Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3650 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I see there is a note/change to this rule that says the player can get relief without penalty for an embedded ball anywhere through the green. A committe decision? Not sure what "through the green" means. Does this mean anywhere between the tee and green.... As in the case of a plugged ball during wet conditions? Or, in the car as a burrowing animal hole as stated elsewhere? Any thoughts?

Dave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
21 minutes ago, Dave325 said:

I see there is a note/change to this rule that says the player can get relief without penalty for an embedded ball anywhere through the green. A committe decision? Not sure what "through the green" means. Does this mean anywhere between the tee and green.... As in the case of a plugged ball during wet conditions? Or, in the car as a burrowing animal hole as stated elsewhere? Any thoughts?

You can think of it roughly as "not in a hazard."

Dom's Sticks:

Callaway X-24 10.5° Driver, Callaway Big Bertha 15° wood, Callaway XR 19° hybrid, Callaway X-24 24° hybrid, Callaway X-24 5i-9i, PING Glide PW 47°/12°, Cleveland REG 588 52°/08°, Callaway Mack Daddy PM Grind 56°/13°, 60°/10°, Odyssey Versa Jailbird putter w/SuperStroke Slim 3.0 grip, Callaway Chev Stand Bag, Titleist Pro-V1x ball

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Here are some facts about the embedded ball.

First the Rule:

25-2. Embedded Ball

If a player's ball is embedded in any closely-mown area through the green, it may be lifted, cleaned and dropped, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole.

Second, a Definition:

"Through the green" is the whole area of the course except:

a. The teeing ground and putting green of the hole being played; and

b. All hazards on the course. (Hazards are bunkers and water hazards.)

Third, the authorized Local Rule:

Note 3: The Committee may adopt the Local Rule as provided for in Appendix I allowing a player relief, without penalty, for a ball embedded anywhere through the green.

From Appendix I:

Through the green, a ball that is embedded may be lifted, cleaned and dropped, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole.

 

  • Upvote 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted
5 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Here are some facts about the embedded ball.

First the Rule:

25-2. Embedded Ball

If a player's ball is embedded in any closely-mown area through the green, it may be lifted, cleaned and dropped, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole.

Second, a Definition:

"Through the green" is the whole area of the course except:

a. The teeing ground and putting green of the hole being played; and

b. All hazards on the course. (Hazards are bunkers and water hazards.)

Third, the authorized Local Rule:

Note 3: The Committee may adopt the Local Rule as provided for in Appendix I allowing a player relief, without penalty, for a ball embedded anywhere through the green.

From Appendix I:

Through the green, a ball that is embedded may be lifted, cleaned and dropped, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole.

 

Perfect explanation. Thanks. So then, by this definition... A plugged ball in the fairway or fringe rough cut grass can be dropped. What I am surprised with on this ruling is that it can also be cleaned. 

Dave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
19 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Here are some facts about the embedded ball.

First the Rule:

25-2. Embedded Ball

If a player's ball is embedded in any closely-mown area through the green, it may be lifted, cleaned and dropped, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole.

Closely Mown Definition: "Closely Mown" means any area of the course, including paths through the rough, cut to fairway height or less.

Second, a Definition:

"Through the green" is the whole area of the course except:

a. The teeing ground and putting green of the hole being played; and

b. All hazards on the course. (Hazards are bunkers and water hazards.)

Third, the authorized Local Rule:

Note 3: The Committee may adopt the Local Rule as provided for in Appendix I allowing a player relief, without penalty, for a ball embedded anywhere through the green.

From Appendix I:

Through the green, a ball that is embedded may be lifted, cleaned and dropped, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole.

 

 

 I added the definition for "Closely-Mown".  :-)

One other thing for completeness.  Although most clubs and tournaments in the US include the local rule allowing for relief "through the green" , this does not include sandy areas.   No relief for balls embedded in sandy areas through the green. 

Edited by Dormie1360

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
40 minutes ago, Dave325 said:

Perfect explanation. Thanks. So then, by this definition... A plugged ball in the fairway or fringe rough cut grass can be dropped. What I am surprised with on this ruling is that it can also be cleaned. 

Only if the local rule is in effect.  Without that local rule, the player can only get relief in closely mowed areas cut to fairway height or less.

37 minutes ago, Dormie1360 said:

 

 I added the definition for "Closely-Mown".  :-)

One other thing for completeness.  Although most clubs and tournaments in the US include the local rule allowing for relief "through the green" , this does not include sandy areas.   No relief for balls embedded in sandy areas through the green. 

I would disagree to your comment of "most clubs".  In 40 years I have never seen this local rule in effect, and that includes 22 years of club tournaments, and 3 years of refereeing for Colorado Golf Association tournaments.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
11 minutes ago, Fourputt said:

Only if the local rule is in effect.  Without that local rule, the player can only get relief in closely mowed areas cut to fairway height or less.

I would disagree to your comment of "most clubs".  In 40 years I have never seen this local rule in effect, and that includes 22 years of club tournaments, and 3 years of refereeing for Colorado Golf Association tournaments.

Must be a Colorado thing.  ;-)

The Kentucky Golf Association Conditions of Compitition use the local rule, as does most clubs I'm aware of around here.   Doesn't the PGA Tour play TTG?  The USGA also?

As a side note I've been told the USGA has been trying to make R25-2 include Through the Green for some time.  My understanding is they have been unable to get the R&A on board with the change.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)

Have you refereed recently?

I got this on the Colorado Golf Association's website.  It says this is for all their championships and qualifiers. Check out the paragraph above "conditions".

CGA Hard Card

 

Edited by Dormie1360

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Dave325 said:

Perfect explanation. Thanks. So then, by this definition... A plugged ball in the fairway or fringe rough cut grass can be dropped. What I am surprised with on this ruling is that it can also be cleaned. 

One way to think about your right to clean the ball in this instance is that relief is provided under Rule 25 - Abnormal Ground Conditions, Embedded Ball . . . .

The thinking is that when your golf ball encounters an "abnormal" situation, then you should have the opportunity to clean lt.

Most of the time when the Rules permit you to lift the ball you may also clean it.  (There are a few exceptions, of course, but let's leave them for the time when you get a better handle on the Rules.)

But since my learned colleagues may well wish to chip in, I'll offer:

Six times lifted ball may not be cleaned
1 Determine if unfit for play (R 5-3)
2 For identification (R 12-1)
3 Assisting/interfering not on green (R 22) 
4 Determine if embedded (D 20-1/0.7)
5 Determine if in casual water  (D 20-1/0.7)
6 Determine if in animal hole  (D 20-1/0.7)

Edited by Asheville
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted (edited)

The LR is usually only used over here in wet conditions during the winter.

The Appendix specifies when it may be used and by implication, when not.

Quote

Temporary conditions that might interfere with proper playing of the game, including mud and extreme wetness, warranting relief for an embedded ball ...........

 

Edited by Rulesman

Posted
11 hours ago, Asheville said:

Six times lifted ball may not be cleaned
1 Determine if unfit for play (R 5-3)
2 For identification (R 12-1)
3 Assisting/interfering not on green (R 22) 
4 Determine if embedded (D 20-1/0.7)
5 Determine if in casual water  (D 20-1/0.7)
6 Determine if in animal hole  (D 20-1/0.7)

Yep, you got them all. The only thing I would add is identifying the ball is 12-2, not 12-1 ;)

 


Posted

Thanks, Martyn. PM sent. :)

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted (edited)
16 hours ago, Dave325 said:

Perfect explanation. Thanks. So then, by this definition... A plugged ball in the fairway or fringe rough cut grass can be dropped. What I am surprised with on this ruling is that it can also be cleaned. 

Ashville gave you a good list.  Although some rules, like  24  (Obstructions) and 25 (Abnormal Ground Condition) specifically authorize the cleaning of the golf ball when lifted, these are really just "public service announcements".  Other than the six reasons mentioned, if the ball is lifted it may be cleaned.  Say a player accidentally moves his ball which was at rest requiring the ball to be replaced with a 1 stroke penalty.  If the player cleaned his ball before replacing, there is no additional penalty for cleaning.

Edited by Dormie1360

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3650 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.