IGNORED

Sorry, another chipper question

PaddyMac
Note: This thread is 2415 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I’m probably bringing up an old topic/thread and apologies if I am any advice so I can get it clear in my head would be much appreciated.

I started to play last year and I struggle most now with my game just off the green. It’s the shots that require feel rather than a full swing. I have a 52 and 58 degree that I can hit well on a full swing but if the ball is just off the green on a tight fairway I sometimes cause the ball to jump forward a few feet or skull it to the back of the green.

When I was reading articles on here, the mention of a chipper came up and was advocated quite heavily by David in FL, so I started to think that maybe bagging one was a possibility. Yesterday when I went to local pro shop to possibly buy one, when I mentioned it to my local pro, after looking at my swing he said that I had the shaft leaned forward too much and the ball too far back in my stance decelerating too much in my hit for such a short swing with my 52/58.  

He agreed with the chipper but advised to use a 7 iron gripped down with the same putter stroke and that is in fact the same as a chipper so why waste money and bag a club that I already have.

I asked why they made a separate club then for chipping. He explained the bounce and loft are much the same and it was the putter stroke that was the key to a successful shot just off the green. He said that the idea was to keep the ball as low as possible and let it roll to the pin and the 7 iron with a putter stroke would solve all my woes.

Does this make sense?  And again apologies if I’m hashing out an old question.

Jones Carry Bag *** Titleist 975D 10.5  *** Wilson Staff FG Tour  4 - pw *** Callaway Mac Daddy 52 deg & 58 deg *** Nike Method Mod 90