IGNORED

Adding a 3 Hybrid or 4 Hybrid to My Bag

Rickpl

Hi,

I’m new to golf (started golfing this year) and I’m currently playing with a secondhand beginner set of clubs that I purchased from a friend. Now that I’ve played several rounds and I understand the game a bit better, I’m looking to purchase some new clubs to help improve my game.

One area that I’d like to improve on is gaining distance and consistency on the fairway. I’m currently hitting irons on the fairway of par 4 and 5 holes, but I feel I’m not hitting the ball as far and as accurately as I’d like to. I have a nice 3 wood which I’m able to hit fairly well off a tee, but I find that I struggle to hit it with consistency on the fairway.

I recently golfed with a friend who used a 3 hybrid for many of his fairway shots. He’s fairly new to golf like I am, and he seemed to be able to hit nice long shots on the fairway with ease.

After golfing with my friend, I am contemplating purchasing a 3 hybrid for fairway shots. As I mentioned before, I do already own a 3 wood which I like to use to tee off on par 3 holes and shorter par 4 holes.

My question is – does it make sense / is it ideal to have both a 3 wood and 3 hybrid in my gold bag? I’ve read that a 4 hybrid is easier to hit and can be more forgiving than a 3 hybrid, and that the maximum distance between the two is very similar. Perhaps, a 4 hybrid would be a better option for a beginner golfer like me, and a 4 hybrid and 3 wood might be a better combination?

I'm a newbie when it comes to this stuff so I appreciate your feedback and suggestions. Thank you.

Welcome to TST, @Rickpl.   We're glad you've joined.   

I have two hybrids, a 5h and a 4 hybrid which compliment my 4 wood.