• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
joekelly

Danger stones in hazard

12 posts in this topic

I know that if i am in a sandy bunker and my ball is up against or near some stones i am permitted to remove the stones so to remove any danger to self or others when the shot is played.

Last week my ball landed in a dry lake bed, full of stones. Sure it was marked as a water hazard but no water. I also know that touching any stuff in the hazard prior to my downswing, except growing things, is taboo. But now i feel that the rules may be in conflict between these 2 hazards. I did want to remove the stones from the ball area and play a nice shot without damaging my club or shooting a stone out towards my fellow competitor. I did not touch anything and no club damage but what are my 'rights' under these conditions?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Although bunkers and water hazards are Hazards the rules are significantly different.

Removing stones from a bunker is only permitted if there is a Local Rule allowing it. This Local Rule is not applicable to water hazards. Further, there are many courses around the world where the LR is not in force.

There are a number of other differences.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, unless it's specifically posted somewhere, stones in a bunker are just another loose impediment, and treated no differently than a leaf or a branch.  I think I've only played one course which had the local rule in effect allowing you to move them for safety reasons.  In a water hazard that local rule doesn't apply.  Play the shot or take the penalty and drop outside of the hazard.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The use of the LR is more prevelant in the UK than in the US.

In so many courses in the UK (particularly links courses) the sand is the naturally occuring subsoil and is therefore likely to contain many stones. Even many non-links courses import their sand from natural sources.

In the US much of the sand is proceseed/refined/screened at the quarry before being transported to golf courses and therefore there should be little chance of finding stones.

The reason it is an optional local rule is that the USGA didn't agree with the R&A; that it should be a 'fully fledged' rule as thery couldn't see the need so they compromised.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When in doubt, take the stroke penalty and save your wrists.  One stroke is not worth missing a bunch of golf.  I do this when my ball comes to rest against rock or tree roots, etc.  In New England, there is a ton of granite.  You will often find it exposed off the fairway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I know that if i am in a sandy bunker and my ball is up against or near some stones i am permitted to remove the stones so to remove any danger to self or others when the shot is played.

Just re-clarifying for the original poster that this is not part of the Rules of golf, and such "relief" is not permitted unless the Committee in charge of the course or competition has implemented the required local Rule for that course/competition.  Touching/removing stones in a bunker when the local Rule is not in place is a breach of Rule 13-4 and the player incurs a penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I played once at a course that had a local rule regarding the bunkers that said:  "Any concrete chips in the bunkers are not loose impediments and may be removed".  I noticed the first time I was in one of them that there were little chunks of white concrete hidden in the sand.  I asked about it after the round and he said they had gotten a horrible delivery of sand and noticed they were in there.  Luckily they were small enough not to cause any damage, but it sure did make a mess of the sandwedge when you hit one of them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And just to remind, you do not always have to hit a full shot if in this type of situation...
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

First, your wrong about moving the stones in a hazard, unless it's a local rule.  You cannot move any loose impediments in a hazard, unless foreign to the hazard.  Most local rules allow for a free drop to avoid damage or injury, with varying exceptions (protected trees, power boxes, etc.); and as long as you do not advance the ball or leave the hazard area.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Keep in mind for the water hazard that most courses allow for free relief from a dry bed as long as you remain in the hazard boundary.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by stangmark

First, your wrong about moving the stones in a hazard, unless it's a local rule.  You cannot move any loose impediments in a hazard, unless foreign to the hazard.  Most local rules allow for a free drop to avoid damage or injury, with varying exceptions (protected trees, power boxes, etc.); and as long as you do not advance the ball or leave the hazard area.

NO!

You may not move stones or any other Loose Impediment in any Water Hazard. A Local Rule purporting to allow this is not permitted.

You may move them in a bunker if there is a Local Rule.

Being foreign to a haxard (od any type is irrelevant)

Local Rules cannot allow for a free drop from a Loose Impediment.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by stangmark

Keep in mind for the water hazard that most courses allow for free relief from a dry bed as long as you remain in the hazard boundary.

Clubs don't have any say in the matter.

The Rules specifically allow you to play a ball from a Water Hazard whether it is dry or not. The ball may not be touched or moved and your club may not be grounded.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • This is the interesting question.  If he hadn't been drinking, there should be no reason to refuse the breathalyzer.   Surely he's not stupid enough to tell a boldfaced lie in his statement that will easily be refuted.
    • Number one, I had no idea there was a free rules of golf app. Do you have to be a member of the USGA? Because i'm Canadian, and Golf Canada doesn't give us free anything besides a crappy quarterly magazine. I didn't have a current rules book with me, as I was forced out of the game for almost 3 years due to a workplace injury. I encountered a situation that had never happened to me before and asked a simple question. 
    • Hmm, where have I heard that a DUI arrest is a medical issue before? Oh yeah, when his agent was arrested for DUI: http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/tiger-woods-agent-mark-steinberg-arrested-drunken-driving-charges Color me skeptical. Not that it really matters. A DUI for an "unexpected reaction" to medication, which probably has a warning on it not to drive when taking it, is just as serious as a DUI for alcohol. If he's going through personal issues, I hope he sorts through them. But he shouldn't get a free pass because alcohol was not involved.
    • I figured it was meds, and while it still bothers me, i'm not as dissapointed as I was when I thought it was alcohol, just because I know how meds can affect you without even realizing it. I went through third degree burns to my left leg, and I did the same thing as him (though I wasn't caught or charged) for a few days thinking I was fine, before once becoming suddenly very tired at the wheel, I mean nodding off like a heroin addict. I had to pull into a parking lot and call some friends to come pick up me and my truck. I didn't drive again until I was off the meds. But it was a reaction I wasn't expecting. I had been tired throughout the ordeal after my surgeries, but I thought it was just my body telling me I needed rest. I had no experience with pain meds, or the anti-anxiety (Clonazepam or some such drug) meds they gave me after my workplace accident, and didn't know how they were affecting me.    I'm not defending Tiger, just like i'm not defending what I did. Had I been caught, I would have rightly been charged, just like Tiger.    And if you think driving at 3am post-surgery when you've slept most of the day and can't sleep at night is something out of the ordinary, I don't know what to tell you. I still go for a drive in the middle of the night when I can't sleep sometimes.  And in Tigers case, he is apparently also a known insomniac. 
    • Uhhhh…? You can have a different reaction weeks into a set drug regimen. Plenty of other factors can change. Dosage. Lack of sleep. Diet. The specific times you take things. I don't much care either way (he should not drive impaired - that puts others in danger) as it's off-course stuff, but I still like facts and dislike speculation.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. kuyarey
      kuyarey
      (36 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon