Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 2627 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I saw it happen this past weekend. We had two man teams best ball. One of guys on the other team was lining up a 15 footer for birdie on the #2 stroke hole. His partner came over and, unsolicited, said ‘hit this line’ and put the toe of his putter on the green. The poor guy putting dropped his head, sighed and picked his ball up. His partner was in tight for bogey already. It’s almost not fair, but it was a team event. Learn the rules.


  • Administrator
Posted

A penalty for a few more months yes.

10.2b(2) covers it in January. 

 

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
6 hours ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

I saw it happen this past weekend. We had two man teams best ball. One of guys on the other team was lining up a 15 footer for birdie on the #2 stroke hole. His partner came over and, unsolicited, said ‘hit this line’ and put the toe of his putter on the green. The poor guy putting dropped his head, sighed and picked his ball up. His partner was in tight for bogey already. It’s almost not fair, but it was a team event. Learn the rules.

Not only is there a penalty for touching the line of putt but also for touching the green to indicate the line of putt, whether on the line or not.

8-2b When the player's ball is on the putting green, the line of putt may be indicated before, but not during, the stroke by the player, his partner or either of their caddies; in doing so the putting green must not be touched.


Posted
8 hours ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

I saw it happen this past weekend. We had two man teams best ball. One of guys on the other team was lining up a 15 footer for birdie on the #2 stroke hole. His partner came over and, unsolicited, said ‘hit this line’ and put the toe of his putter on the green. The poor guy putting dropped his head, sighed and picked his ball up. His partner was in tight for bogey already. It’s almost not fair, but it was a team event. Learn the rules.

Despite the fact there was an infraction, I am just glad the guy he was playing with knew the rule well enough to accept the fact there was a penalty and not try and argue it. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
2 hours ago, Martyn W said:

Not only is there a penalty for touching the line of putt but also for touching the green to indicate the line of putt, whether on the line or not.

8-2b When the player's ball is on the putting green, the line of putt may be indicated before, but not during, the stroke by the player, his partner or either of their caddies; in doing so the putting green must not be touched.

16-1a only applies to the player, this case applied to his partner.


Posted
On 10/16/2018 at 5:22 PM, Rulesman said:

16-1a only applies to the player, this case applied to his partner.

I suppose that, in this case, the team could be considered the player. We've played in lots of scrambles, and have indicated the line of the putt to our partners, but we do not touch the green.

I have seen Tour caddies do the same with the butt end of the flagstick, but they also do not touch the green.

Besides, I'm only trying to suggest a general line, since I have no idea how firmly, or easily, my teammate will stroke the putt.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
7 minutes ago, Buckeyebowman said:

I suppose that, in this case, the team could be considered the player.

16-1a is about the player touching the line of his putt.

The rule here that applied here is 8-2b.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2627 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Wordle 1,652 3/6* ⬛⬛🟦⬛🟦 ⬛🟧🟧⬛⬛ 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Wordle 1,652 X/6* 🟨⬜⬜⬜⬜ ⬜⬜🟨⬜⬜ ⬜🟩⬜🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 Yup - one of those Wordle moments….
    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.