Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 1374 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

This last weekend, at my home course, we had a 54 hole tournament. A player ahead of my group hit his first shot in a par 4 really close to OB (marked by stakes).
He played a provisional ball and walked to the 1st ball. Once over the ball he told his playing partners that the ball was in and ask them to pick up the provisional ball that was on the other side of the fairway stucked to a tree. He procceded to play his 2nd shot, this time completely OB. In that moment he told his playing partners that he was mistaken before and that he thinks the first ball was in fact OB and that he should continue playing with his provisional ball (the one that had been already lifted up by his playing partners). He procceded to place the ball close to the tree but not as stuck like it was before (it was clearly unplayable before), play from there his 4rd shot to the front of the green and 2 putted to finish the hole with a more than acceptable 6.
He finished his round and drive home, his playing partners were really confused about the hole thing (even a little suspicious about his morals) so they presented the case to the tournament authorities. 

What do you think it happened?

 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

I'm on my phone so I can't say too much, but the player should have likely been DQed under about three different rules. If his ball was OB, but he hit it… whatever, long story short, he took a six when there's no way he made a legitimate six or less.

  • Informative 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Should have been DQ'd. However, since he is a good friend of 3 committee members he was summoned in for discussion of the issue. After a few hours of drinking and a good meal the matter was forgotten.

  • Like 1

Posted

DQ all of you for allowing this debacle to happen and not protecting the field nor upholding the spirit of the game.🤭

  • Like 1

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The only problem here is nobody saw where the first ball actually was.  In that case, it would have been simple enough to determine whether he hit 4 from the location of the first or second ball.  In any case he still hit his fourth from the tree or near the OB marker.  But picking up the ball meant he couldn't the fourth from near the tree without a penalty drop.  In principle he should be DQ'd

What's in the bag

  • Taylor Made r5 dual Draw 9.5* (stiff)
  • Cobra Baffler 4H (stiff)
  • Taylor Made RAC OS 6-9,P,S (regular)
  • Golden Bear LD5.0 60* (regular)
  • Aidia Z-009 Putter
  • Inesis Tour 900 golf ball
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
  On 10/13/2021 at 9:32 AM, pganapathy said:

The only problem here is nobody saw where the first ball actually was.  In that case, it would have been simple enough to determine whether he hit 4 from the location of the first or second ball.  In any case he still hit his fourth from the tree or near the OB marker.  But picking up the ball meant he couldn't the fourth from near the tree without a penalty drop.  In principle he should be DQ'd

Expand  

Saying that’s his fourth ignores that he made a stroke at another ball.

Whether the ball was in bounds or out, it wasn’t a stroke you can ignore.

  • Thumbs Up 2

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
  On 10/13/2021 at 11:01 AM, iacas said:

Saying that’s his fourth ignores that he made a stroke at another ball.

Whether the ball was in bounds or out, it wasn’t a stroke you can ignore.

Expand  

Assuming the ball was actually OB, does the stroke count.  I guess you know the rule and are saying it does count.  Thanks for that info.

What's in the bag

  • Taylor Made r5 dual Draw 9.5* (stiff)
  • Cobra Baffler 4H (stiff)
  • Taylor Made RAC OS 6-9,P,S (regular)
  • Golden Bear LD5.0 60* (regular)
  • Aidia Z-009 Putter
  • Inesis Tour 900 golf ball
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
  On 10/13/2021 at 11:37 AM, pganapathy said:

Assuming the ball was actually OB, does the stroke count.  I guess you know the rule and are saying it does count.  Thanks for that info.

Expand  

I’m not sure there’s any case where you intentionally hit what you state is your golf ball and it doesn’t count as a stroke.

  • Thumbs Up 1

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
  On 10/13/2021 at 11:37 AM, pganapathy said:

Assuming the ball was actually OB, does the stroke count.  I guess you know the rule and are saying it does count.  Thanks for that info.

Expand  

This is from the Definition of Wrong Ball:

  Quote

Examples of a wrong ball are:

.....

The player’s own ball that is out of bounds, has become lost or has been lifted and not yet put back in play.

Expand  

So he made a stroke at a Wrong Ball, incurring the General Penalty.  And that's just a part of his problems on this hole.

  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Informative 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
  On 10/13/2021 at 11:37 AM, pganapathy said:

Assuming the ball was actually OB, does the stroke count.  I guess you know the rule and are saying it does count.  Thanks for that info.

Expand  

Yeah.

You can’t just make a swing at a ball and not count it. Even if it was not your ball, it’s either a wrong ball or a practice swing (you can only “hit” a ball and not count it if you’re doing something like hitting a range ball back onto the range, and the times when you play a provisional up to the area where you expect your first ball to be).

  On 10/13/2021 at 12:25 PM, DaveP043 said:

This is from the Definition of Wrong Ball:

So he made a stroke at a Wrong Ball, incurring the General Penalty.  And that's just a part of his problems on this hole.

Expand  

Yeah. The stroke he made is going to count one way or another… he either hit his ball, then abandoned it after hitting it OB and played from a wrong place (probably a serious breach), or he played an OB ball and thus a wrong ball.

  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The initial take from the comitte was to add 3 strokes to him on that hole (6 to 9).
The stroke from OB + penalty stroke for doing that + lifting the provisional ball and putting it back in play.

I wasn't OK with that decision because of 2 things.
- He played the provisional ball from a wrong place, he gained a big advantage doing that so he should be DQ.
- He signed 6 in that hole but he should sign a 9. So according to the new rules, signing a lower score in a hole is penilized by 2 strokes after fixing it to the rigth number. So for me he should be having an 11 in that hole.

This tournament served as a qualifier for the club match play championship, and with that 9 he qualified 7th out of 8 spots available. 

The guy in 9th place complained about the decision so the commite called the player that made this huge mess and procceded to DQ him after he recognized that the first ball was OB even before he hit the 2nd shot... shady move.
I will be playing now the guy that ended 9th after he got the 8th spot in the qualifiers.   
 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1374 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • I was having a decent round (no doubles is a decent rough these days) when I got to eight and hit a drive that looked like it was going into a fairway bunker. I wish it had because, when I got to the ball, it was hanging on the edge of the bunker and I had no stance. I got into the bunker and just tried to baseball swing a wedge to advance it a little but I bounced it about ten yards into deep rough. I still had 185 to the green and envisioned my first double (at best). Probably should have taken my medicine with a wedge, but I pulled my 25 degree hybrid instead. I made good contact with a lot of topspin and it tumbled and rolled all the way to the green where I was able to two putt for a bogie to keep my "decent round" intact. 😎
    • I am in the same boat, a lefty who has played righthanded all my life because my Dad cut down some of his clubs when I was a kid to hit in the back yard. I am completely lefthanded except for golf, baseball and hockey. It took me years to engage my right side in the swing, but I had a killer backhand in tennis. I tried out playing lefty about thirty years ago, but it was very daunting. Length is enticing, and I could hit it farther lefthanded but it went all over the place. I only gave it about a month before I stopped and I should have given it more time because I think it could have worked out, but I was a decent righty at the time (around a 7 index) and wasn't willing to put in the time. I never had a lot of length, but I could keep the ball in front of me and there is something to say about being in the short grass. Good luck. Hit 'em straight!
    • Day 6: Worked on adding some load to the putter hitting putts right hand only then finished with the gate drill. 
    • Wordle 1,495 4/6* ⬛🟦🟦⬛🟦 ⬛🟦🟦🟦⬛ ⬛🟧🟧⬛🟦 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Although the base rules don't make this really clear, the Player must have decided to use Unplayable Ball relief before lifting the ball.  This exact situation is discussed in the Committee Procedures section of the Rules, section 6C(8).  Section 6C addresses how to rule when a Player proceeds under a Rule that does not apply.  Note that 9.4 applies, 9.4 deals with a player moving his ball when no rule allows it.   Rule 9.4 penalizes the Player for lifting his ball when not permitted by the Rules, and requires him to replace it.  Since he dropped and played from a different place, the Wrong Place penalty applies.  As for a serious breach, that would only apply if the Wrong Place gave him a really significant advantage.  Since he could have taken Unplayable Ball relief in essentially the same spot, for just 1 penalty stroke, the Wrong Place penalty of 2 strokes is enough "punishment", there's no need to consider a DQ.  
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...