IGNORED

Question about golf club length

tpcollins
Note: This thread is 3995 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Newbie here - I'm puzzled about why irons with graphite shafts average a 1/2" longer each than steel shafted shafts, other than to gain distance. I would assume the manufactures use the same "head" with the same lie for each. Technically with a graphite shafted iron, one would have to stand further from the ball with the toe up versus an steel shafted shaft where you would stand closer with the toe pointed lower.

I seem to hit my irons better when choking down on the grip allowing me to stand closer to the ball. I'm 5'9" with a 33 1/2" wrist to floor measurement and saw a chart where my clubs should be a 1/4" shorter than "normal". I have a reasonable swing but sometimes I get too much "arm and club" between me and the ball and hit a lot of fat shots. I play Cobra S9 irons with R graphite shafts and when I do hit them, I'm a 1/2 club longer than any other set that I've had.

I'm about ready to regrip the irons and was wondering how much damage I would do if I trim the shafts about a 1/2" each? I can live with a shorter distance for my irons if I can hit them cleaner every time. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Balance/swingweight

Ping G400 Max 9/TPT Shaft, TEE EX10 Beta 4, 5 wd, PXG 22 HY, Mizuno JPX919F 5-GW, TItleist SM7 Raw 55-09, 59-11, Bettinardi BB39

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Mr. Desmond

Balance/swingweight

Was on the mobile app above, let's go further.

It depends on the weight/balance of the graphite shaft. If they are similar to the stock steel shaft (unlikely) and/or the weight/balance is towards the tip, the length may be/can be the same.