• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Blakeping

In the Hazard or OB???

12 posts in this topic

I was playing golf and my buddy hit a tee shot dead right. along the tree line was staked. It was Red staked halfway down and then changed to white stakes. The ball clearly crossed the red stakes BUT.. continued on through the woods and ended clearly past the first (double) white stakes.

SO in short the ball crossed along the lateral hazard but rested OUT of BOUNDS... what would be the proper ruling?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I'm curious, where the red stakes ended are there any red stakes heading perpendicular to this point moving to the right or more red stakes farther to the right?  Were there any white stakes farther to the right?

I could see a ball hitting a tree that was OB and finishing the the right of the red stakes bordering the tree line..........with the ball never crossing the margin of the hazard.

I've seen new courses marked with red stakes along a tree line.........shouldn't be marked that way in the first place.....and then when someone builds a house on one of the lots, a couple of white stakes are thrown up on the two back corners but no where else.  Really prevents you from precisely determining what is OB and what is not.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

What was the demarcation between the hazard area and the OOB area? And where was the ball in relation to that?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

there were no more stakes to define from the course what angle the Hazard / OB ran,  It was just simply a single row or red stakes that about 125yds down the hole changed to white stakes starting with a double white stake, inside those stakes were just acres and acres of woods (we were at Sunday River Golf Course in Maine)  I assumed the division of Hazard / OB to be perpendicular to the Hole we were playing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seems like Keystone is not the only course with boundary issues? http://thesandtrap.com/t/62213/lateral-water-hazard-boundary#post_769330

The question I have is what if the ball was hit shorter, but much further to the right and didn`t make it up to the white stakes?  From the OP, we know where the left side of the LWH is, but how do we determine the right side of the hazard?  Does it end at the golf course property?  Also, is the OP safe to assume that the demarcation between hazard and OOB runs perpendicular to the hole (line segment of the stakes)?

To the OP, why do you think the first part was marked as a LWH- could there have been some actual water or wetlands to go along with the woods?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can honestly say I did not venture in to find out.  I can only assume there was some wetlands or e nvironmentally sensitive area.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it can be assumed that the OB boundary ran perpendicular to the pair of white stakes.

If the was a defined (OOB) limit to the course the LWH would extend that far to the right. If not, then it would extend to infinity.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was playing golf and my buddy hit a tee shot dead right. along the tree line was staked. It was Red staked halfway down and then changed to white stakes. The ball clearly crossed the red stakes BUT.. continued on through the woods and ended clearly past the first (double) white stakes. SO in short the ball crossed along the lateral hazard but rested OUT of BOUNDS... what would be the proper ruling?

[quote name="TourSpoon" url="/t/62215/in-the-hazard-or-ob#post_769368"]OB is OB. Three from the tee.  [/quote] No. The ball crossed the lateral water hazard line (red stakes). The player may take a drop, under the penalty of 1 stroke, nearest where the ball crossed the lateral hazard. I'm not sure that the balls continuation through the water hazard into an area marked Out of Bounds matters.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I know this an old thread, but can we get a ruling?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The golf ball is always played as it lies, regardless of line of travel; and apply rules based on this alone.  If it is OB, re-hit from original lie with a one-stroke penalty (keeping in mind that it is not really a penalty stroke, per se, but a stroke for the dropping/placing of the ball).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:
Originally Posted by MyrtleBeachGolf View Post

I know this an old thread, but can we get a ruling?

Out of bounds is out of bounds.  Doesn't matter if the ball went through a water hazard to get there.  If the ball lands in flowing water and is carried out of bounds by the flow, it's still out of bounds.

Quote:

26-1/7

Ball Moved Out of Bounds by Flow of Water in Water Hazard

Q. The flow of water in a water hazard carries a ball out of bounds. May the player invoke Rule 26-1 ?

A. No. Since the ball lies out of bounds, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1 . Water is not an outside agency - see Definition of "Outside Agency" - and thus the ball would not be replaced under Rule 18-1 .

In a situation where it is likely that a ball will be carried out of bounds by the flow of water in a water hazard, it is suggested that a screen be installed to prevent such an occurrence.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0