• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Valleygolfer

Rule question....15th club....maybe this has been covered...

17 posts in this topic

I was playing yesterday and on the 8th green someone had left a wedge by green. My partner and I had been playing and there had not been anyone in front of us for quite a while so I decided to pick it up and drop it off after the round was over. I was walking the course and using my microcart. I put the club by the umbrella and went on my round.

I thought about this later: Do I get dinged the 4 stroke penalty for having a 15th club? Or since it was deemed unusable, possibly no penalty as per 4-4c, but exactly the same...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

4-4a/8

Retrieving Another Player's Lost Club

Q. A player carrying 14 clubs found another player's club on the course. He picked up the lost club, put it in his bag but did not use it, and handed it in at the pro shop when the round was completed. Was the player in breach of Rule 4-4a for carrying 15 clubs?

A. No.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4-4a/8

Retrieving Another Player's Lost Club

Q.A player carrying 14 clubs found another player's club on the course. He picked up the lost club, put it in his bag but did not use it, and handed it in at the pro shop when the round was completed. Was the player in breach of Rule 4-4afor carrying 15 clubs?

A.No.


Was this in the rule book? Or is it in the "decisions" portion. Thank for the answer. Never mind, I found it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Was this in the rule book? Or is it in the "decisions" portion.

Any time there's a "Q" and an "A" it's a Decision. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Any time there's a "Q" and an "A" it's a Decision. :)


I never used the decision portion until now...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Any time there's a "Q" and an "A" it's a Decision. :)

In addition, decisions always contain an oblique stroke ie / . Rules don't

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Big picture: when you start a round with the max of 14 clubs.

It really doesn't matter what gets in your bag.  As long as you continue to just use the clubs you started with , you are fine.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Big picture:   when you start a round with the max of 14 clubs.

It really doesn't matter what gets in your bag.  As long as you continue to just use the clubs you started with, you are fine.

This is an unclear section of the rules.

4-4a/1

When Club Is Considered Added

Q. A player who started the stipulated round with 14 clubs is putting poorly. Between the play of two holes and without unduly delaying play, the player takes the putter out of his bag and replaces it with another putter that was in his locker. Before he makes a stroke with any club, the player is advised that he is not permitted to add or replace a club. Accordingly, he replaces the second putter with his original putter, leaves the second putter at the clubhouse and continues play. Does he incur a penalty?

A. No. Although the player was not entitled to add or replace a club, he is not considered to be in breach of Rule 4-4a until he makes a stroke with any club while the added putter is in his possession.

The answer would be the same for a player who starts the stipulated round with fewer than 14 clubs and wants to add clubs to bring the total number to 14. This player may select from several clubs that are brought to him, provided that (1) he does not make a stroke with any club before he chooses a club to add, (2) this process does not unduly delay play (Rule 6-7 ), and (3) none of the clubs he ultimately adds have been selected for play by any other person playing on the course.

I doubt very much that if I start the round with one club (a driver), that I could add and carry 40 clubs with me so long as I only ever hit 14 of them (including the driver I hit off the first tee). I believe that you must make your selection immediately.

(Edit: See below.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Question, If a player starts a round with only 13 clubs in his bag is it legal for him to take an adjustable club and change the settings to and fro as he sees fit throughout the round? Would this be considered a legal 14th club? I just remember Mickelson actually carried 2 drivers for a time and thought if this was something he was comfortable with then why not? I guess the concern would be who would make sure he puts the club back in only those 2 settings only? I guess he could tell an official he will be playing his driver in 2 different lofts today as needed and say the lofts are 8* and 9.5*.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I doubt very much that if I start the round with one club (a driver), that I could add and carry 40 clubs with me so long as I only ever hit 14 of them (including the driver I hit off the first tee). I believe that you must make your selection immediately.

Rule 4-4a clearly forbids that. You are limited to a maximum of 14 clubs when starting your stipulated round regardless whether you use every club or not.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question, If a player starts a round with only 13 clubs in his bag is it legal for him to take an adjustable club and change the settings to and fro as he sees fit throughout the round? Would this be considered a legal 14th club? I just remember Mickelson actually carried 2 drivers for a time and thought if this was something he was comfortable with then why not? I guess the concern would be who would make sure he puts the club back in only those 2 settings only? I guess he could tell an official he will be playing his driver in 2 different lofts today as needed and say the lofts are 8* and 9.5*.

No. See Appendix II, 1, b:

b. Adjustability
All clubs may incorporate features for weight adjustment. Other forms of
adjustability may also be permitted upon evaluation by the R&A.; The following
requirements apply to all permissible methods of adjustment:
(i) the adjustment cannot be readily made;
(ii) all adjustable parts are firmly fixed and there is no reasonable
likelihood of them working loose during a round; and
(iii) all configurations of adjustment conform with the Rules.
During a stipulated round, the playing characteristics of a club must not be
purposely changed by adjustment or by any other means (see Rule 4-2a).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rule 4-4a clearly forbids that. You are limited to a maximum of 14 clubs when starting your stipulated round regardless whether you use every club or not.

I didn't start my round with 14 clubs. I started with 1 (i.e. "fewer than 14").

I doubt very much that if I start the round with one club (a driver), that I could add and carry 40 clubs with me so long as I only ever hit 14 of them (including the driver I hit off the first tee). I believe that you must make your selection immediately.

Now to correct my earlier statement… I misread the relevant part of the Decision, which I'll bold now:

The answer would be the same for a player who starts the stipulated round with fewer than 14 clubs and wants to add clubs to bring the total number to 14. This player may select from several clubs that are brought to him, provided that (1) he does not make a stroke with any club before he chooses a club to add , (2) this process does not unduly delay play (Rule 6-7 ), and (3) none of the clubs he ultimately adds have been selected for play by any other person playing on the course.

I had originally read that as basically "making a stroke with the club he chooses" but it instead clearly says making a stroke with any club. Not just one of the 40 he wants to hit.

So, my earlier statement that it's unclear is inaccurate.

Which leaves me puzzled as to this, again:

Big picture:   when you start a round with the max of 14 clubs.

It really doesn't matter what gets in your bag.  As long as you continue to just use the clubs you started with, you are fine.

I don't believe that's accurate.

If I start with 14 clubs, someone can't bring me more clubs to carry in my bag, because then my opponents would have to keep track of whether I was using the new clubs or not. The Rules allow you to be courteous and to carry a lost club back to the pro shop - I don't believe they allow you to be brought 10 new drivers, forcing your fellow competitors or opponents to keep track of which is which.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rule 4-4a clearly forbids that. You are limited to a maximum of 14 clubs when starting your stipulated round regardless whether you use every club or not.

I think this a closer statement, for example, 1 club in his bag to start a round but 40 clubs available to use if requested until he reached 14 and no longer could add anymore clubs during the round. He would have to go to the club house and retrieve or have a separate entity bring him each club when needed to use them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I didn't start my round with 14 clubs. I started with 1 (i.e. "fewer than 14").

Now to correct my earlier statement… I misread the relevant part of the Decision, which I'll bold now:

The answer would be the same for a player who starts the stipulated round with fewer than 14 clubs and wants to add clubs to bring the total number to 14. This player may select from several clubs that are brought to him, provided that (1) he does not make a stroke with any club before he chooses a club to add, (2) this process does not unduly delay play (Rule 6-7), and (3) none of the clubs he ultimately adds have been selected for play by any other person playing on the course.

I had originally read that as basically "making a stroke with the club he chooses" but it instead clearly says making a stroke with any club. Not just one of the 40 he wants to hit.

So, my earlier statement that it's unclear is inaccurate.

Which leaves me puzzled as to this, again:

I don't believe that's accurate.

If I start with 14 clubs, someone can't bring me more clubs to carry in my bag, because then my opponents would have to keep track of whether I was using the new clubs or not. The Rules allow you to be courteous and to carry a lost club back to the pro shop - I don't believe they allow you to be brought 10 new drivers, forcing your fellow competitors or opponents to keep track of which is which.

Hi Iacas,

Here's my opinion concerning your hypo, the player started with 14 clubs and is limited to the 14 selected.  If the player did not use one of the additional clubs, there would be no breach under R4-4a.  Now if there were any concerns from the player's marker as to whether the player used one of these clubs, the committee would have to decide.  (Questions like, how did you keep the clubs separate?, Why did you ask to carry 10 drivers?)  As far as an opponent in match play, the opponent would first have to make a claim, and then the committee would have to decide.

Looking at the decision you quoted, the player has less than 14 clubs and wishes to add clubs.  The player must select the club(s) he wishes to add and must do so before his next stroke.

As to the OP's original question, the player could find a club on every hole, they could be all the same make and model of clubs he currently has.....they could all be drivers.  As long as he does not use them I don't see a breach under 4-4a.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think this a closer statement, for example, 1 club in his bag to start a round but 40 clubs available to use if requested until he reached 14 and no longer could add anymore clubs during the round. He would have to go to the club house and retrieve or have a separate entity bring him each club when needed to use them.

4-4a/16

Status of Additional Clubs Being Carried for Player and of Person Carrying Them

Q.A player begins his stipulated round with ten clubs carried by his caddie. The player has also asked another person to walk along with the group and carry eight more clubs. During the round, the player intends to add from the clubs carried by the other person. Is such an arrangement permissible?

A.No. As the player intends to add from such clubs during the round, the eight clubs count towards his total. The player is, therefore, in breach of Rule 4-4a for starting the stipulated round with more than 14 clubs. In addition, the other person is acting as a second caddie in breach of Rule 6-4 .

As different acts have resulted in two Rules being breached, multiple penalties would apply (see Principle 5 of Decision 1-4/12 ).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's my opinion concerning your hypo, the player started with 14 clubs and is limited to the 14 selected.  If the player did not use one of the additional clubs, there would be no breach under R4-4a.  Now if there were any concerns from the player's marker as to whether the player used one of these clubs, the committee would have to decide.  (Questions like, how did you keep the clubs separate?, Why did you ask to carry 10 drivers?)  As far as an opponent in match play, the opponent would first have to make a claim, and then the committee would have to decide.

I agree, but I also don't think the committee would be wrong in resolving against the player if there is any doubt at all.

Looking at the decision you quoted, the player has less than 14 clubs and wishes to add clubs.  The player must select the club(s) he wishes to add and must do so before his next stroke.

Yes, I said that already.

As to the OP's original question, the player could find a club on every hole, they could be all the same make and model of clubs he currently has.....they could all be drivers.  As long as he does not use them I don't see a breach under 4-4a.

Of course, but that doesn't happen. Nor does someone bringing ten drivers out to you, so it's all pretty close to moot anyway.

All that said, they could easily clarify or add a Decision that clarifies the issue of a player purposefully carrying extra clubs (not as a favor or a courtesy to someone with a lost club) if it's possible they may cause confusion as to which clubs he's hit.

The Rules are not permanent - they can be clarified and re-shaped. Perhaps in ten years or fifty you won't be allowed to carry extra clubs around so long as you promise not to hit them. After all, you can't use a laser with the slope measuring capabilities, even if you "promise" not to use that feature.

4-4a/16

Status of Additional Clubs Being Carried for Player and of Person Carrying Them

Q.A player begins his stipulated round with ten clubs carried by his caddie. The player has also asked another person to walk along with the group and carry eight more clubs. During the round, the player intends to add from the clubs carried by the other person. Is such an arrangement permissible?

A.No. As the player intends to add from such clubs during the round, the eight clubs count towards his total. The player is, therefore, in breach of Rule 4-4a for starting the stipulated round with more than 14 clubs. In addition, the other person is acting as a second caddie in breach of Rule 6-4.

As different acts have resulted in two Rules being breached, multiple penalties would apply (see Principle 5 of Decision 1-4/12).

[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 false false false EN-CA X-NONE X-NONE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • From this, it actually looks like he gets the club back on plane through impact. This is wild.
    • That's an exaggeration. He's obviously shown that he has the potential to compete but he struggles with consistency month to month. I think everyone who watches golf underestimates just how rare it is to have back to back seasons as the likes of Tiger, Jack, or Arnold- especially in a field as talented as it is in 2016. I'm a huge believer that these past few seasons have been some of the best tour golf ever played in the history of the game, especially when it's looked at in terms of depth. Week to week, it's really anyone's tournament to take, and it hasn't always been like that.
    • Trump paying out the $1M to a wealthy individual is a non-story.  The entire story is a non-story, I haven't seen it mentioned on any of the news channels and beyond a cut and paste no one else is covering it.  If this was something the democrats or liberal media really thought could hurt Trump we'd be hearing about it constantly.  No one cares when rich guys get into a dispute, there's no damage control to be done here. The real reason it's even in the news is because Trump's charity (not his golf course) paid out money to Greenberg's charity and it was a potential inappropriate use of the charity funds.  
      I'm guessing those that voted Trump should pay are basing this off their general dislike for Trump or his platform as a POTUS candidate.  Anyone who read the facts and didn't have a bias against Trump would conclude paying off Greenberg was not Trump's responsibility.  
    • Genetics definitely play a role, but not as much as people think. If you have a 6 foot frame to work with from the get-go, you will obviously be able to make a bigger swing with less effort than someone who stands 5 feet tall with shorter arms. A bigger swing path = more time to gain momentum through impact. This is where technique and flexibility come into play, though. Having a large frame/swing only correlates to distance if you can do two things, 1) swing at a high rate of speed through the slot, 2) maintain a square club face on impact. I am not a tall or big person by any means, but I gain a lot of my strokes by being able to hit a wedge or low iron into the majority of holes I play. The biggest adjustment to my game that I made in order to hit the long ball has been working on my shoulder flexibility as well as timing my hip turn. If you are a smaller person and want to improve distance, you should first make sure you are able to hit the ball squarely, but after, elongate the path of your lead arm without compromising your spine alignment and swing plane. It definitely isn't something that happens in one range session as it oftentimes takes multiple seasons in order to find 15-25 yards from the tee. But genetics definitely are not the only thing that factor into hitting big drives, I would say it is much more contingent on technique and timing than anything else.  
    • Actually it is not. It's taking something that people will perceive is bad associated with you, your brands and your business as Trump and making sure it doesn't affect you negatively. People saying it's not his fault and would be bad business are failing to see the big picture. He generates so much money off of his name and reputation and brand that if something is associated with him negatively, wrong or right, it could have already cost him far more than a million dollars of revenue or EBITDA.  And this was another executive  not sure I want the word on street to be that I didn't make good for another CEO. It's the same reason why when Chik Fil A made a statement about gay marriage they also were outside handing out free bottles of water to protesters. And their sales went even higher!  They controlled the message and paid for it and what happened?  They came out winners. There are multiple examples of this in business. That's why I disagree with @iacasand with @newtogolf  And apparently over 70 percent of the voters on this poll agree.  Ultimately we can have our own opinions on it and that's mine. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Dresilved
      Dresilved
      (51 years old)
    2. kpetrina
      kpetrina
      (24 years old)
    3. Luana
      Luana
      (38 years old)
  • Blog Entries