Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Leaving the Ball on the Green in a Position to Help?


Note: This thread is 3375 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Player A's ball is on green. In our club it has been established that player who is off green, player B, may ask player A to "leave it there". My question is, does player A have to mark ball. In other words leaving it there and with a mark. 


Posted

Decision 22/6 Competitor Requests That Ball in Position to Assist Him Not Be Lifted
Q.In stroke play, B's ball lies just off the putting green. A's ball lies near the hole in a position to serve as a backstop for B's ball. B requests A not to lift his ball. Is such a request proper?

A.No. If A and B agree not to lift a ball that might assist B, both players are disqualified under Rule 22-1

  • Upvote 4
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

  • Moderator
Posted

We had a long discussion of this issue in another thread, in particular as it relates to the pro tours.  Based on my reading of the rules, if Player A should mark it if it could assist his fellow-competitor, AND if he can mark it without delaying play.  If Player B simply goes ahead and plays while Player A is walking up, its OK.   As @Asheville say, if Player B requests the ball be left, and Player A agrees, they've both violated the rule.  It sounds as if your club has accepted this violation of the rules.

And here's the link to the previous thread:

 

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 weeks later...
Posted

Maybe have a look at this decision.

3-4/1

Competitor Not Given Opportunity to Lift Ball Assisting Fellow-Competitor

Q.In stroke play, A's ball lies near the hole in a position to assist B, whose ball lies off the putting green. A states his intention to lift his ball under Rule 22-1. B mistakenly believes that A does not have the right to lift his ball and plays before A has an opportunity to lift his ball. What is the ruling?

A.B is disqualified under Rule 3-4 as he intentionally denied A's right to lift his ball. It is irrelevant that B did so in ignorance of the Rules.


  • Moderator
Posted

@6Aces, in this case I believe the difference is communication.  Once player A states his intention, player B is required to wait.  If Player A doesn't say anything, its a different matter.

  • Upvote 2

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
On 9/24/2016 at 8:07 PM, DaveP043 said:

@6Aces, in this case I believe the difference is communication.  Once player A states his intention, player B is required to wait.  If Player A doesn't say anything, its a different matter.

I'll add to my previous post.  What appears to happen on the pro tour is that Player A quite consciously dawdles in getting to his ball, leaving player B plenty of time to hit his shot, potentially taking advantage of Player A's ball on the green.  There no overtly stated intent to collude in giving Player B a potential advantage, but it really seems like that's what they're trying to do at times.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

So if I am reading this correctly, B can not ask A to leave it there. But, if A decides to clean his spikes or towel off, B may hit without penalty. Seems pretty much the same without the formal question being asked, could you please leave it there. Wonder how that applies to 2 and 4 man competitions?


  • Moderator
Posted
24 minutes ago, Fizbo said:

So if I am reading this correctly, B can not ask A to leave it there. But, if A decides to clean his spikes or towel off, B may hit without penalty. Seems pretty much the same without the formal question being asked, could you please leave it there.

A referee could require that A mark it before B plays, assuming A is in position to do so without unduly delaying play. (Decision 22/7)

25 minutes ago, Fizbo said:

 Wonder how that applies to 2 and 4 man competitions?

In match play, you may mark and lift your ball (whether its on the green or not) if you if you think your ball could assist your opponent.  I didn't find a requirement for your opponent to wait for you to mark it, however.  In a fourball match, you may require your opponent to mark his ball if it is in position to assist his partner (your other opponent).  (Decision 30-3f/11).  In that case, I believe that he does have to wait.  

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I had a situation happen last week where my ball was in a location that would act as bumper for a FC (the ball was about 1" - 2" to the front and left of the cup.  As I attempted to walk onto the green to mark my ball the FC seemed to rush his putting stroke.  His ball hit my ball on the right side, bounced off of it and into the hole.  It was a cool shot but if my ball wasn't there he'd have rolled well past the hole.  

I'm not sure if he was aiming for the hole or my ball but having my ball there gave him a much greater margin of error.  

Joe Paradiso

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
4 minutes ago, newtogolf said:

I had a situation happen last week where my ball was in a location that would act as bumper for a FC (the ball was about 1" - 2" to the front and left of the cup.  As I attempted to walk onto the green to mark my ball the FC seemed to rush his putting stroke.  His ball hit my ball on the right side, bounced off of it and into the hole.  It was a cool shot but if my ball wasn't there he'd have rolled well past the hole.  

If your FC was on the putting green, and his ball hit your ball which was also on the putting green, he incurs a two-stroke penalty (Rule 19-5a).  If he was off the green, it was just a good (and lucky) shot..

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
1 hour ago, DaveP043 said:

If your FC was on the putting green, and his ball hit your ball which was also on the putting green, he incurs a two-stroke penalty (Rule 19-5a).  If he was off the green, it was just a good (and lucky) shot..

He was off the green on the fringe

Joe Paradiso

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
17 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

 I didn't find a requirement for your opponent to wait for you to mark it,

I would say 2/3 applies. He would be denying your right to mark it and would lose the hole in equity.


Posted
18 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

I didn't find a requirement for your opponent to wait for you to mark it, however.  

I agree.  If one had stated that one intended to mark the ball and the competitor played any way, 2/3 may apply. In all the decisions it seems like proceeding after a competitor has requested an action is a breach.  Until something is said, a competitor may proceed.

  • Upvote 1

Brian Kuehn

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
23 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

I agree.  If one had stated that one intended to mark the ball and the competitor played any way, 2/3 may apply. In all the decisions it seems like proceeding after a competitor has requested an action is a breach.  Until something is said, a competitor may proceed.

For clarity, 2/3 is a matchplay decision; it would be 'opponent', not 'competitor'. R3-4 is the equivalent in strokeplay.

  • Upvote 1

  • Moderator
Posted
1 hour ago, Martyn W said:

I would say 2/3 applies. He would be denying your right to mark it and would lose the hole in equity.

 

33 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

I agree.  If one had stated that one intended to mark the ball and the competitor played any way, 2/3 may apply. In all the decisions it seems like proceeding after a competitor has requested an action is a breach.  Until something is said, a competitor may proceed.

Thanks for helping further my golf rules education.  I thought that he should be required to wait, but couldn't find the specific rule.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
39 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

 

Thanks for helping further my golf rules education.  I thought that he should be required to wait, but couldn't find the specific rule.

I looked as well, so don't feel bad.  It didn't seem right that in stroke play I wouldn't have the right to mark so that's why I posted here.  Thanks to all for their time pointing me to the right rule. 

Joe Paradiso

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3375 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • That was a good watch. When I started working on pelvis in the backswing. I thought, this sounds contradictory to those leg straightening threads on the site. Erik has already done a correction. Then the last lesson we went more down the route of feeling the right knee gains flex. It doesn’t, but the feeling keeps my knee position in a good range. Also, I just realized how much extra work my right hip needed to do to stabilize the body with the proper weight shift. Those glute and hip stabilizers got worked. 🤣 I wish this evolution in the golf instruction happened 20 years ago! 😭
    • I've been Playing Golf for: 40 yrs My current handicap index or average score is: 4.0 factor My typical ball flight is: Straight however sometimes slight draw. The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: squirt to the right due to to much arm not enough turn. Videos:  [Delete this, Embed Videos Here - https://thesandtrap.com/how-to/embed-videos/]
    • Wordle 1,656 3/6* ⬜⬜🟨🟨🟨 🟩⬜🟨🟨🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Wordle 1,656 4/6 🟩⬜⬜⬜🟨 🟩⬜⬜🟩🟨 🟩🟩🟩🟩⬜ 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • The first issue Erik spoke about is something we worked on for my swing during both GEARS sessions. GEARS was showing my pelvis center moving towards the ball during the back swing. I wasn’t the 4” guy though! This forced me to correct on the downswing to give myself space. My hip rotation was to high as well. We corrected it by first getting the weight off my heels in my stance and getting my posture correct. Then the feel was shifting back into my right hip at a 45 degree angle. This kept my pelvis center from moving towards the ball at the start of the backswing. I also didn’t sway back as much as I felt I did because of the angle I was shifting. Feel Ain’t Real. The cool thing about GEARS is as you work on something you can see the exact (Real) change happening. On video, it is much harder to spot this issue because of the 2D nature of filming. But I know what to look for now. Sadly, I was hurt all last year and most of this year so I really haven’t been able to work on it much. I did do a lot of backswing work though.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.