IGNORED

OOB Penalty Question

m4rko
Note: This thread is 2749 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi Everyone,

I'm new here and was hoping someone could advise me on what I should do. (I really need to study the rules better)

I use an app called 'the grint' to track my handicap and some stats, and I am reluctant to declare a recent round at a new course as on one of the holes I hit a tee shot near the out of bounds and didn't play a provisional, when I went to my ball it was indeed in the hedge past the O/B marker, as I was just playing with a friend and didn't want to hold anyone up by running back to the tee, I just dropped a ball as a penalty and carried on, however I started playing well (for me) and ended up +7 after the 18 holes including my first eagle on a par 4 so I would have liked to declare that round (the grint has trophies etc to highlight things like eagles).

My handicap on there is 10.4 so this was a decent round at a new course.

So I knew the rule about provisional balls and shot penalties but can't find anything about what I do now after the card has been marked? Can I add a 2 shot penalty to the hole in question? The hole was a 6 on a par 4 so do I make it an 8? Or is it simply disqualified because I didn't play a provisional from the tee?

Sorry for going on a bit there but I hate the feeling of cheating or making a score look better than it was, Thanks in advance.

Mark

There are two schools of thought on this that both seem to conform to the USGA handicap manual.  

1)  The manual says that if a hole is not played under the rules of golf that it should be scored as par plus any handicap stroke you are allowed for that hole.  

2)  For an unfinished hole, you should mark what you would most likely have scored when you picked up.