IGNORED

Hip bump or hip turn? You be the judge..

bunkerputt
Note: This thread is 5274 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

This is going to sound like a complete noob, but I finally figured out how to swing a golf club. You have to ROTATE from the top. I was trying so hard to "Bump and turn" like 99.9% of people say and all I got was steep, to the inside, flippy and topping 20% of my shots, pushing 75% and pull-hooking 5%. I can NOT believe how easy it is to hit a 3-wood off a tight lie when you aren't sliding all over the golf course. I was convinced I was turning, but I just wasn't. I fixed the following problems all with 10 minutes of camera work over two days and a critical eye:

* No longer fall forward after my swing
* Club is flat on the downswing
* You can actually see my left hip pocket when my shoulders are square at impact
* Finish isn't contrived at the last minute to make it look like I swung correctly

Best range session ever. I was carrying 4-irons into a net 200 yards out that I'd hit 1 out of 20 before. It felt like shooting fish in a barrel. Special thanks to the sand trap guys who told me: "It looks like you might have quit on your turn." Those kinds of things got me thinking in the right direction. Special thanks also to Ben Hogan and his great book on fundamentals.

[ Equipment ]
R11 9° (Lowered to 8.5°) UST Proforce VTS 7x tipped 1" | 906F2 15° and 18° | 585H 21° | Mizuno MP-67 +1 length TT DG X100 | Vokey 52° Oil Can, Cleveland CG10 2-dot 56° and 60° | TM Rossa Corza Ghost 35.5" | Srixon Z Star XV | Size 14 Footjoy Green Joys | Tour Striker Pro 5, 7, 56 | Swingwing

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Yeah it's not much of hip bump but it is still there. I find if i don't bump, especially with my driver i'll hit a snap hook.