Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3473 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

... so recently I was playing & my ball rolled up against a big honking Tiger Woods beaverpelt sized patch of loose grass that was once an airborne divot.    I considered it a loose impediment and removed it carefully without disturbing the ball.    Am I allowed to do this or do I have to hit the ball into an old patch of loose divot grass  - no telling what direction or how far it would go if that's the case ?    Thx

John

Fav LT Quote ... "you can talk to a fade, but a hook won't listen"

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

As long as your ball didn't move, you were good to go.  If the divot had still been attached, then you would not have been allowed to move it.  Decision 13-2/5 covers this:

Quote

13-2/5

 

Replacing or Removing Undetached Divot

Q.A player's ball comes to rest in front of a divot which is folded over but not completely detached. The divot interferes with his backswing. May the player replace or remove the divot before playing?

A.No. A divot which is not completely detached is not a loose impediment. It is something fixed and therefore its removal or replacement would be a breach of Rule 13-2 as the lie and area of intended swing would be improved.

 

  • Upvote 1

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Thanks !    appreciate it

John

Fav LT Quote ... "you can talk to a fade, but a hook won't listen"

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 months later...
Posted

If the divot is folded over, can I repair it before I take my swing?

In my Grom Stand bag:

 

Driver: Ping G20, 8.5 Tour Stiff
Wood/Hybrid: G20 3W, Raylor 19*, 22*
Irons: R9 5I - SW, TM CGB LW

Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi-Mid

Favorites: Old Ranch (Seal Beach), Ike/Babe (Industry Hills), Skylinks (Long Beach), Desert Willow (Palm Desert)


Posted
31 minutes ago, ejimsmith said:

If the divot is folded over, can I repair it before I take my swing?

Decision 13-2/5 Replacing or Removing Undetached Divot
Q. A player's ball comes to rest in front of a divot which is folded over but not completely detached. The divot interferes with his backswing. May the player replace or remove the divot before playing?

A. No. A divot which is not completely detached is not a loose impediment. It is something fixed and therefore its removal or replacement would be a breach of Rule 13-2 as the lie and area of intended swing would be improved.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted
3 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Decision 13-2/5 Replacing or Removing Undetached Divot
Q. A player's ball comes to rest in front of a divot which is folded over but not completely detached. The divot interferes with his backswing. May the player replace or remove the divot before playing?

A. No. A divot which is not completely detached is not a loose impediment. It is something fixed and therefore its removal or replacement would be a breach of Rule 13-2 as the lie and area of intended swing would be improved.

What I want to know is can I repair it?  As in fold the divot back into its hole?  I have a feeling that the answer is no... :(

In my Grom Stand bag:

 

Driver: Ping G20, 8.5 Tour Stiff
Wood/Hybrid: G20 3W, Raylor 19*, 22*
Irons: R9 5I - SW, TM CGB LW

Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi-Mid

Favorites: Old Ranch (Seal Beach), Ike/Babe (Industry Hills), Skylinks (Long Beach), Desert Willow (Palm Desert)


Posted
20 minutes ago, ejimsmith said:

What I want to know is can I repair it?  As in fold the divot back into its hole?  I have a feeling that the answer is no... :(

No. A divot which is not completely detached is not a loose impediment. It is something fixed and therefore its removal or replacement would be a breach of Rule 13-2 as the lie and area of intended swing would be improved.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted
3 hours ago, ejimsmith said:

What I want to know is can I repair it?  As in fold the divot back into its hole?  I have a feeling that the answer is no... :(

Didn't you even read the decision that was quoted for you?

  • Upvote 2

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
2 hours ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

Though as a courtesy to following players you should repair/replace after your shot. 

Yes. Thank you for adding that.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
16 hours ago, Fourputt said:

Didn't you even read the decision that was quoted for you?

I asked for clarification.  Do you have anything better to do than rip on strangers online?  

In my Grom Stand bag:

 

Driver: Ping G20, 8.5 Tour Stiff
Wood/Hybrid: G20 3W, Raylor 19*, 22*
Irons: R9 5I - SW, TM CGB LW

Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi-Mid

Favorites: Old Ranch (Seal Beach), Ike/Babe (Industry Hills), Skylinks (Long Beach), Desert Willow (Palm Desert)


Posted
1 hour ago, ejimsmith said:

I asked for clarification.  

As I read the decision and your replies, you kept using the term "repair" as though that might be different from "replace" (in this context).  It wasn't clear (at least to me) what you wanted clarified, since the decision appears to answer your question directly. 

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
1 hour ago, ejimsmith said:

I asked for clarification.  Do you have anything better to do than rip on strangers online?  

The decision seemed pretty clear to me.  Sorry if that bothered you.  

There are only two things that the player is allowed to "repair" before making a stroke, and those are pitch marks and old hole plugs on the green.  If it's not on the green then you can't repair it.  

The only exception to that is if the damage occurs after your ball is at rest.  You are entitled to the lie your shot gave you.

  • Upvote 1

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
20 hours ago, Fourputt said:

There are only two things that the player is allowed to "repair" before making a stroke,

Don't forget irregularities of surface on the teeing ground ;)


Note: This thread is 3473 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.