, “except golfers." 

-- Det. Elk in The Twister by Edgar Wallace

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

From the diagram and the way you describe it, you are probably right.  Without being there I can't really be any more definite than that.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted

I'd say you had other options, but quite possibly "stroke and distance for an unplayable lie" was the best one.

From the way you've described it, you did have the option of dropping in the trees, but it was probably not a desirable option.  Similarly, dropping within two club lengths may not have gotten you relief, so it wasn't a desirable option either.  That leaves the option of replaying the original shot, the "stroke and distance" option.

As for playing a provisional, that would have been fine, but once you found your first ball, playable or not, the provisional was out of play.  If you then chose the stroke and distance option for the unplayable lie, you would have had to go back and hit again.

You could have decided immediately after hitting your shot that it was unplayable, and hit your next shot from the original point, with a stroke penalty.  Then, even if you found your ball in a playable location, it was out of play.

  • Upvote 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

You say your original ball went into the ditch.  Whether marked or not, a ditch is a water hazard and if you are certain your ball is in it, you cannot play a provisional ball.  Your second ball became the ball in play and you must continue with it.  If you played the original as it lay, you played a wrong ball. If you dropped it or another ball  under the water hazard rule ( Rule 26 ) that ball is then in play as  a substituted ball for your second, not your original ball.   If you drop and play under 26 -1b, you play from a wrong place and cop 2 penalty strokes..  If you opt for stroke and distance,   the substitution is proper but it is for your second ball  It's all a bit costly.

Judging by the trees etc where the ditch is, the chances are you couldn't be certain your ball was in the ditch and if there were a possibility that your ball could be lost outside it, you could declare and play a provisional.  If you did not find your ball you would continue with the provisional.  If you found your original ball in the ditch and relief under 26-1b wasn't realistic, then stroke and distance is all that is left for you.  But the important point is that is stroke and distance in relation to your original ball and therefore less costly.

  • Upvote 1

Posted
Quote:

Originally Posted by ColinL

You say your original ball went into the ditch.  Whether marked or not, a ditch is a water hazard and if you are certain your ball is in it, you cannot play a provisional ball.  Your second ball became the ball in play and you must continue with it.  If you played the original as it lay, you played a wrong ball. If you dropped it or another ball  under the water hazard rule ( Rule 26 ) that ball is then in play as  a substituted ball for your second, not your original ball.   If you drop and play under 26 -1b, you play from a wrong place and cop 2 penalty strokes..  If you opt for stroke and distance,   the substitution is proper but it is for your second ball  It's all a bit costly.

Judging by the trees etc where the ditch is, the chances are you couldn't be certain your ball was in the ditch and if there were a possibility that your ball could be lost outside it, you could declare and play a provisional.  If you did not find your ball you would continue with the provisional.  If you found your original ball in the ditch and relief under 26-1b wasn't realistic, then stroke and distance is all that is left for you.  But the important point is that is stroke and distance in relation to your original ball and therefore less costly.

The ball bounced off the fringe on the back/side part of the green so it was reasonable* to assume it didn't make it over the ditch and into the trees.

My thought about playing a second ball right away was based on knowing that if it was in the [3' deep] ditch, I wouldn't be able to drop for a playable lie and would have to play from my original position.

*  I play this course a lot so it was reasonable for me to make the assumption because I know how much space is between the green and trees.  For someone new to the course, it wouldn't be clear.

"No man goes round boasting of his vices,” he said, “except golfers." 

-- Det. Elk in The Twister by Edgar Wallace

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
My thought about playing a second ball right away was based on knowing that if it was in the [3' deep] ditch, I wouldn't be able to drop for a playable lie and would have to play from my original position.

Here's the thing....you can't play a provisional for the possibility of an unplayable lie, even though you're aware that replaying the shot is the only viable option if your ball is indeed in the ditch.  You can only play a provisional ball for the possibility that your original ball is either lost or out of bounds.

In informal play, I've certainly played provisionals at times when I wasn't sure a ball was in a hazard or not, or might be unplayable, similar to your situation, but that's not legitimate under the rules.  It can save time and/or steps, but its not within the rules.  Given what you described, if you had hit another ball from the fairway, that second ball would have been in play, no matter where you found your original ball

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Here's the thing....you can't play a provisional for the possibility of an unplayable lie, even though you're aware that replaying the shot is the only viable option if your ball is indeed in the ditch.  You can only play a provisional ball for the possibility that your original ball is either lost or out of bounds.

In informal play, I've certainly played provisionals at times when I wasn't sure a ball was in a hazard or not, or might be unplayable, similar to your situation, but that's not legitimate under the rules.  It can save time and/or steps, but its not within the rules.  Given what you described, if you had hit another ball from the fairway, that second ball would have been in play, no matter where you found your original ball


What is the rationale behind that rule about provisionals?


Posted
Here's the thing....you can't play a provisional for the possibility of an unplayable lie, even though you're aware that replaying the shot is the only viable option if your ball is indeed in the ditch.  You can only play a provisional ball for the possibility that your original ball is either lost or out of bounds.   In informal play, I've certainly played provisionals at times when I wasn't sure a ball was in a hazard or not, or might be unplayable, similar to your situation, but that's not legitimate under the rules.  It can save time and/or steps, but its not within the rules.  Given what you described, if you had hit another ball from the fairway, that second ball would have been in play, no matter where you found your original ball

I fully agree with both your posts, except the last sentence- I don't think the OP gave enough info to conclude that it was impossible for the ball to be lost outside the hazard. If the only way for him to lose the ball would be with virtually certainty that it was in the hazard, then you are correct he couldn't play a provisional. However, if he thought there might be a chance it could be lost outside the hazard, then a provisional is permissible.

:mizuno: MP-52 5-PW, :cobra: King Snake 4 i 
:tmade: R11 Driver, 3 W & 5 W, :vokey: 52, 56 & 60 wedges
:seemore: putter


Posted
What is the rationale behind that rule about provisionals?

Not having two balls in play at the same time and having the choice of which one to play.

  • Upvote 1

:mizuno: MP-52 5-PW, :cobra: King Snake 4 i 
:tmade: R11 Driver, 3 W & 5 W, :vokey: 52, 56 & 60 wedges
:seemore: putter


Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by krupa

My thought about playing a second ball right away was based on knowing that if it was in the [3' deep] ditch, I wouldn't be able to drop for a playable lie and would have to play from my original position.

Here's the thing....you can't play a provisional for the possibility of an unplayable lie, even though you're aware that replaying the shot is the only viable option if your ball is indeed in the ditch.  You can only play a provisional ball for the possibility that your original ball is either lost or out of bounds.

In informal play, I've certainly played provisionals at times when I wasn't sure a ball was in a hazard or not, or might be unplayable, similar to your situation, but that's not legitimate under the rules.  It can save time and/or steps, but its not within the rules.  Given what you described, if you had hit another ball from the fairway, that second ball would have been in play, no matter where you found your original ball

That's what I thought about provisional balls but wasn't entirely sure.

Originally Posted by pstvev

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaveP043

Here's the thing....you can't play a provisional for the possibility of an unplayable lie, even though you're aware that replaying the shot is the only viable option if your ball is indeed in the ditch.  You can only play a provisional ball for the possibility that your original ball is either lost or out of bounds.

In informal play, I've certainly played provisionals at times when I wasn't sure a ball was in a hazard or not, or might be unplayable, similar to your situation, but that's not legitimate under the rules.  It can save time and/or steps, but its not within the rules.  Given what you described, if you had hit another ball from the fairway, that second ball would have been in play, no matter where you found your original ball

What is the rationale behind that rule about provisionals?

Rule 27-2

http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!rule-27

(bold is mine, italics are RoG)

If a ball may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds, to save time the player may play another ball provisionally in accordance with Rule 27-1.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MEfree

I don't think the OP gave enough info to conclude that it was impossible for the ball to be lost outside the hazard. If the only way for him to lose the ball would be with virtually certainty that it was in the hazard, then you are correct he couldn't play a provisional. However, if he thought there might be a chance it could be lost outside the hazard, then a provisional is permissible.

You're right that I didn't give enough information originally.  In this case, I was almost positive that it didn't get past the ditch because of how the ball bounced near the green first and took some smaller hops in the rough.   If it was in the air the entire time then it would have been less clear from my original position.

"No man goes round boasting of his vices,” he said, “except golfers." 

-- Det. Elk in The Twister by Edgar Wallace

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted

I fully agree with both your posts, except the last sentence- I don't think the OP gave enough info to conclude that it was impossible for the ball to be lost outside the hazard. If the only way for him to lose the ball would be with virtually certainty that it was in the hazard, then you are correct he couldn't play a provisional. However, if he thought there might be a chance it could be lost outside the hazard, then a provisional is permissible.

I agree, he just has to identify that he's hitting a provisional.  When he finds the original ball, the provisional can NOT be played.

What is the rationale behind that rule about provisionals?

If I have a number of choices, as you do for a ball unplayable or in a hazard, knowing the outcome of one of those choices (i.e. the result of the provisional) would influence me as to which of my options I would choose.  In this case, suppose he hits his "provisional" in the hole.  He finds his ball in the ditch, and can either play it as it lies, drop within two club lengths, drop behind (in the trees), or take the shot in the hole.  Its a no-brainer.  If, on the other hand, he hits the provisional in the water, he might be tempted to play it from the ditch.  When you're faced with a choice between options, you should make that choice without knowing what the outcome of any of the options.

  • Upvote 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The ball bounced off the fringe on the back/side part of the green so it was reasonable* to assume it didn't make it over the ditch and into the trees.

My thought about playing a second ball right away was based on knowing that if it was in the [3' deep] ditch, I wouldn't be able to drop for a playable lie and would have to play from my original position.

*  I play this course a lot so it was reasonable for me to make the assumption because I know how much space is between the green and trees.  For someone new to the course, it wouldn't be clear.


I answered your question on the basis that your ball was definitely in the ditch.  Now, why would I do that?  Perhaps because of your very clear statement in your opening post;

My ball came to rest in a ditch on the other side of the green (grey arrow).

Now  you say you made a "reasonable assumptions" that it might be in the ditch.  That's not the same situation at all which means my original answer was a bit of a waste of time.


Posted
@ColinL , I'm sorry you think your answer was a waste of time. Whether you realize it or not, you definitely answered my question. I appreciate that you took the time to reply.
  • Upvote 1

"No man goes round boasting of his vices,” he said, “except golfers." 

-- Det. Elk in The Twister by Edgar Wallace

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Quote:

Originally Posted by krupa

The ball bounced off the fringe on the back/side part of the green so it was reasonable* to assume it didn't make it over the ditch and into the trees.

My thought about playing a second ball right away was based on knowing that if it was in the [3' deep] ditch, I wouldn't be able to drop for a playable lie and would have to play from my original position.

*  I play this course a lot so it was reasonable for me to make the assumption because I know how much space is between the green and trees.  For someone new to the course, it wouldn't be clear.

I answered your question on the basis that your ball was definitely in the ditch.  Now, why would I do that?  Perhaps because of your very clear statement in your opening post;

My ball came to rest in a ditch on the other side of the green (grey arrow).

Now  you say you made a "reasonable assumptions" that it might be in the ditch.  That's not the same situation at all which means my original answer was a bit of a waste of time.

I read it as if the "reasonable assumption" was at the point he had hit the ball, and the "came to rest in a ditch" wasn't known until he got there and found it.

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3807 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.