IGNORED

Lost My Game

Hi

I don't post here very often (last time was years ago!) but feel I need some input from you guys on my game at the moment.

I'm a 51 year old guy - go to the gym regularly and like to think I'm in pretty good shape.  I started playing golf late in life - 20 odd years ago.  Within 5 years, I was down to an 8 handicap.  Back then I saved some stats on my average rounds 2001 - 104, 2002 - 96, 2003 - 88, 2004 - 84, 2005 - 81.  Since 2005, my handicap gradually went up (having 3 kids, family life, work, etc.) so until COVID hit, my handicap was always around 10 or 11.

Scroll forward to 2022 and my average for the last 12 months has been around 92-95 strokes with my index now at 14.6.  I've been for lessons to check my fundamentals - as far as the pro is concerned, all looking pretty good.

I've always played once a week on a Sunday at my home course all these years - with the occasional society days throughout the year.  I play every week - rain or shine.

Yes, I'm older now so I've lost some distance but I'm still hitting drives 230-240 and my 7 iron is still pretty much around the 150 mark.

I've started buying all these training tools - elbow armbands, flat training balls, top of backswing angle check thingy.  I've been going to the range 1-2 times a week trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong - of course 90% of the shots at the range are crushed at target.  I've been chipping in my back garden (something I've never done!) too.

Am I expecting too much?  I had a game once but now when I go out, I don't feel confident at all - it's like I'm wondering where the next shot is going to end up all the time - whether that be with the driver or the putter.

Any suggestions as to what next?  I'm going on a golfing trip to Spain in 2 weeks with some buddies and want to have fun for a change!

Thanks for reading.

Stu

Mizuno MX500 10.5*
Mizuno Hi-Fli CLK 20*
Mizuno Hi-Fli CLK 26*
Nike Pro Combo 5-PW
Mizuno Black Ox 52* & 56*