IGNORED

how long to get to scratch?

donkba
Note: This thread is 5928 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

i was just woundering if anyone has any goals, like getting to scratch handicap before a certain age. i here about people who have played all there lives and never improve, yet other people getting to scratch in about 3 years so surely if you put the time and effort in, this can be achieved. i am 26 and have been playing golf for 6 months, and although off 26, i can now shoot low 80s thanks to a swing change. i practice way more than most and my goal for next season is to get down to at least 12, and hopefully get to scratch in about 5 years.

• Replies 179
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

This is what I am trying to do. I started playing relatively late (after college) and loved the game. I thought I could get to scratch without taking lessons for the longest time. I got to the mid eighties but that was it. I finally broke down and took 6 months of lessons (once a week) and it made a difference. I can now shoot in the 70's for the first time ever. Although of course I will have my bad days and it also depends on how often I can play now. There are just some things that you need an expert to teach you.

www.questforscratch.com

irons 775.cb
driver R7