Jump to content
IGNORED

Rules Question… Broken Golf Ball


Rippy_72
 Share

Note: This thread is 873 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Some years ago, I had an 8 iron approach shot on the 6th hole and the Nike Platinum ball makes a weird whistle noise like when a range ball breaks.  It goes low right and then dives left into an environmental hazard.  I could see the ball and a crack into it.  We are not allowed to go into the environmental.  It was not in two pieces.  But surely cracked.   Not into two whole chunks, just a huge crack

I had played a second ball from the fairway. I knocked it up and made the putt for bogey.    Did I make a 3 or a 5?  It was the best round of my life.  I asked the pro and he wasn't sure.  I just did a Ty Webb and let it kgo.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

28 minutes ago, Rippy_72 said:

Some years ago, I had an 8 iron approach shot on the 6th hole and the Nike Platinum ball makes a weird whistle noise like when a range ball breaks.  It goes low right and then dives left into an environmental hazard.  I could see the ball and a crack into it.  We are not allowed to go into the environmental.  It was not in two pieces.  But surely cracked.   Not into two whole chunks, just a huge crack

I had played a second ball from the fairway. I knocked it up and made the putt for bogey.    Did I make a 3 or a 5?  It was the best round of my life.  I asked the pro and he wasn't sure.  I just did a Ty Webb and let it kgo.

Under the current Rules, 4.2b says if a ball breaks into pieces, the stroke doesn't count, and there's no penalty.  If a ball becomes cracked, however, the stroke isn't cancelled, but you can substitute another ball.  So your shot that put the ball into the hazard counts, the relief from the hazard is a stroke penalty, you made 5.

That same basic rule is presented in 5-3 in the 2016 version of the Rules.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Rules Question… Broken Golf Ball
1 hour ago, Rippy_72 said:

Some years ago, I had an 8 iron approach shot on the 6th hole and the Nike Platinum ball makes a weird whistle noise like when a range ball breaks.  It goes low right and then dives left into an environmental hazard.  I could see the ball and a crack into it.  We are not allowed to go into the environmental.  It was not in two pieces.  But surely cracked.   Not into two whole chunks, just a huge crack

I had played a second ball from the fairway. I knocked it up and made the putt for bogey.    Did I make a 3 or a 5?  It was the best round of my life.  I asked the pro and he wasn't sure.  I just did a Ty Webb and let it kgo.

How many years ago...?

32 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Under the current Rules, 4.2b says if a ball breaks into pieces, the stroke doesn't count, and there's no penalty.  If a ball becomes cracked, however, the stroke isn't cancelled, but you can substitute another ball.  So your shot that put the ball into the hazard counts, the relief from the hazard is a stroke penalty, you made 5.

That same basic rule is presented in 5-3 in the 2016 version of the Rules.

Didn’t the rule, years ago, used to read something along the lines that you located the largest piece, substituted a ball and played from there?

Maybe I’m wrong...

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

It was still in one piece.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, David in FL said:

Didn’t the rule, years ago, used to read something along the lines that you located the largest piece, substituted a ball and played from there?

Maybe I’m wrong...

That rings a bell, but I'm not really sure.  I looked up the 2016 rules at 

www.ruleshistory.com

Their section on Equipment rules didn't discuss a ball becoming unfit for play, and I was too lazy to look back any further for older rules on the subject.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It was 2013.   I remember trying to figure it out but it really did not matter.  

At that point in the round, it wasn't anything special.  Then, I went birdie, birdie, eagle, eagle, birdie, par, bogie, birdie, par, par.  I three putted from 10 feet on a 238 yard par 3.  I was pissed missing and my angry tap in missed.  

It was 2013.   I remember trying to figure it out but it really did not matter.  I figured a 5 but there was something about unfit for play.  I made a good shot, it just traveled like a wounded sparrow.

At that point in the round, it wasn't anything special.  Then, I went birdie, birdie, eagle, eagle, birdie, par, bogie, birdie, par, par.  I three putted from 10 feet on a 238 yard par 3.  I was pissed missing and my angry tap in missed.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

(edited)

I do not have a copy of the decisions or interpretations on the rules of golf.

1.  What does "pieces" mean?  What if it tore into two pieces but was still joined by a thread?

2.  Within the context of an environmental hazard, I could only look down off the bridge and see a huge crack.  It is possible that if I picked it up, it would be in pieces.

It always bugged me.  In terms of fairness, it would seem to me that replay of the shot would be fair.  In any case, I suppose there might be a ruling or interpretation out there.  Of course the smarties will say it is clear in the rules.

Edited by Rippy_72
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
2 hours ago, Rippy_72 said:

1.  What does "pieces" mean?  What if it tore into two pieces but was still joined by a thread?

2.  Within the context of an environmental hazard, I could only look down off the bridge and see a huge crack.  It is possible that if I picked it up, it would be in pieces.

The ball would have to be two separate items. Not connected. That would be a "cracked" ball, and you could replace it.

You're over-thinking this. It sounds every bit like a cracked ball.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 hours ago, David in FL said:

How many years ago...?

Didn’t the rule, years ago, used to read something along the lines that you located the largest piece, substituted a ball and played from there?

Maybe I’m wrong...

The rule hasn't changed from its form pre-2019 but I don't know about 'years ago'. If the ball broke as a result of a stroke, stroke didn't count and replay. But if a stationary ball in play was run over by a greens mower and smashed, it was and is replace at estimated spot.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Years ago... back in the balata days if you thinned a shot the ball would get a big ol' smile in it and would be unplayable. You had to play a new ball for your next shot. Fun times. 

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
12 minutes ago, DrvFrShow said:

Years ago... back in the balata days if you thinned a shot the ball would get a big ol' smile in it and would be unplayable. You had to play a new ball for your next shot. Fun times. 

The "balata smiley" absolutely did that, yes.

 

  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 873 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • I doubt it was really intentional, but...    
    • And if there were, as @boogielicious points out, would it be reasonable to expect anybody to be able to play both at a time? Of course not - that idea is absurd.
    • Oh man, I would LOVE for one of those guys to say that under oath. But at the end of the day, not one of those guys in that lawsuit said they were leaving for money.  They were leaving for a "better schedule", to "spend more time with their families", or "to grow the game of golf."  They were also aware that LIV was an international organization, the LIV website literally calls themself an "International Golf Series."  They were aware of the format at the time they joined, they were aware of the schedule.  They were also made very aware of what the penalty would be from the PGA Tour if they joined.  They had all of that information in advance, and made a choice.  Now to come back and say that? Understand you're playing devils advocate, but that argument coming from these professionals should have no legs to stand on in a legal setting.
    • Playing devils advocate here because I can't comprehend what its like to be a millionaire and want to be a zillionaire - but I think the point is there is no competition in LIV just money. Thus still no meaningful choice to them. LIV can pay but can't provide competition, PGA Tour has the competition but doesn't pay that well. Most PGA Tour players are not making a ton of money, especially compared to other US sports.
    • Day 650: Played 18 this morning at North Kingstown. Driver was dreadful. I’m at a loss as to what is different on the course.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...