You won't find an answer in the rules of golf, so it really comes down to how the committee who organizes the tournament wants to handle that situation. My suggestion would be to phrase the rule such that each team gets two strokes at each ball (a "stroke" being defined as a swing/chip/putt but not a penalty) and then a decision must be made.
So in the case you describe above, Player B would hit from the drop area. Then the team would get to choose whether to play that shot (lying 3) or the layup (lying 2).
Look up in Golf digest the top 100 fitters. You can pull up your state. In Massachusetts and New Hampshire for instance there are a few golf shops, a Callaway performance center and some smaller clubfitters that specialize...like I have Ace of Clubs in Saugus that I use.
Do you homework on area places. I have a place in Manchester NH that would be my #2....just a guy who does fittings with a good reputation. Often times these are the guys to go to. Not a fan of ANY big box place and get skepitical about places like cool clubs,club champion and Tru spec overcharging....looking more at getting more customers through the door than the guy I go to who you build a relationship with.
Just got my Ping Eye 2 Blue Dot 2-iron. Back in my earlier days I loved hitting this club. The shaft is a KT-M. Looking to replace it with a graphite shaft. +3/4 inches in lenth. Driver swing speed is mid-90's. Club has a 18.5* loft. Looking for a shaft that might give it a bit more of a mid-high trajectory.
Swing tempo is moderate. Transition is medium and release is middle to late.
At the end of the day I'll get fit for it, just wanted to nerd out on some shafts.