Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
nutmeghacker

Practice in Stroke Play

11 posts in this topic

My local course hosts a two day stroke play tournament which garners quite a field.  Is it permissible to "redo" a missed putt once you've holed out?  I did this and one the members of the group took exception to it.  It was my understanding of 7-2 that it's OK as long as it's not prohibited by a local rule or delays play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

My local course hosts a two day stroke play tournament which garners quite a field.  Is it permissible to "redo" a missed putt once you've holed out?  I did this and one the members of the group took exception to it.  It was my understanding of 7-2 that it's OK as long as it's not prohibited by a local rule or delays play.

You are correct.  If the local rule is not in play, then practicing putting or chipping on the green just finished or on the tee is allowed.  You can quote Rule 7-2:

7-2. During Round

A player must not make a practice stroke during play of a hole.

Between the play of two holes a player must not make a practice stroke, except that he may practice putting or chipping on or near:

a. the putting green of the hole last played,

b. any practice putting green, or

c. the teeing ground of the next hole to be played in the round, provided a practice stroke is not made from a hazard and does not unduly delay play (Rule 6-7).

Strokes made in continuing the play of a hole, the result of which has been decided, are not practice strokes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

My local course hosts a two day stroke play tournament which garners quite a field.  Is it permissible to "redo" a missed putt once you've holed out?  I did this and one the members of the group took exception to it.  It was my understanding of 7-2 that it's OK as long as it's not prohibited by a local rule or delays play.

Armed with the concept that "If the Rules don't say you can't, then you can," you could fish the Rules book out of your bag and ask, politely, "Could you please show me that Rule."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My local course hosts a two day stroke play tournament which garners quite a field.  Is it permissible to "redo" a missed putt once you've holed out?  I did this and one the members of the group took exception to it.  It was my understanding of 7-2 that it's OK as long as it's not prohibited by a local rule or delays play.

Armed with the concept that "If the Rules don't say you can't, then you can," you could fish the Rules book out of your bag and ask, politely, "Could you please show me that Rule."

I'm curious, did anyone have a rule book?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

A lot of people are confused because the PGA tour plays with this local rule during stroke play tournaments..

They watch tv and never see the players putt again after a miss, but they see it during match play on TV, so they think that's the rule.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm curious, did anyone have a rule book?

Absolutely and it is in my bag all the time.  But, I play in a lot of tournaments each year so it is good to have one for cases just as the one being discussed in this thread.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did not realise this rule until pointed out by this thread. I know tried it once and got a bit of a slap on the wrists by an old member i was playing with. I wonder how well known it is that you can practice on the previous holes green?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

While permitted by the Rules, one must be cautious.  Our City Championships use a Condition of Competition for the events that prohibits practice putting or chipping around the green of the last hole played.  My feeling is this condition is used fairly frequently in amateur events (pace of play issue).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

While permitted by the Rules, one must be cautious.  Our City Championships use a Condition of Competition for the events that prohibits practice putting or chipping around the green of the last hole played.  My feeling is this condition is used fairly frequently in amateur events (pace of play issue).

It is more common in pro events. Usually only in amateur events where the organisers are wanabe big event organisers.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did not realise this rule until pointed out by this thread. I know tried it once and got a bit of a slap on the wrists by an old member i was playing with. I wonder how well known it is that you can practice on the previous holes green?

Yeah ... I didn't realize this either.  It made me curious so I went and looked at the Hard Card for the tournaments I play in, and sure enough, they try and copy the pros on this one:

http://thegolfchannel.bluegolf.com/bluegolf/thegolfchannel14/event/thegolfchannel14322/agenda.htm?agenda=0acda4ed-0171-49e2-ac03-f03d888ab276

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It is more common in pro events. Usually only in amateur events where the organisers are wanabe big event organisers.

We have that only on the highest national level tour.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0