IGNORED

New old irons longer

Note: This thread is 1686 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have been using Ping eye 2 irons for a couple of years. They are black dot, have regular steel shafts and D3 swing weight. I am 62 years old and play off 12. I recently picked up a set of Ping G5 irons, also black dot, with TFC100 regular graphite shafts in C7 swing weight and a set of Ping ISI K irons, orange dot, with regular (so I was told) steel shafts in C9 swing weight.

I was pleasantly surprised to hit the G5s noticeably further than my eye 2s. Eye2, 5 iron: 145 metres. G5, 5 iron: 152 metres. I can see why this might be: the lighter graphite shaft, the lower swing weight, the 1.5 degree stronger loft and oddly the shafts are 1/4 inch longer.

But I am curious (and very pleased) that I hit the ISI K 5 iron further still: 160 metres. The loft and shaft length are the same as the G5. I cannot see how the dot colour is relevant to distance, so the only difference that I can see, or feel, is the ISI K have a more offset and the grips are about 1.5mm thicker and are a bit softer and stickier.

Maybe my ISI shafts are not regular? Only 1 still has a band: black with red rings and it says Ping JZ. 

Any suggestions?

Thanks

I am still keen for advice on why I am hitting a recently acquired scabby old set of Ping ISI Ks so much further than my other irons. 

Can it really just be the shaft?

And, if so, what specification is a Ping JZ shaft (black band with 2 thin red rings)?

Thanks

JZ (Regular & Stiff): Weight: 109.8g ®, 115.1g (S) Torque: 1.9 ® 1.7 (S) Description: A mid weight steel shaft that plays a little softer than the Z-Z65 and ZZ-Lite.