IGNORED

Advice needed

Jaywun
Note: This thread is 4900 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm an older golfer. 11 handicap. I average 250 off the tee, 5 iron about 175. The thing is I have a short backswing(self taught). I have no crazy goals of getting to scratch but feel I still have a chance to get to 5. Question-should I still try to lengthen my backswing for more distance or stick with my length and work on short game to get down to 5? I layup on every par 5 and try to wedge in for birdie, but almost never 1 put, so settle for par at best. Most low single digits say birdie on par 5's are necessary. If I can maintain my distances and just work on consistency and short game, is getting to 5 realistic or do I have to get longer? Also, there are a couple long par 4's on my local courses that I just dread playing. I always have 3 or 4 iron in and always bogey or worse on those holes. Any thoughts? Anyone in the same position? All feedback appreciated.

Hi there

Before you change anything that later on you can regret, working on the short game is never a bad idea. Practice those pitches, chips, and putts. I am sure that if you practice well you will lower your score, and you´ll always have time to change your swing if you want to.

Besides, i think that a longer backswing will not necesarily make you hit further.

Good luck!!

In my bag:
Cleveland DST Tour 9.5 Diamana
Callaway Diablo Tour 15º

Callaway Razr 5 wood
TaylorMade Tour Preferred 3-PW
Callaway Forged 56º, Titleist Vokey 58º

Odyssey White Hot 1

Srixon Z-Star