Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Always an 80

The Green Out Of Bounds???

22 posts in this topic

Gotta crazy one here. Friend of mine playing PGA event. He hits to the back of the green. No problem right? Wrong!! He gets called out of bounds if you can believe it. They set the boundaries up not quite right you see. He was shown that as things lined up that his ball was in fact out of bounds! Yes on the green!! Anyone here ever witness this type of insanity?? He was speechless to say the least.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Was he playing at MeFree's course? Just kidding, but your scenario makes no sense at all.  Where was this PGA tournament held, where hitting the green is OB?

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was he playing at MeFree's course? Just kidding, but your scenario makes no sense at all.  Where was this PGA tournament held, where hitting the green is OB?

Not that the State makes any difference but happened in upstate Indiana. The ruling was that markings had to be complied with even if seemingly wrong and that the rules would be the same for everyone. When word got out I bet everybody started playing a bump and run. Lol

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gotta crazy one here. Friend of mine playing PGA event. He hits to the back of the green. No problem right? Wrong!! He gets called out of bounds if you can believe it. They set the boundaries up not quite right you see. He was shown that as things lined up that his ball was in fact out of bounds! Yes on the green!! Anyone here ever witness this type of insanity?? He was speechless to say the least.

An actual PGA Tour event? Which one? I'm struggling to believe this.....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'd have invoked 3-3 if I couldn't get a ruling in a reasonable time frame.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

And yes you are most certainly correct. It made no sense at all. Some Moron just so happened to dissect the green when setting things up and no one caught it before tournament play began.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not that the State makes any difference but happened in upstate Indiana. The ruling was that markings had to be complied with even if seemingly wrong and that the rules would be the same for everyone.

When word got out I bet everybody started playing a bump and run. Lol

What course and what hole?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can call him and ask for the particulars. He may not want to mention anything specific though so as to not stir anything up. He has however given up his standing and has been out of tour play for several years. All I can do is ask him about it. No promises. I am sure he is telling the truth tho. He could not believe the situation either!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He said the official lined him up with the boundaries and showed him how his ball was just out of bounds as it sat on the back of the green. He States he was ready to simply quit then and there. He was totally disgusted with the BS as he put it.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can call him and ask for the particulars. He may not want to mention anything specific though so as to not stir anything up. He has however given up his standing and has been out of tour play for several years. All I can do is ask him about it. No promises. I am sure he is telling the truth tho. He could not believe the situation either!

Can't imagine what would be "stirred up" by mentioning where this supposed fiasco happened. Knowing how carefully PGA events are set up, it seems unlikely that this happened as you said.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can't imagine what would be "stirred up" by mentioning where this supposed fiasco happened. Knowing how carefully PGA events are set up, it seems unlikely that this happened as you said.

Crazy stuff happens every day. Especially where egos are involved. Ive seen many instances where people in an officiating position would simply not admit to a misjudgement or mistake at any cost. I know it sounds wild. I am sure it was a minor tournament. Not much important goes on in Indiana if you think about it. Lol. He is a great golfer by normal standards and has a great deal of integrity. I am sure that this bizarre incident occurred. Small tourney back in the 80s ? Yeah I can see it happening. Out of the way tournament in out of the way place. I believe him. I was just wondering if you guys ever heard of something this crazy before.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What boundaries? Stakes? Those can go missing.

If I remember correctly he did say boundaries were marked with stakes. Good point. Thanks for jogging my memory.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

Originally Posted by Harmonious

Was he playing at MeFree's course? Just kidding, but your scenario makes no sense at all.  Where was this PGA tournament held, where hitting the green is OB?

Not that the State makes any difference but happened in upstate Indiana. The ruling was that markings had to be complied with even if seemingly wrong and that the rules would be the same for everyone.

When word got out I bet everybody started playing a bump and run. Lol

This is a joke, right?  Just like your goose poop thread.  No committee in a sanctioned tournament would make such a stupid ruling.  They would look at the out of bounds marking and then remark it correctly without doing something as stupid as penalizing a player and then not repairing the mistake.  Either this is just bull$&!# or this was the stupidest tournament committee on the planet.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It could be that a greenkeeper tasked with placing the stakes didn't understand the straight line concept.

Or the stakes were placed the day before and overnight one went missing.

More likely the former.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It could be that a greenkeeper tasked with placing the stakes didn't understand the straight line concept.

Or the stakes were placed the day before and overnight one went missing.

More likely the former.

But do you agree with me that the moment it was discovered, the error should have been corrected rather that penalizing a player for such an obvious screw up?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

But do you agree with me that the moment it was discovered, the error should have been corrected rather that penalizing a player for such an obvious screw up?

Yes. Now if another player had come thru earlier and played it as OB, not likely, it gets a little more ugly. Could any of this really happen?? A PGA event??

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

But do you agree with me that the moment it was discovered, the error should have been corrected rather that penalizing a player for such an obvious screw up?

Yes.

Now if another player had come thru earlier and played it as OB, not likely, it gets a little more ugly. Could any of this really happen?? A PGA event??

I would think that the first person confronted with the possibility of being out of bounds on the green would have protested it, so I don't see your concern as likely to be valid.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • I am a Spurs supporter (England football team) and have a stamp with a cockerel on it. It's clean and it does the job. I think it looks really tacky when someone scribbles on a golf ball 
    • With the exception of club championship, most of the events I play in are essentially open to any amateurs who want to play.  You may have to do a little searching, but I'm guessing there are similar opportunities in your region.     
    • Nice pics! I can tell you're good at what you do.  From the pics, they remind me of Ping Ansers
    • Coast to Coast AM, Dan LeBatard Show, Generous Orthodoxy with Malcolm Gladwell, Freakonomics Radio, TED Radio Hour, and Wait Wait Don't Tell Me.
    • Putting practice is very different from one player (and especially skill level to the next).   here are my impressions.   it is true that 30-50% of all shots are from the green.  but, you can't really look at it that way, because even on a good putting day, half of those are inevitable.  If you two putt every single green in regulation, I doubt you're gonna be too down on yourself.  so really, the strokes you are adding or subtracting from your card are the number of 3-putts and 1-putts.   For your average golfer, there are really just two things you need to accomplish to putt well.   Making every putt under 6 feet.  and putting every putt outside that 6-foot circle to within the circle.   1) making every putt within 6 feet this is really just about repetition.  and it really doesn't matter where you are getting your reps.  I have an 8 ft putting mat in my living room.  If I spend an hour just hitting balls on this over, and over, and, over, I notice is great deal of improvement in making my 5 footers.  I know it sounds simple, but just learning how to repeatedly hit the ball straight and having the confidence standing over the ball to hit it straight makes a huge difference.   note: I assume as you get better and better at golf (and putting), this method of practice will have less and less of a positive impact.  This really only helps you become confident in your putting stroke, once you've got that down, you've got bigger fish to fry.   2) hitting everything outside that 6 foot circle to within 6 feet.   This one is a bit trickier.  I think the best practice for this one is to get to a practice green and putt from many different distances.  and changing it up very frequently (as opposed to putting many balls from one distance and then moving).  This one is all about feel.  and feel only comes with practice.     If you can get really good at these two simple skills, you can certainly become a passable putter.   Now the next step is raising your conversion rate on 10-15 foot putts.   I think this step takes a lot more work and a much better understanding of how to read a green as well as being a lot more precise with your pace.   If I ever figure this stuff out, I'll do my best to share.               
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. OR Cat
      OR Cat
      (55 years old)
  • Blog Entries