• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
rkim291968

Your unpracticed shot story ... and tips on how.

13 posts in this topic

All the golf gods say don't hit a shot you didn't practice.   It makes absolute sense as I seem to screw up vast majority of unpracticed shots I try.   But I can't help to get into situations where I am forced to hit a "never" practiced shot.   E.g, yesterday, one of my shots ended up on car path near green (about 20 yards from hole).   From there, it is a steep drop to green and no place to drop the ball.   So, for the first time ever, I hit a ball off asphalt. Sure enough, the ball sails past the hole and ends up being a 40 feet downhill putt.   I ended up 3 putting it.   I don't think I will run into this situation again but just in case I do, does anyone have tips on hot to hit off of asphalt (not a smooth concrete, this was black pavement we see on street).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

I had one of these yesterday.  I was in thick grass about 20 yards from the green, and all of that 20 yards was also thick grass.  There was a tree right on my line to the pin with an overhanging branch that prevented me from hitting a pitch shot.  So I decided to close down my sand wedge and try to hit a low shot hard, with the hope that it would get through the heavy grass which would slow it up enough to stay on the green.  I aimed a couple of yards right of the pin.  I would have taken anywhere on the green from this position.

As it turns out, through sheer luck, I hit it just the right amount of hard and the ball stopped pin high about 6 feet above the hole.

It would have made a much better story if I had proceeded to sink the putt for a miraculous up and down . . . but alas.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by turtleback

I had one of these yesterday.  I was in thick grass about 20 yards from the green, and all of that 20 yards was also thick grass.  There was a tree right on my line to the pin with an overhanging branch that prevented me from hitting a pitch shot.  So I decided to close down my sand wedge and try to hit a low shot hard, with the hope that it would get through the heavy grass which would slow it up enough to stay on the green.  I aimed a couple of yards right of the pin.  I would have taken anywhere on the green from this position.

As it turns out, through sheer luck, I hit it just the right amount of hard and the ball stopped pin high about 6 feet above the hole.

It would have made a much better story if I had proceeded to sink the putt for a miraculous up and down . . . but alas.


I practiced this shot just b/c my range practice facility has chipping green that I can simulate this.  Most of my balls get stuck on short rough or goes over hole by 10 feet.     You did well, sheer luck or not.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

As one who fairly regularly whacks the ball all over the golf course, and rarely saw a shot I didn't think I could hit, I've had a lot of them. For some reason that I will never know my results on those shots are better than anyone could ever expect.

The best two that I've ever had:

I hooked the daylights out of my tee shot leaving me with 175 yards to the pin with oak trees as tall as any in Alabama in the way and starting at about 70 yards in front of me. I knew that my best chance of clearing the trees was a very hard SW but no chance at that trajectory I was going to come anywhere near the green with that short a club. I decided to hit a 5 iron with my stance wide open and the club face even more wide open and swing as hard as I could possibly swing. Not only pulled off the shot better than expected but it left me with only a 3 foot birdie putt (which I made).

The other didn't actually count because it was only a practice shot (just to see if it could be done). I hit the ball in the water next to our island green and it was close to a foot under water but close enough to the edge to have a chance to (maybe) hit the ball. I told my son I was going to try to hit the shot and he told me it was impossible and that I was completely nuts and that I should just take a drop.

I decided he was right and took the drop and played out the hole (our last hole). When I got done I simply couldn't resist the urge to try the shot. As he looked at me shaking his head I got down on one knee, closed the club face on my SW, took a very vertical back swing and tried to slice straight down behind the ball with every ounce of strength. The ball came out of the water and right onto the green. I just wish I had done it to begin with, like I wanted. Just taking a guess I would say that the chances of hitting that shot successfully ever again are next to none (a totally wasted miracle).

Trying to pull off the ridiculous shot is more fun to me than any other part of the game. When I am practicing I throw the ball into every 'impossible" place and hit the shot from there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by MS256

As one who fairly regularly whacks the ball all over the golf course, and rarely saw a shot I didn't think I could hit, I've had a lot of them. For some reason that I will never know my results on those shots are better than anyone could ever expect.

Me, too, except for the last part ("results on those shots are better than anyone could ever expect").   Some shots, I don't need to practice b/c I am faced with it almost every round (like hitting low with 4 iron to avoid tree problem).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Probably my favorite shot I ever hit was a unique flop shot during a semi-competitive round ($5 nassau). I was playing with some teammates when I hit a ball left of the green, with a tucked left pin on a downslope away from me. I have about 20 yards to the edge of the green, then another two after that. One of my teammates had accidentally placed his bag on the fringe in line with me and the pin (laying flat). I hit the flop and landed it on his bag, which killed its momentum and left me with about a 4 foot par putt. The best part was the confusion on his face as he rushed to move his bag with my ball in the air and I told him to leave it. He was just sort of standing there dumbfounded.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I never practice........I just play golf.  usually... A LOT.

When faced with a unique scrambling challenge, I weigh the probably of success playing the hero-shot and the penalty for failure.  Then I consider a more conservative play......

Generally speaking, I'll opt for the shot to get on the green with a chance to make a putt.  I take double-B out of play unless it's a match play situation.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by BuckeyeNut

I never practice........I just play golf.  usually... A LOT.

When faced with a unique scrambling challenge, I weigh the probably of success playing the hero-shot and the penalty for failure.  Then I consider a more conservative play......

Generally speaking, I'll opt for the shot to get on the green with a chance to make a putt.  I take double-B out of play unless it's a match play situation.

I generally agree.  My course management "bible" is Ray Floyd's book The Art of Scoring, and one of his tenets is when you find yourself in trouble make sure you aren't in trouble on your next shot.  I generally try to "hero" shot, such as the one I described above, ONLY when there IS no really safe conservative play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Probably my favorite shot I ever hit was a unique flop shot during a semi-competitive round ($5 nassau). I was playing with some teammates when I hit a ball left of the green, with a tucked left pin on a downslope away from me. I have about 20 yards to the edge of the green, then another two after that. One of my teammates had accidentally placed his bag on the fringe in line with me and the pin (laying flat). I hit the flop and landed it on his bag, which killed its momentum and left me with about a 4 foot par putt. The best part was the confusion on his face as he rushed to move his bag with my ball in the air and I told him to leave it. He was just sort of standing there dumbfounded.

If I'm not mistaken, I think you should have been penalized for this shot. It's still a great shot, but if memory serves me right it's one stroke penalty for hitting another players equipment. Or if they feel that you did it intentionally, I think it's a two stroke penalty... I'm just trying to recall this from my high school golf days. I may be off on the severity of the penalty, but I'm pretty sure there is one.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I never practice........I just play golf.  usually... A LOT.

When faced with a unique scrambling challenge, I weigh the probably of success playing the hero-shot and the penalty for failure.  Then I consider a more conservative play......

Generally speaking, I'll opt for the shot to get on the green with a chance to make a putt.  I take double-B out of play unless it's a match play situation.

Cosign

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I'm not mistaken, I think you should have been penalized for this shot. It's still a great shot, but if memory serves me right it's one stroke penalty for hitting another players equipment. Or if they feel that you did it intentionally, I think it's a two stroke penalty... I'm just trying to recall this from my high school golf days. I may be off on the severity of the penalty, but I'm pretty sure there is one.

It depends what he means by teammate.  If he just means he was playing with some guys that are on his golf team, but in the context of the round the one whose equipment he hit was not his partner, then there is no penalty.  But if the equipment he hit was the equipment of his partner, then you would be correct, one stroke penalty.

The relevant rules are Rule 19-2 and Rule 19-4 and, if playing match play, Rule 19-3.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It depends what he means by teammate.  If he just means he was playing with some guys that are on his golf team, but in the context of the round the one whose equipment he hit was not his partner, then there is no penalty.  But if the equipment he hit was the equipment of his partner, then you would be correct, one stroke penalty.

The relevant rules are Rule 19-2 and Rule 19-4 and, if playing match play, Rule 19-3.

Thanks, I appreciate you clearing that up. I knew there was some rule on this, just couldn't remember the exact penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, I appreciate you clearing that up. I knew there was some rule on this, just couldn't remember the exact penalty.

You're welcome.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • There are several statements that I disagree with which I feel are important to discuss: All golf balls do not go about the same distance.  A low compression, 2-piece Surlyn covered model will launch higher and with less spin than a 5-piece, high compression urethane covered model which will result in a noticeable difference in distance off the tee.  Dean even stated in another answer "The soft golf ball market has taken off due to the lower spinning balls means players can be longer in distance." Regarding balls for different swing speeds and compression:  3) Bridgestone (and I think Callaway) has come out with tour caliber balls for players who swing under 105mph. Is it possible to design a tour caliber ball for a specific segment of swing speed or is this just mostly a marketing thing?  DEAN: The whole swing speed story to me is one of the most over-rated stories in golf. Companies force or teach golfers to play low compression balls so their low swing speed can compress the ball. The problem with this is that low compression balls have the lowest spin in all shots, so they are pushing players to play a ball with no performance at all… and when you need that spin around the green, it's not there…            I almost don't know where to start on this one.  The concept of designing golf balls based on swing speeds doesn't teach or force players to use a low compression ball...it's about using a ball that has the appropriate compression for your swing speed.  Some players will have better results with a higher compression ball, others will have better results with a lower compression.  Keep in mind, there is a difference between "lower compression" and "low compression".  Most of the urethane tour balls have a compression rating somewhere between the mid 70s to mid 90s.  Tour models like the Chrome Soft, B330-RX and B330-RXS are in the mid 60s, which is lower.  Balls like the Supersoft and e6 are in the upper 30s and 40s, which is considered low.  Dean's statement that "low compression balls have the lowest spin on all shots" is somewhere between a little misleading and flat-out wrong.  It's true that a lower compression ball will spin less (and launch higher) than a firmer ball on full shots.  But on short game shots around the green, the ball is not compressed.  On pitch shots, chip shots, and greenside bunker shots for example,    the only part of the ball that is being activated is the cover. Notice on this chart that the lowest compression ball is very close to the highest spinning, and the lowest spinning ball has almost the same compression rating!  The point is, compression has little to no affect on short game shots...the cover is the main factor.  All 4 of these models have a urethane cover, but the two that provide the most spin have softer covers.  To put this in context, the chart below was a test Golf Digest did in 2015 which shows the performance on a partial wedge shot (I think it was 40 yds) with most of the balls on the market at the time The different colors represented the price point.  These results don't match the first chart I posted exactly which can happen when player testing (this one shows the B330 has higher spin than the RXS). Is there a difference between the lower spinning "red dots" and the highest spinning?  Sure.  There should be though.  Golf balls are designed to have different types of performance for different types of players.  The B330-RX has the lowest spin among the red dot models, but that doesn't mean it's lacking in performance...it spins exactly how the ball designers intended it to, because not everyone wants/needs maximum spin.  Notice the e7...this is a high compression ball very comparable to the B330, but has very different spin characteristics. So again, higher compression doesn't mean higher spin around the green and lower compression doesn't necessarily mean low spin.  About the only thing that I could agree with Dean's comment on would be that all the ultra-low compression balls are Surlyn covered models designed for distance, so it's true that these balls have low spin on all shots and will not offer the same level of performance around the greens, but again, that has more to do with the cover than the compression.  The fact is, there are lower compression balls that perform at the highest level. The B330-RXS is the same type of ball as the Pro V1 in many respects, and performs just as well as, or even better for many players, so I'm surprised by his comments that fitting for swing speed is over-rated and lower compression balls have no performance.  That's like saying getting fit for the correct shaft flex is over-rated, and softer flex shafts don't perform as well as stiffer shafts!  Does anyone consider the Dynamic Gold S-300 to be a lower performing shaft than the Dynamic Gold X-100?  No, of course not. They are designed to do the same thing, but because some players don't swing as fast as others the softer flex will give them better results, just like the B330-RXS is the equal to the B330-S, but will fit players who don't swing as hard better. I'm also not on-board with the opinion that fitting with a driver is a "mistake" and when testing to choose a ball based on 100 yds and in.  I'm not saying that short game performance isn't important, but wow...to claim that testing with a driver is a mistake is ridiculous.  I'll make a simple point on this...anyone can hit good wedge shots with a Pro V1 or B330 or Z-Star.  Fast swingers, slower swingers, high handicappers, low handicappers...it doesn't matter, they can all get good results on wedge shots.  Does that mean that's the ball they should play, and it will work equally as well for the other aspects too?  No.  A wedge can mask any issues in performance because of the loft and backspin, but the driver exaggerates issues.  The same players who hit respectable wedge shots with various tour balls might struggle to keep shots in play or lose potential distance. And before anyone tries to use the old "the driver is used 14 times a round, but half of the shots are inside of 100 yds" argument...save it.  If you play a high spin ball and you're struggling to hit the fairway with your tee shots, that ball will not help you save shots around the green.  Too much spin for players who can't control it is worse than a lower spinning model. Sorry Dean...not trying to blast you or anything, just putting in my two cents.  Ok, maybe more like four cents!
    • So......Is this your point @Jack Watson?
    • https://thesandtrap.com/b/clubs/titleist_716_ap1_review My review for the site is above. I've been using them since writing this review. Excellent clubs. One watch out is with short game shots with the PW and GW. They will go a bit farther than a corresponding chip or pitch with the equivalent wedge. The ball feels like it jumps off the face with good contact. So be careful with that.
    • Thanks for all the comments. I realize change is always hard but single length, lie and weight make so much sense to me. I am going to build a set of Value Golf clubs and see what happens. As improve I may go back to normal but who knows.  I think it will be better for learning the overall game. Which in my opinion and observance needs a lot of help. In my other hobbies that required learned skills it was easy to find groups to help you with the skills and drills to improve them. Businesses that the hobby supported held seminars and workshops covering all aspects. Trying to find help, other than paid lessons, is impossible, at least in my area. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Golfgirl10543
      Golfgirl10543
      (43 years old)
    2. jkettman
      jkettman
      (28 years old)
    3. old man1953
      old man1953
      (64 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon