Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Can you use two tees on a tee box during a round?


Note: This thread is 5055 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Odd question.  Bit of background.  After posting with some driver problems, iacas correctly pointed out to me that I was moving my head too much on my driver.  He was right.  After videoing the swing, I was swaying horribly on my misses.  My pro recommended that I put two tees in the ground, one real one with the ball and another blank tee in the middle of my stance, and both aim and keep my head behind the "fake" tee.  Its designed to teach you to always hit on the upswing. After about a week of this, I am driving much better.

That said, it got me wondering if I could do that during a round.  That is, tee up for my driver with the "real" ball and tee out at my left heel, and my decoy tee, just like in practice, in the middle of my stance.  Is there any prohibition against placing two tees in the ground?  Does this alter the ground in some way?

Thanks,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Interesting question.  I don't know the answer though, so we'll have to wait for the rules gurus...

Matt

Mid-Weight Heavy Putter
Cleveland Tour Action 60˚
Cleveland CG15 54˚
Nike Vapor Pro Combo, 4i-GW
Titleist 585h 19˚
Tour Edge Exotics XCG 15˚ 3 Wood
Taylormade R7 Quad 9.5˚

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I believe it qualifies as using training aids during the course of a round.  After all, the tee is no different than a person using a set of alignment sticks.  Therefore, it'd be against the rules.

I believe it'd fall under:

14-3. Artificial Devices, Unusual Equipment and Unusual Use of Equipment
  • Upvote 1

Carlos


Posted


Originally Posted by Nole77

I believe it qualifies as using training aids during the course of a round.  After all, the tee is no different than a person using a set of alignment sticks.  Therefore, it'd be against the rules.

I believe it'd fall under:

14-3. Artificial Devices, Unusual Equipment and Unusual Use of Equipment


Absolutely correct. However, I don't think there is anything stopping him from using a tee that was in or on the ground prior to his arrival at the tee box. Of course he couldn't touch it, but he could build his stance around it.

  • Upvote 1

My Tools of Ignorance:

Driver: Ping I20 9.5*
Woods/Hybrids: Cobra AMP 3W and 3 HY

Irons: Cobra AMP 4-GW

Wedges: Callaway Forged Copper 56* and 60*

Putters: Scotty Cameron  35" (Several of the flow neck blade variety)

Ball: Bridgestone B330-RX and Srixon Z-Star

Bag: Nike Performance Carry


Posted

Or  using anything else already there - a leaf, a divot mark, a weed (of course not the last of these on the most groomed courses).

  • Upvote 1

  • 4 months later...
Posted


Originally Posted by johnclayton1982

That said, it got me wondering if I could do that during a round.  That is, tee up for my driver with the "real" ball and tee out at my left heel, and my decoy tee, just like in practice, in the middle of my stance.  Is there any prohibition against placing two tees in the ground?  Does this alter the ground in some way?

Thanks,

John



8-2 . Indicating Line of Play

a . Other Than on Putting Green

Except on the putting green , a player may have the line of play indicated to him by anyone, but no one may be positioned by the player on or close to the line or an extension of the line beyond the hole while the stroke is being made. Any mark placed by the player or with his knowledge to indicate the line must be removed before the stroke is made.


Posted
Call it a practice round and you can do whatever you want.

Ogio Grom | Callaway X Hot Pro | Callaway X-Utility 3i | Mizuno MX-700 23º | Titleist Vokey SM 52.08, 58.12 | Mizuno MX-700 15º | Titleist 910 D2 9,5º | Scotty Cameron Newport 2 | Titleist Pro V1x and Taylormade Penta | Leupold GX-1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted


Originally Posted by Zeph

Call it a practice round and you can do whatever you want.



Good post for the Rules of Golf forum.


Posted

See guys, he's called Rulesman because he rules.

Seriously though, pretty useful bloke to have around. For OP, you have to make do with a divot or something like that. You can't make marks in the ground or place objects, or even cast shadows to align yourself. If it's a strictly visual thing, find a divot in the teeing area and line up with that; you can use a club for alignment to place your tee in relation to the divot, as long as you pick it up before address.

If you use the tee to actually hit on the downswing, you're screwed. Unless there's some way you can plant dandelions a couple days in advance and use them, you'll have to wean yourself off. The dandelion thing can't be a smart idea, and it will likely get you shunned by the groundskeepers, plus you couldn't break the stems in your backswing or prior to the stroke.

In My Bag:

Adams Super LS 9.5˚ driver, Aldila Phenom NL 65TX
Adams Super LS 15˚ fairway, Kusala black 72x
Adams Super LS 18˚ fairway, Aldila Rip'd NV 75TX
Adams Idea pro VST hybrid, 21˚, RIP Alpha 105x
Adams DHY 24˚, RIP Alpha 89x
5-PW Maltby TE irons, KBS C taper X, soft stepped once 130g
Mizuno T4, 54.9 KBS Wedge X
Mizuno R12 60.5, black nickel, KBS Wedge X
Odyssey Metal X #1 putter 
Bridgestone E5, Adidas samba bag, True Linkswear Stealth
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted


Originally Posted by Rulesman

8-2. Indicating Line of Play

a. Other Than on Putting Green

Except on the putting green, a player may have the line of play indicated to him by anyone, but no one may be positioned by the player on or close to the line or an extension of the line beyond the hole while the stroke is being made. Any mark placed by the player or with his knowledge to indicate the line must be removed before the stroke is made.

Why would you use 8-2 to something where it does not suit? Why not use the rule already give before, 14-3 Unusual use of equipment.

Especially as 8-2 in stroke play gives you 2 stroke penalty and 14-3 gives straight DQ.


Posted

8-2 is line of play, not helping with alignment. I would say that even if a tee mark was there before hand that falls under an aid. Its not the act of placing the object is the act of using the object to help you. I am not sure as to the use of divots. In the spirit of the game, competative golf i wouldn't do it myself. But if your playing a casual round, i say go for it. I would just use a divot or some sort of other naturally made marking, not an existing tee.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted


Originally Posted by saevel25

8-2 is line of play, not helping with alignment. I would say that even if a tee mark was there before hand that falls under an aid. Its not the act of placing the object is the act of using the object to help you. I am not sure as to the use of divots. In the spirit of the game, competative golf i wouldn't do it myself. But if your playing a casual round, i say go for it. I would just use a divot or some sort of other naturally made marking, not an existing tee.



I don't see anything wrong about picking out a spot that was made before you arrived at the tee box to help you in any of this. Some of the greatest players have recommended picking a spot in front of your ball to help aim and align yourself and I don't see this as being any different whether it's a divot or a spot in the fairway.

Using a piece of equipment would be crossing the line Imo. I am not certain that a  tee pushed or broken in the ground (like you see on almost any par 3) that was abandoned by a previous player counts or not.

Callaway AI Smoke TD Max 10.5* | Cobra Big Tour 15.5* | Rad Tour 18.5* | Titleist U500 4i | T100 5-P | Vokey 50/8* F, 54/10* S,  58/10* S | Scotty Cameron Squareback 1


Posted


Originally Posted by TourSpoon

Using a piece of equipment would be crossing the line Imo. I am not certain that a  tee pushed or broken in the ground (like you see on almost any par 3) that was abandoned by a previous player counts or not.


An abandoned tee is not equipment so that aspect is not a problem.

Further, anything already on the ground (tee, daisy head. pebble) can be used for alignment.


Posted


Originally Posted by saevel25

8-2 is line of play, not helping with alignment. I would say that even if a tee mark was there before hand that falls under an aid. Its not the act of placing the object is the act of using the object to help you. I am not sure as to the use of divots. In the spirit of the game, competative golf i wouldn't do it myself. But if your playing a casual round, i say go for it. I would just use a divot or some sort of other naturally made marking, not an existing tee.



Dec 8-2a/2 would suggest that the RBs would consider it so


Posted

So what if we wrap this up?

You can not use any of your equipment on ground to help your stance or your line of alignment, except your shoes... Anything that is already on/in ground can be used (as it is not equipment but an object), as long as it is not altered, moved etc, i.e. it has to be as found. It can be your tee from previous round or whatever, but nothing that you carried with you on this round.

To me, putting a tee in ground between your feet does not help you with your line of alignment (8-2). Especially as the purpose of putting it there is to help you keep your head behind and so make a better stroke (14-3).

I would DQ immediately.


Posted


Originally Posted by saevel25

8-2 is line of play, not helping with alignment. I would say that even if a tee mark was there before hand that falls under an aid. Its not the act of placing the object is the act of using the object to help you. I am not sure as to the use of divots. In the spirit of the game, competative golf i wouldn't do it myself. But if your playing a casual round, i say go for it. I would just use a divot or some sort of other naturally made marking, not an existing tee.

Originally Posted by Rulesman

Dec 8-2a/2 would suggest that the RBs would consider it so


This Dec has nothing to do with the OP question. As it is clearly said there 'to indicate the line of play'. In OP one is not indicating nthe line of play but using a tee to help his own alignment. The Rule to be used is definitively 14-3 and the result would be DQ.


Posted

I concede.

After an interesting conversation this morning with my contact at the R&A;, their view is that in this case it is, as you say, unusual use of equipment and therefore a breach of 14-3. DQ.


Note: This thread is 5055 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
    • Day 2: 2025.12.27 Eighteen holes at Kauri Cliffs. Focusing on trying to keep flex in right leg during backswing.
    • Day 136 12-26 Had a different practice planned today but life happened. Worked on "wide to wide" and still working on remaining flowy. Starting the club head in front of the ball as a drill, is helping with the flow of the swing.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.