IGNORED

Long irons should be hybrids?

Note: This thread is 5844 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I was reading some tips on golfdigest.com and saw this:

HANK SAYS
"Unless you drive the ball at least 275 yards, your long irons should be hybrids. They're much easier to get in the air for almost all golfers."

I certainly don't drive 275...I'm completely new to golf. What does he mean by hybrids replacing long irons? Do you agree?

In my Warbird Hot:
Driver: Burner 10.5* Reg Flex
3 Wood: Mercury Golf MR Jumbo 16*
Irons: X-20 4-AW
Putter: 33" Rossa FontanaShoes:Footjoy Contour

Personally, if you're new to golf, I think hitting long irons is a great learning tool. Infinitely frustrating, probably, but this is a game that demands practice. Hitting long irons will tighten up your swing with your shorter irons. Start by teeing the ball up just slightly so it's easier to make contact.

Hybrids are very useful, but I suspect most people here learned the game with long irons. It's a struggle, but it pays off. Either way, make sure you at least give long irons a chance!

580xd driver
G10 15* hybrid
MP fli-hi 3 iron
MP30 4-PW
MPT 53 and 58 wedges DF 330 putterLikes: Traffic Lights (but not when they're red) Dislikes: Diamond Shreddies (why mess with a good thing?) Real Men hit 9-woods.

Hybrids vs. irons
My first set of clubs had 3, 4 and 5 hybrids instead of irons and I did hit the hybrids pretty well. But when I upgraded, I bought a set with no true hybrids (although the long irons are cavity back, wider sole, hybrid-like irons). The hybrids were easier to hit, but I get more satisfaction hitting a decent 3 iron shot than a good hybrid shot. Stupid I know, but that's just my opinion.

In myBagBoy Revolver: HiBore XL 10.5° ⢠HiBore 3W ⢠Halo 2i, 3i & 4i
MX900 5-PW ⢠MP-R 52-07° & 58-10° ⢠Studio Select Squareback 1