IGNORED

Realistic goals??

thiagowoods
Note: This thread is 3838 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi, I'm new to golf, I'm 26, I played a little while in school but never seriously, and recently started playing properly I have the bug and have been putting serious time into the game I've joined a private course and been given a handicap of 20.0. I have friends who play single figure handicaps, I've been playing less than 3 months and my best score has been +15 I've scored this twice and I've had 3 birdies in a single round and 8 pars in a separate single round, I can par all the SI 1 holes on the courses I've played and I've set a goal of 15.0 by the end of the year and 5 or better by the end of next year. Are my goals realistic and how high can I set my goals at my age without any serious history in golf can I become a scratch golfer and maybe turn pro or is this a myth that most new players get carries away with? Replies appreciated.

Keep it up, you can easily go pro in a couple of months - maybe even force tiger to retire

Follow me on twitter

Chris, although my friends call me Mr.L

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

• Administrator
What an idiot you are.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets