IGNORED

Neutral grip has me hitting straight irons

Note: This thread is 2749 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been golfing fairly regularly for 12 years or so, and never been able to figure out why I hook my irons so frequently. I started out with blades, then moved to cavity-backs to try and help get rid of the hook, which it did more or less. 

I recently picked up an old partial set of Haig Ultra irons (not sure how old they are, maybe early '70's), because someone stuck a 2 iron in my bag earlier in the Summer and I couldn't believe how well I hit it. I initially thought it would be good for getting out of trouble under trees, but then I hit it from the fairway a few times and that was it.

That said, I took them out last weekend and realized that my old hooking problem would pop up again, once I started playing anything from a 5 iron down. So, I did what you're not supposed to do, made adjustments during a game. I tried weakening my grip gradually till I had a neutral grip from my 8 iron down and bingo, it worked. I always figured it was a problem with my swing mechanics, but the grip change worked all day.

I was always told to use a strong grip so I never thought of changing it. Has anyone else heard of doing this to fix a hook?

In the bag: TaylorMade R5 Duel driver (44", Senior-flex), Namura 19* 3 Hybrid, Stiff, Cougar X-CAT 26* 5 hybrid, Wilson K-28 irons 6-PW, Wilson Harmonized Gap (52) and Sand (55) Wedges, Blade Runner II putter.

never mind. I was going to make a few suggestions, but I will leave that up to those more qualified.

Edited by Hacker James

"James"