Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4794 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Recently, at a tournament, my fellow competitor's 2nd shot landed in the hazard but playable. His stance and swing was not affected by the lateral hazard stake marker. But very likely his ball will hit the stake marker. He asked his caddie to remove the stake. Is this allowed? Thanks.


Posted
Originally Posted by Sang Buaya

Recently, at a tournament, my fellow competitor's 2nd shot landed in the hazard but playable. His stance and swing was not affected by the lateral hazard stake marker. But very likely his ball will hit the stake marker. He asked his caddie to remove the stake. Is this allowed? Thanks.

Definition "Stakes used to define the margin of or identify a lateral water hazard are obstructions."

Unless there is a local rule stating otherwise hazard stakes (movable obstruction) can be removed even if the ball is in hazard. OB stakes can not be removed.

If the stake is not movable, then no free relief if the ball is in hazard.

  • Upvote 1

Posted
Originally Posted by Sang Buaya

Recently, at a tournament, my fellow competitor's 2nd shot landed in the hazard but playable. His stance and swing was not affected by the lateral hazard stake marker. But very likely his ball will hit the stake marker. He asked his caddie to remove the stake. Is this allowed? Thanks.

If it's a typical water hazard stake, then yes it is a movable obstruction.  Use care to ensure that it gets replaced properly.  In a case like yours, I would lay it down with the pointed end right at the spot it was pulled from.  That way it's easy to put it back in exactly the same location.  It can get really bad when someone just pulls the stake and tosses to off to the side, then just guesses where it was, or worse, he either forgets or just doesn't bother to replace it.  Then someone a few players later sees it, and being helpful he sticks it back in the ground right where it's lying, effectively moving the hazard margin as much as several feet..

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

A stake is a movable obstruction only if it may be moved without unreasonable effort, without unduly delaying play and without causing damage.

Unless, as said above, it is deemed an immovable obstruction by local rule.


Posted

So are we saying that a movable obstruction can be moved at any time, even if it is not interfering with your stance or swing?

Bill


Posted

That is correct with one exception.

It may not be moved if the ball is in motion and its removal may influence the movement of the ball.

There is an exception to the exception. Equipment of the player or the flagstick may be moved if the ball is moving.


Posted
Originally Posted by luu5

If the stake is not movable, then no free relief if the ball is in hazard.

Originally Posted by Rulesman

A stake is a movable obstruction only if it may be moved without unreasonable effort, without unduly delaying play and without causing damage.

You guys made me think of a slightly different, but related scenario.

What if your ball comes to rest behind one of those aiming sticks a lot of courses put in the fairways nowadays and it happens to be wedged in such that you can't remove it?

I presume you would get a free drop from that one, no?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by Golfingdad

Quote:

Originally Posted by luu5

If the stake is not movable, then no free relief if the ball is in hazard.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rulesman

A stake is a movable obstruction only if it may be moved without unreasonable effort, without unduly delaying play and without causing damage.

You guys made me think of a slightly different, but related scenario.

What if your ball comes to rest behind one of those aiming sticks a lot of courses put in the fairways nowadays and it happens to be wedged in such that you can't remove it?

I presume you would get a free drop from that one, no?

Yes. I had an interesting scenario early in my golf career where I assumed such a stick was immovable and took a drop. Found out later that it was movable. Since I didn't do my due diligence in determining that, it was an illegal drop.  Here's the thread on it if anyone's interested: http://thesandtrap.com/t/12039/rules-question-re-movable-obstruction

Bill


Posted
Originally Posted by sacm3bill

So are we saying that a movable obstruction can be moved at any time, even if it is not interfering with your stance or swing?

Setting aside any local rules that may apply....... and with the exception previously noted,  MO's can be moved anytime.  Does not make a difference if they are in the way or not.  You can even move one for the simple fact that you  you don't like looking at it.

Also, no restrictions on where they are.  Bunker, water hazard, through the green, tee, green......you can even move a MO that's sitting out of bounds.  No restrictions.

The rules governing Immovable Obstructions are more "complicated".  One of the reasons for this is because now you have the ability to move you golf ball to a new position.......so the rules are a little more "involved".

One note on tee markers, tee markers on the tee that you are using are considered "fixed" and not movable obstructions until the player plays his first stroke.  Then they become MO's.  Tee markers on tees not being used are MO"s regardless.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4794 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.