Jump to content
Rick Graham

Matthew Wolff and Rule 13 (Tapping Down Spike Marks)

7 posts / 1169 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Did anyone see Matthew Wolf last week, I can't remember what hole it was, but the tv camera caught him tamping down spike marks on the green when he had a  foot putt.  I know the rules now allow this, but it seemed to me that he was going overboard with this.......on his 2 foot putt he spent about 30 seconds really tamping down hard the whole area between the ball and the hole....to me this is an infraction of rule 13.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't see him do that, but I noticed last week watching the highlight videos from when he was contending in Detroit that he finds something to tamp down after every time he sinks a putt or taps in.

Since he must know that he can fix/tamp down spike marks and ball marks before the putt, I thought maybe he thinks he puts too much weight on the putter when he leans over to grab his ball, and he's just trying to even out that spot. It's pretty clear, though, that isn't the case either. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, jamo said:

I didn't see him do that, but I noticed last week watching the highlight videos from when he was contending in Detroit that he finds something to tamp down after every time he sinks a putt or taps in.

Since he must know that he can fix/tamp down spike marks and ball marks before the putt, I thought maybe he thinks he puts too much weight on the putter when he leans over to grab his ball, and he's just trying to even out that spot. It's pretty clear, though, that isn't the case either. 

 

Looks to me like he’s targeting the spot his foot was and not the putter.

Not what @Rick Graham is talking about, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Interesting.  So in theory, if you tap down the line of your putt so that your ball tracks that line, is it still allowed?  Just a hypothetical question.

I thought I read somewhere that some pro left a water hose on a practice green so that it forms imperceptible track to the hole and bet on other pros during putting practice.  Could be just an urban myth.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Yukari said:

Interesting.  So in theory, if you tap down the line of your putt so that your ball tracks that line, is it still allowed?  Just a hypothetical question.

You cannot do that, no. It's not "still" allowed as it has never been allowed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...