Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
mcfc_nick

Brian Davis

Note: This thread is 3412 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

82 posts / 19036 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

OK, can someone tell me if he was playing the shot? Or just taking a practice swing? I only saw one replay of his club touching the twig/thing but not if he continued to play the ball..... Because if he was PLAYING the ball I can't see how it's a penalty?

He was playing the shot, it was a penalty because he hit the stick on the back swing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

The rule screwed him. There was no malicious intent to improve his lie, or swing path clearance, etc... This is perhaps the purest example of a good rule gone bad, right up there with accidentally grounding your club in water when hitting from a hazard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I wouldnt have even noticed that i swiped a reed if i where in that situation. i would have been too focused on just trying to get the ball on the green.

I was thinking the same thing. He may have felt it more than seen it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gotta give Davis his dues for the honesty. But was anyone else thinking drop it 100 yards out and wedge it in close for a chance? The lie was obviously tricky and he short-sided it.

Also I thought it was interesting how easily Furyk made that final putt when all the pressure was off.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gotta give Davis his dues for the honesty. But was anyone else thinking drop it 100 yards out and wedge it in close for a chance? The lie was obviously tricky and he short-sided it.

he could have dropped it about 5 yards off the green

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah I think Scooter or whatever the judges name is was standing at the drop point, just off the green, who knows, could have holed it and threw Jimmy a nice wink

As said by others though - Amazing display of sincere love and respect for the game. props to you B.D.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He was playing the shot, it was a penalty because he hit the stick on the back swing.

So the action of making a "stroke" is in the down-swing only?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So the action of making a "stroke" is in the down-swing only?

That's correct. To quote from the

USGA Rules of Golf, Section II:
Stroke A "stroke" is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gotta give Davis his dues for the honesty. But was anyone else thinking drop it 100 yards out and wedge it in close for a chance? The lie was obviously tricky and he short-sided it.

From where the hole was and where the ball last crossed onto the hazard, there was no place "100 yards out" on that line where he could have dropped. That would have put him in the hazard. His only relief options were to drop within 2 clublengths of where the ball crossed in, or return to the original place and play again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3412 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...