IGNORED

First set of clubs

Note: This thread is 4383 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

A bit about me and my game:

I've been playing and studying golf for about two years. Of those two years, I've been at sea for sixteen months, and therefore have only been playing for about eight months, but spaced over two years. I've never been joined a club, so I've never had a chance to get an official handicap, but right now I would estimate it to be around 18-20. The best score I've posted was 15 over par. I couldn't afford lessons until just recently and have had two and they've helped immensely. Before I got the lessons, I could get pretty good distances on my drives and irons, but only when I mashed it and made a connection, which was rare. The PGA professional told me I was 'getting away with it' but wasn't rotating very much, and my stance was too narrow and my grip was wrong. After changing these things my distances increased massively, along with my consistency. I can consistently drive the ball about 270 yards, and last week I hit two drives on the 300 mark in one round, and I'm breaking 285 more and more. My instructor told me that once I get my own set of clubs and get used to a driver, he's confident I'll be able to consistently drive 300+ with more practice and fall well into the 'long' category of iron distances. I only ever play with three of my best friends who introduced me to golf, and who play off handicaps of 7, 10, and 12 respectively.