IGNORED

Need advice about improving my golf game

Note: This thread is 2139 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I’m looking for advice on my golf game. A little background, I only picked up playing golf about 5 years ago late in college. So I don’t know a ton about form or technique, just self taught. I played a ton the first year I picked it up and improved rapidly. I’ve played sporadically since then. Typically playing 10 times a year or so I shoot around 80. Sometimes a few shots lower sometimes a few higher. I’m consistent but short off the tee, irons are good, chipping is awful, but my putting normally saves me. My friends always get mad playing with me because I typically beat them even though they play more often and have been playing longer. One of my friends told me I should pursue getting better and trying to enter some tournaments, I don’t know if he’s crazy or I actually should. Looking for guidance, anyone with any thoughts. I do love golf, But I’m 33 now, and don’t want to pursue a pipe dream if it’s impossible, but can’t help but think what if he’s right? 

4 hours ago, Tallguy03 said: