Jump to content
IGNORED

Ground Under Repair on Green, Ball in Fringe


gbogey
 Share

Note: This thread is 1062 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Curious about this situation today although in the end it didn’t matter. My ball rolled onto the fringe just beyond the green. Normally from where I was I would have putted, but there was a gur on the green right in my path. Could I take relief? I know I could if my ball was on the green and I know I couldn’t if the gur hadn’t been on the green, but couldn’t find this ruling. 

C748CA7F-C17F-4A91-B3ED-C600D717D43D.jpeg

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator

Your ball was off the green, so, did the GUR affect your lie, stance, or area of swing? Or did you merely want to putt through it?

No relief.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=16&subrulenum=1

Quote

a. When Relief Is Allowed

(1) Meaning of Interference by Abnormal Course Condition. Interference exists when any one of these is true:

If your ball wasn't on the putting green, only bullet points 1 and 2 apply.

  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Ground Under Repair on Green, Ball in Fringe
4 hours ago, gbogey said:

Thanks. That’s what I figured but it seems counter to the rule’s intent. 

Absent any Local Rule about IO's near the putting green, where else apart from a ball on the putting green would you expect line of play relief?

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


It would seem to me that if the intent of the rule is to provide "line of relief" from the putting green, then that relief should be available whether one is on the green or not if it is obvious that the "GUR" is in the line of play.  In my case, whether I wanted to putt from off the green or chip the ball, the "GUR" was clearly interfering with my line to the hole.  I think that the intent of the "GUR" rule is to provide relief in this situation, but rules are rules I guess.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


40 minutes ago, gbogey said:

I think that the intent of the "GUR" rule is to provide relief in this situation,

Well it is..as it pertains to affecting your stance or swing.

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
58 minutes ago, gbogey said:

It would seem to me that if the intent of the rule is to provide "line of relief" from the putting green, then that relief should be available whether one is on the green or not if it is obvious that the "GUR" is in the line of play.  In my case, whether I wanted to putt from off the green or chip the ball, the "GUR" was clearly interfering with my line to the hole.  I think that the intent of the "GUR" rule is to provide relief in this situation, but rules are rules I guess.

No, the intent is to provide relief when you’re on the green.

If you’re off the green where would you stop allowing relief? The fairway? Rough? 20 yards? 120?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You are not entitled to relief merely because the GUR is between your ball and the hole.  The situation is no different than one in which a sprinkler head was in your line and you opted to chip instead of putt.  Hard cheese old son.

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 9/9/2019 at 7:56 PM, Piz said:

You are not entitled to relief merely because the GUR is between your ball and the hole.  The situation is no different than one in which a sprinkler head was in your line and you opted to chip instead of putt.  Hard cheese old son.

That sprinkler head one is a different animal. Check local rules at your courses. You might be entitled to relief if it is in your line around the putting green at some courses.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1062 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • I'm not so sure that it has no standing just based on what other sports have been through and Golf has mostly avoided so far. How Long Will The PGA Handicap Its Golfers? Unlike the NBA, MLB and NFL, the PGA Tour considers golfers to be independent contractors, and they have to pay their own expenses, including extensive travel, caddy and coaching costs, entry fees, and even a $50...    
    • I wish this was the case for me. being just shy of 5'-9" I find that the driver swing is much different that say my PW. With the PW I am standing much closer to the ball and my swing plane is more vertical. My driver seems much more horizontal and I also work to hit up on it. Maybe I am too 1-plane? I know it might be a little off-topic.
    • Okay, I did this today. Perhaps I did it just a little differently than everyone else. I put 5 balls in a circle around the hole at 8 feet. (Sort of the "clock drill" everyone is familiar with but with only 5 balls and at 8 feet.) Then after I putted those, I did the exact same thing, but put the 5 galls in a circle around the hole at 12 feet. Here are my results: 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - made it = +4 points 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - 3 putt = - 4 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 12 foot - made it = +8 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 12 foot - not past the hole - 2 putt = -1 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points Total = 13 points.  I look forward to trying this again to improve upon that 13 points.   
    • I doubt it was really intentional, but...    
    • And if there were, as @boogielicious points out, would it be reasonable to expect anybody to be able to play both at a time? Of course not - that idea is absurd.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...