Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3816 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hello everyone,

Apologies if the below has been asked before, but I couldn't find it through a search.

I was playing matchplay against a friend 2 days ago, when the following situation happens:

We were playing hole 5, for which a local rule states that for shots of the tee, hole 14 is out of bounds. Along the left side of #5, there are white stakes clearly showing this internal out of bounds, however these stop as of a certain moment.

My tee shot landed left of the fairway, but before the stakes (lousy lie). My second shot however sails across the out of bounds line, and comes to rest beyond where the last white stake showing the out of bounds is.

At this point, we were unsure whether the ball was out of bounds or not.

Unfortunately, reading what the R&A; has to say on out of bounds still doesn't give the answer.

Quote:
It is a common misconception that it is not permissible to define areas within the course as out of bounds. However, it is not unusual for features such as maintenance areas, clubhouses and practice grounds to be marked as out of bounds. In addition, it may be necessary to establish boundaries between two holes to maintain the character of a hole or to protect players on the adjacent fairway. In these cases, it is important to consider where the boundary starts and finishes so that there is no doubt where it begins and ends. Where there is no natural start/finish point, e.g. the boundary exists in isolation and is not “tied” into other boundaries on the course, often it is necessary to place two stakes, side-by-side and at a right angle to the first and last stake, to indicate that the boundary extends indefinitely in that direction.
It is not permissible to make an area out of bounds only for certain strokes at a given hole, for example, a stroke from the teeing ground (see Out of Bounds, Chapter 3).
Source: http://www.randa.org/en/Rules-and-Amateur-Status/Guidance-on-Running-a-Competition.aspx?chapter=3&section;=1

First, it would seem that the local rule saying the out of bounds only applies to shots of the tee is wrong and so that fact that it was my second shot doesn't matter. This still leaves me with the question of where the out of bounds zone stops. As there were no double stakes, the line doesn't continue indefinitely, yet then how should the area be defined? Perpendicular to the OOB line?

I'm sure this situation arises at more courses. Any thoughts on what the right ruling would be here?

Thanks!

Koen


Posted

I would rule the OB to end at the last stake and your ball to be in bounds. Players should not have to suffer from lazy marking.


Posted

I would rule the OB to end at the last stake and your ball to be in bounds. Players should not have to suffer from lazy marking.

I would agree, if you are past the last stake, you're in-bounds.

-Jerry

Driver: Titleist 913 D3 (9.5 degree) – Aldila RIP 60-2.9-Stiff; Callaway Mini-Driver Kura Kage 60g shaft - 12 degree Hybrids: Callway X2 Hot Pro - 16 degree & 23 degree – Pro-Shaft; Callway X2 Hot – 5H & 6H Irons: Titleist 714 AP2 7 thru AW with S300 Dynamic Gold Wedges: Titleist Vokey GW (54 degree), Callaway MackDaddy PM Grind SW (58 degree) Putter: Ping Cadence TR Ketsch Heavy Balls: Titleist Pro V1x & Snell MyTourBall

"Golf is the closest game to the game we call life. You get bad breaks from good shots; you get good breaks from bad shots but you have to play the ball where it lies."- Bobby Jones

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

First, it would seem that the local rule saying the out of bounds only applies to shots of the tee is wrong and so that fact that it was my second shot doesn't matter.

Koen

Your local rule would seem to be in conflict with the Rules of Golf. This decision covers it.

33-2a/13

Tee Decreed to Be in Bounds for the Tee Shot and Out of Bounds Thereafter

Q. A Committee has decreed that ground surrounding a certain teeing ground is in bounds for tee shots and out of bounds thereafter. Is this permissible?

A. No. In play of a particular hole, an area cannot be both in bounds and out of bounds.

As you suggest, undefined termination is not an uncommon problem. I suggest you speak to the committee i) about the illegal LR and ii) about following the R&A; recommendation re double stakes.


Posted

Your local rule would seem to be in conflict with the Rules of Golf. This decision covers it.

I agree, but then there are still two ways to look at it:

1) The OOB as a whole is to be dismissed

2) The fact that it only applies to tee shots is to be dismissed

We went with the second option in the end, but I played the ball from where it was considering the OOB zone ended at the last stake.


Posted
My second shot however sails across the out of bounds line, and comes to rest beyond where the last white stake showing the out of bounds is.

At this point, we were unsure whether the ball was out of bounds or not.

Unfortunately, reading what the R&A; has to say on out of bounds still doesn't give the answer.

I am not sure as to the orientation on this. It would be nice if the rules say take a 90 degree orientation.

Something like this, If you are standing by the stake on the right your ball looks OB. If you walk to the end then the ball is clearly past the last stake. Just wondering what reference point is used to determine if the ball is OB or not.

I agree, but then there are still two ways to look at it:

1) The OOB as a whole is to be dismissed

2) The fact that it only applies to tee shots is to be dismissed

We went with the second option in the end, but I played the ball from where it was considering the OOB zone ended at the last stake.

I'd say the internal OB should be played for the entirety of the golf hole. The white stakes are present. What isn't legal is the local rule only allowing the OB for one shot. This is if I was playing the course for the first time and came upon this hole.

I would bring this up with the course and either tell them to use the white stakes correctly or get rid of them. You could always email or call the R&A; and ask them this. I would reference the USGA ruling 33-2a/12 stated above.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I would bring this up with the course and either tell them to use the white stakes correctly or get rid of them. You could always email or call the R&A; and ask them this. I would reference the USGA ruling 33-2a/12 stated above.

If he's calling the R&A; I suggest he refers to R&A; ruling 33-2a/12 ;-)


Posted

Hello everyone,

Apologies if the below has been asked before, but I couldn't find it through a search.

I was playing matchplay against a friend 2 days ago, when the following situation happens:

We were playing hole 5, for which a local rule states that for shots of the tee, hole 14 is out of bounds. Along the left side of #5, there are white stakes clearly showing this internal out of bounds, however these stop as of a certain moment.

My tee shot landed left of the fairway, but before the stakes (lousy lie). My second shot however sails across the out of bounds line, and comes to rest beyond where the last white stake showing the out of bounds is.

At this point, we were unsure whether the ball was out of bounds or not.

Unfortunately, reading what the R&A; has to say on out of bounds still doesn't give the answer.

First, it would seem that the local rule saying the out of bounds only applies to shots of the tee is wrong and so that fact that it was my second shot doesn't matter. This still leaves me with the question of where the out of bounds zone stops. As there were no double stakes, the line doesn't continue indefinitely, yet then how should the area be defined? Perpendicular to the OOB line?

I'm sure this situation arises at more courses. Any thoughts on what the right ruling would be here?

Thanks!

Koen

I had the exact same situation occur, see my post and replies starting at #24 of this thread.

http://thesandtrap.com/t/73457/determining-out-of-bounds/18

I did that same as you and played it as if it was in bounds, assuming a perpendicular line from the stakes.

- Mark

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3816 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.