IGNORED

Swing plane and height

Note: This thread is 2062 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey guys, I was wondering what (if any) correlation there is between someone's height and their swing plane.  I am the bottom 1% in height for grown adults and have a very flat golf swing.  I went to one instructor who kept telling me to get it more upright, but after many hours of practice, still find it very challenging--it zaps all the power out of my swing as I can't really engage my lower body.  I went to another instructor who told me that shorter golfers have flatter golf swings, which was music to my ears, but is this true?  He used the example of Ricky Fowler being one of the shortest golfers on tour and also flat.  However I was also wondering, I often see Matt Kuchar's swing as flat and he's very tall.  I am not an expert so was hoping to get feedback from those who know better.  My arms are generally slightly below the trail shoulder when I'm at the top of my backswing.

I do know that once I stopped trying to get my swing upright and worked with my normal (flat) swing, I was hitting the ball as good or better than ever, and have never been able to get an upright swing to work for me.

Thanks in advance for the feedback!

(edited)

Also I would like to add, I don't have huge aspirations to become a low handicapper, I'd just like to be able to hit the ball decently.  I assume since I can hit a driver 210-250 on a driving range and hit a 7 iron 140-150, if I could do that consistently on a course I would be able to shoot in the 80's, which I think would be good enough for me.  I currently shoot anywhere from 100-120 (usually closer to 120), due to not being able to take my driving range swing to the course.