Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Rules 24-1 question on Movable Objects


Note: This thread is 3612 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
4 minutes ago, Dormie1360 said:

I'm pretty sure flower beds are not obstructions as they are not artificial.

Even that depends.  If they are in a raised box or planting ground they can be.  My home course has one in play on the 15th hole that is triangular, about 6 feet each side and maybe 8 or 9 feet on the hypotenuse that is bounded by wooden timbers and raised about 2 feet above ground level.  The entire bed is an obstruction from which play is prohibited.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Flower beds are raised on the course and play from them is prohibited.

Regarding the anthills, they could have sent pictures of this type of anthill to the USGA and obtained permission, yes?

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, DrvFrShow said:

1) Flower beds are raised on the course and play from them is prohibited.

2) Regarding the anthills, they could have sent pictures of this type of anthill to the USGA and obtained permission, yes?

1) In that case they should be declared to be GUR play prohibited

2) No. If they had the USGA would have given the same answer as the Decision I mentioned above.

http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-33,d33-8-22

Edited by Rulesman

Posted
4 minutes ago, DrvFrShow said:

Flower beds are raised on the course and play from them is prohibited.

Regarding the anthills, they could have sent pictures of this type of anthill to the USGA and obtained permission, yes?

No.  Not even the USGA is authorized to make such a local rule.  They would explain that anthills can be GUR or declared out of play as a safety issue, but they cannot be obstructions.

  • Upvote 1

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3612 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.