IGNORED

Why play a 95 gram graphite shaft?

MNGopher
Note: This thread is 2726 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I noticed that on Golf Deals and Steals they have a set of Taylormade RocketBladez Max graphite irons on sale.  http://golfdealsandsteals.com/taylormade-rocketbladez-max-iron-set-graphite-4-aw/

The shaft is a custom graphite Matrix Ozik Program F15, 95.  

I like my current graphite irons that have a 65 gram shaft.  I thought part of the reason you played graphite shafts is because they are lighter.  What is the advantage of a 95 graphite shaft vs. a 95 steel shaft?  Why not just offer those irons in steel and be able to charge less?   I guess I'm not sure why someone would want that heavy of a shaft in graphite (and not just buy them in steel).

I'm a golf novice when it comes the science behind shafts, weights, etc. (so go easy on me with your answers)

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

Graphite shafts are supposed to be easier on your joints than steel.  And they have a different feel which some people may like.  So that's why.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Several decent over-50 golfers I know are switching from steel iron shafts, to graphite or steel-fiber. A common reason is recurring wrist and tennis or golfers elbow problems. As @allencnoted, graphite is easier on the tendons.

Also, a lot of engineering work has been done the last couple of years on graphite shafts for irons. In 2013, I tried some 75-gram graphite iron shaft, and they felt like feathers. More recently, demo day tests showed me some circa-75 gram shafts that really felt solid and well-balanced.

As an example, look at Mamiya's 15 options in Recoil Shaft models.

Focus, connect and follow through!

• Completed KBS Education Seminar (online, 2015)