IGNORED

2 Inch Tipping, a Magic Result

Colins69

I tipped a Matrix graphite raw shaft 2inches, I'm a novice tinkering golf but that likes to think I learnt some watching utube video and reading Maltby Wishon et'also. 

I bought 2 matrix white tie A flex graphite shafts, one I cut std to use in my Callaway epic sub zero driver and it didn't work for me. I then decided to try the other shaft with 2inch tipping on a Taylormade R15 430cc head I recently bought leaving the butt as is. I discussed this with a friend who has tinkered for more than 10 years and is a perfectionist, he said not a good idea because I would likely ruin the shaft and achieve nothing. Obviously I don't listen once I've decided on a course of action, it wouldn't hurt anyone else just lost $50 so no biggie, so the end result is I've got a shaft that works for me so much so I gained 21 metres in CARRY distance and straight ish, huge gain for me. I think I've stiffened the tip and gone to firm regular, I feel the head and have feel in the swing that I never had before ever. I'm still recovering from a serious illness so as time goes by and I get stronger I will change the driver shaft again but will keep this shaft, in my golfing life I've used any shaft a Pro said to use without knowing or understanding the WHY. I don't think I will ever know why but will enjoy tinkering....

39 minutes ago, Colins69 said:

I tipped a Matrix graphite raw shaft 2inches, I'm a novice tinkering golf but that likes to think I learnt some watching utube video and reading Maltby Wishon et'also.