Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Rules Question about Putting from Fringe


Note: This thread is 4118 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Was watching European Ladies on TV recently. One lady had a long putt, downhill and she overshot with ball coming to rest on 'collar' or 'apron' of green.  Now about 8 feet from cup, but certainly off green. She again took the putter but bent over in front of ball and, as it appeared to me, brush something ?? off the collar, and along the line of the putt.  Maybe only shooing an insect. But also maybe brushing off a leaf or bits of sand, etc.

My understanding is that if ball NOT on green, then not permitted to mess around (improve, correct, clean) with the lie, or the line of putt. Am i correct?  If golfer does brush away a dry leaf is that a violation?  What if she blew away the dry leaf, not touching the surface but still removing the leaf?  What if not a leaf, but a large dead beetle which might truly interfere with track of putt?  And would she be permitted to touch the surface of the collar along the line for any reason?  Could she repair a pitch mark along her line but on the collar?

What if dry leaf was behind her ball, not in front, could she remove it?  Here i believe she could remove loose impediment, if ball not moved.


  • Administrator
Posted

Loose Impediments

Loose impediments ’’ are natural objects, including:

  • stones, leaves, twigs, branches and the like,
  • dung, and
  • worms, insects and the like, and the casts and heaps made by them,

provided they are not:

  • fixed or growing,
  • solidly embedded, or
  • adhering to the ball.

Sand and loose soil are loose impediments on the putting green , but not elsewhere.

Snow and natural ice, other than frost, are either casual water or loose impediments , at the option of the player.

Dew and frost are not loose impediments .


23-1 . Relief

Except when both the loose impediment and the ball lie in or touch the same hazard , any loose impediment may be removed without penalty.

If the ball lies anywhere other than on the putting green and the removal of a loose impediment by the player causes the ball to move , Rule 18-2a applies.

On the putting green , if the ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved in the process of the player removing a loose impediment , the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. There is no penalty, provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the removal of the loose impediment . Otherwise, if the player causes the ball to move , he incurs a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a .

When a ball is in motion, a loose impediment that might influence the movement of the ball must not be removed.

Note: If the ball lies in a hazard , the player must not touch or move any loose impediment lying in or touching the same hazard – see Rule 13-4c .

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Joe,

What the Definition and Rule that @iacas quotes tell you is that if a natural thing meets the definition of a loose impediment, it can be removed anywhere on the course except  if your ball and the loose impediment are in the same hazard.  The lady you observed was ok to remove a leaf or something whether on or off the green and even if it was on her line of play or line of putt.  And it's ok to touch your line of putt when removing a loose impediment.

You might watch out for the awkward one of sand or loose soil which are not loose impediments anywhere else on the course but are loose impediments on the putting green.

You are not allowed to repair a pitch mark off the green if it could improve your lie,  area of swing or line of play.  You can repair them  on the green any time.


Posted

Rory McIlroy broke the rule during a tournament when he brushed sand off the fringe to clear the line of his putt. I think his playing competitor said he couldn't do that, and Rory gave himself the penalty.

Ogio Grom | Callaway X Hot Pro | Callaway X-Utility 3i | Mizuno MX-700 23º | Titleist Vokey SM 52.08, 58.12 | Mizuno MX-700 15º | Titleist 910 D2 9,5º | Scotty Cameron Newport 2 | Titleist Pro V1x and Taylormade Penta | Leupold GX-1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Joe,

What the Definition and Rule that @iacas quotes tell you is that if a natural thing meets the definition of a loose impediment, it can be removed anywhere on the course except  if your ball and the loose impediment are in the same hazard.  The lady you observed was ok to remove a leaf or something whether on or off the green and even if it was on her line of play or line of putt.  And it's ok to touch your line of putt when removing a loose impediment.

You might watch out for the awkward one of sand or loose soil which are not loose impediments anywhere else on the course but are loose impediments on the putting green.

You are not allowed to repair a pitch mark off the green if it could improve your lie,  area of swing or line of play.  You can repair them  on the green any time.


I thought you could only repair a pitch mark in your putt line if it's your own?  Whether putting from the green or fringe?

Callaway XR 9.5 + 1, Taylormade R15 3 Wood, Burner 3 Rescue, Callaway XHot 5H, Warbird 4H, Nike Vapor Fly 6-AW Irons, Titleist Vokey 54, 60 Wedges, Taylormade Rossa Fontana Putter, Srixon Z-Star Tour Yellow.

Best Score 2017:  82 (Traditions at the Glen, Par 70)

Favorite Course - Conklin Players Club (Par 72) - Best Score 86


Posted

I thought you could only repair a pitch mark in your putt line if it's your own?  Whether putting from the green or fringe?

i'm pretty sure you can fix any pitch mark on the green, regardless if its yours.  cant fix spike marks.  besides, how would you be 100% certain that a pitch mark is definitely yours if your approach was from 200 out?  it could have been some jackwagon who didnt repair their mark.

Colin P.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I thought you could only repair a pitch mark in your putt line if it's your own?  Whether putting from the green or fringe?

No you can fix any ball mark.  Doesn't have to be yours and it doesn't matter where your ball is .  Here is an exception, however it's pretty rare.

16-1c/2

Ball Mark in Position to Assist Opponent

Q.A and B are playing a match. At a par-3 hole, both are on the green with their tee shots. A's ball comes to rest four feet from the hole. B's ball is fifteen feet from the hole. Upon reaching the green, A prepares to repair his ball mark. B tells A not to do so until he (B) has putted because A's ball mark is so situated that B's ball might be deflected into the hole by it. A objects, stating that he wishes to repair his ball mark immediately. May A do so?

A.No, if A repairs the ball mark, he loses the hole (see Decision 2/3 ) for intentionally denying B's right to have the ball mark left in position. Although A is permitted to repair the ball mark under Rule 16-1c , and accordingly would not be in breach of Rule 1-2 for doing so (see Exception 1 to Rule 1-2 ), he must comply with B's request not to repair the ball mark. (Revised)

Along these lines, an opponent or fellow competitor may not want a ball mark repaired that is on his line of putt.  If he wants it left there, you need to honor this.  If it's on your line of putt as well, and it's your turn to play, you can repair it.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

No you can fix any ball mark.  Doesn't have to be yours and it doesn't matter where your ball is.

I need some clarification here.  I was under the impression that you could not repair pitch marks that aren't on the green when your ball is also not on the green?  This post makes it sound like I've been mistaken.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I need some clarification here.  I was under the impression that you could not repair pitch marks that aren't on the green when your ball is also not on the green?  This post makes it sound like I've been mistaken.

i think you can fix them if theyre not on your line of play or improving your lie.

Colin P.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
If the marks r on the green you may repair them. Doesn't matter where the ball is. If the mark is off the green and fixing it improves ur lie, stance, or line of play, leave it alone. There is an exception. ;-)

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I need some clarification here.  I was under the impression that you could not repair pitch marks that aren't on the green when your ball is also not on the green?  This post makes it sound like I've been mistaken.

See Post #3


Posted

And to be clear, there is no line of putt when your ball lies off green.

But it's still a line of play , which you are not allowed to improve.

Ogio Grom | Callaway X Hot Pro | Callaway X-Utility 3i | Mizuno MX-700 23º | Titleist Vokey SM 52.08, 58.12 | Mizuno MX-700 15º | Titleist 910 D2 9,5º | Scotty Cameron Newport 2 | Titleist Pro V1x and Taylormade Penta | Leupold GX-1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

But it's still a line of play, which you are not allowed to improve.

Yes, it is a line of play.  However, the Rules permit repair of ball marks that are on the green at any time, and this includes those ball marks on the line of play or line of putt.  The permission to repair damage to the putting green is clearly stated in Rule 13-2, and 13-2 refers to Rule 16-1.


Posted

But it's still a line of play, which you are not allowed to improve.

True, but you are allowed to touch line of play but not line of putt. So there is also some differences.


Posted

As noted previously, Rule 16-1a gives many instances where you are permitted to touch the line of putt,

- in removing loose impediments

- addressing the ball in front of the ball

- measuring

- lifting or replacing a ball

- pressing down a ball marker

- in repairing old hole plugs and ball marks on the putting green

- removing movable obstructions

Rule 16-1c says that the player may repair ball marks on the putting green whether or not his ball lies on the putting green.  The Rule does not give any limitations to repairing ball marks on the putting green.


Posted

As noted previously, Rule 16-1a gives many instances where you are permitted to touch the line of putt,

So are you saying that you can use line of putt and line of play interchangeably?


Note: This thread is 4118 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.