IGNORED

Hello From a Long Time Lurker, Trying to Get Serious

barooo
Note: This thread is 1818 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I started playing about 15 years ago, took a few lessons, hacked around, never really had anything click with any consistency, and mostly gave up.  Tried again 3 years ago with similar results.  

Over the winter I spent bunch of time doing mirror drills without a club to work on actually turning my shoulders and hips correctly and fixing my biggest 3 flaws: Sliding my hips on the backswing and rolling to the outside of my right foot, moving my arms way out to the side for a super flat baseball swing, and not getting my weight forward.  Honestly the hands were probably the biggest key, once I realized they should basically go up instead of around, the others clicked.  

Recently I got a new-to-me set of irons to replace my 20 year old big berthas with regular flex graphite shafts.  The new irons are used Mizuno MP-15 with DGS 300 stiff shafts, probably a little too much of a players iron but honestly they don't seem that bad and I got a great deal.  With properly fitting shafts my swing is way less jerky and more powerful.  I'm signed up for more lessons again.  My trips to the range have had a different fee.  I'm still not making consistent contact every time, but it's better than it was.  I feel like I'm swinging a lot harder now but also a lot more smoothly, and now every time I do put a good swing on it I get right-to-left movement, instead of having no idea where it was going to go most of the time and a way happier trajectory, a lot more explosive off the face and more of a home run and less pop fly.