IGNORED

Looking for a driver

Note: This thread is 5817 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi all,

I have been playing for about 5 months and until now I have made do with a 3 wood off the tee, but now I am looking for a driver. Obviously, having only played for a short time I am looking for something with a lot of forgiveness, however I don't want to restrict myself in terms of distance and workability in the long run.

I have tried out both the Cobra F Speed LD (2008) and the TM Burner (2007) and really like the Burner. I hit it fairly straight with a good amount of height.

I don't have much of a problem with a slice, and so I'm not really looking for a draw driver, as I feel I would rather correct my swing than have a club do it for me.

Does anyone have any comments about specifically the Burner, or any other drivers they can recommend? My pro shop does also stock G10s which I have heard good things about, so I should probably try one out.

Many thanks

In my bag:
Driver: G10 10.5 TFC 129 Shaft
3 wood: R7 Steel
Hybrid: 585H 21 Degree
Irons 3-PW: 735.CMWedges: Vokey 52.08, 56.14Putter: White Hot XG #5

Hi all,

My thoughts: * You should certainly try out the G10s. I've never hit one, but I feel you should demo many possible clubs before buying one. * I don't know much about the burner, but a buddy of mine plays the R7 and loves it. I used to play an R5 that I wasn't fit for (right flex, wrong loft) so I took it out in favor of my current Cobra. * The Cobra F-Speeds are nice. They are forgiving - either that or I have a great swing. Maybe both. In any case, I have trouble hitting a draw or fade with it, although I can do that with the 3Wood at the practice range. Maybe it's because of the ball I play.

-- Michael | My swing!