Ok, feel pretty silly asking but I'm going to anyway.
I've been re-taking poorly struck Tee-shots, which are still playable (eg did not go OB) and giving myself a one stroke penalty. This is not in competition, purely practice at my local golf course.
I 've only being doing it this last week and I've had a growing suspicion this was probably a "no-no", I checked the rules for guidance but I didn't really find an answer.
The core rules state:
1-2. Exerting Influence on Movement of Ball or Altering Physical Conditions
Which suggests I'm not allowed to re-take the shot as the ball is still in play, and therefore, retaking the shot would be essentially "Picking up the ball" which would constitue interference and thus 2 stroke penalty - and is probably bad etiquette.
However on the OB notes (27-1. Stroke and Distance; Ball Out of Bounds; Ball Not Found Within