Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Relief from the tee you use to mark your drop?


Note: This thread is 3456 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

If you put a tee in the ground to mark where your drop area is, you drop and your ball rolls up against it, do you/must you get some sort of relief or re-drop from it?  (coming in contact with your own equipment)  What happens if the ball happens to land and tee itself up on the tee you marked for your drop?  Can you play it?


Posted (edited)

Rule 20-2

If the ball, when dropped, touches any person or the equipment of any player before or after it strikes a part of the course and before it comes to rest, the ball must be re-dropped, without penalty. There is no limit to the number of times a ball must be re-dropped in these circumstances.

Edited by Rulesman

Posted

I don't think that, in this case, the tee is "equipment." It's a moveable obstruction.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

A tee used in that situation is not equipment.  Simply remove it, and if the ball moves, replace it with no penalty.

Quote

"Equipment" is anything used, worn, held or carried by the player or the player's caddie, except:

  • any ball that the player has played at the hole being played, and
  • any small object, such as a coin or a tee, when used to mark the position of the ball or the extent of an area in which a ball is to be dropped.

 

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
26 minutes ago, Fourputt said:

A tee used in that situation is not equipment.  Simply remove it, and if the ball moves, replace it with no penalty.

 

Do you have to remove it, or can you play w/ your ball touching it?  Like if the ball rolls and happens to get tee'd up on the tee.


Posted

I'm pretty sure this is not a re drop,  A small object (tee) is not equipment as mentioned above.  Talked about it in class.  I believe the ball is in play, you may or may not remove tee.  If you do and the ball moves, replace the ball.

 

True story.  European event, maybe the open.  Player marks spot by sticking tee into ground.  Drops ball which bounces and lands on tee.  The ball is now teed in the rough.  The player was allowed to play the teed ball.  I think Chip Essig or Bryan Jones of the PGA made the ruling.  When a fellow competitor questioned the ruling R & A confirmed.

  • Upvote 2

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)

Oops. Forgot the definition in post #2 :-(

Ought to know better. I've ruled on it enough times when officiating.

 

5 hours ago, Dormie1360 said:

 Drops ball which bounces and lands on tee.  The ball is now teed in the rough.

Incidentally, this has been confirmed by the R&A and also in relation to placing the ball on an in situ abandoned tee when taking a preferred lie. 

Edited by Rulesman

Posted

I dont mark my drop area as there is no obligation to do so.

It's a wast of time if your not searching a maximum relief, it's obvious that you are in the one or two club length + 2 clubs of roll max from the drop landing spot.


Posted
2 hours ago, bubble said:

I dont mark my drop area as there is no obligation to do so.

It's a wast of time if your not searching a maximum relief, it's obvious that you are in the one or two club length + 2 clubs of roll max from the drop landing spot.

Quite true.  There is no requirement to follow the measuring procedure that we always seem to see the pros following.  Most of the time it is unnecessary to precisely measure the dropping area, and just wastes time.  It's only if you need to drop near the extreme edge of the area that it needs to be so clearly identified.  The only requirement is the the ball first hits the ground within the area specified by the rule under which you are proceeding.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
1 hour ago, Fourputt said:

the ball first hits the ground

It doesn't actually have to hit the ground, just a part of the course.

20-2b/1

 

Dropped Ball Never Strikes Ground

Q.A player drops a ball where the applicable Rule requires. It lodges in a bush without striking the ground. What is the ruling?

A.The ball is in play. It struck a part of the course where required by the applicable Rule and did not roll into a position requiring it to be re-dropped under Rule 20-2c.


Posted
8 minutes ago, Martyn W said:

It doesn't actually have to hit the ground, just a part of the course.

20-2b/1

 

Dropped Ball Never Strikes Ground

Q.A player drops a ball where the applicable Rule requires. It lodges in a bush without striking the ground. What is the ruling?

A.The ball is in play. It struck a part of the course where required by the applicable Rule and did not roll into a position requiring it to be re-dropped under Rule 20-2c.

True, but you have to admit that is a pretty rare occurrence.  Most people aren't going to drop in a bush unless the circumstances are quite unusual.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3456 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.