IGNORED

Used clubs for beginner

Mconn116
Note: This thread is 2670 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey guys so new here and pretty new to golf. Anyways my experience is very low and I'm still learning the game, recently got married and the guys in the family golf regularly and took me out and even though I didn't do the greatest I had a blast, which brings me to now. I've been using my dads old wilson clubs which I'm guessing are from the 90s, possibly earlier (has wooden woods). I'm looking to get a more modern set, I plan on going to the range maybe weekly (possibly playing 18 holes a month) and taking some lessons but would like a set of my own clubs. Basically my question is I'm looking for recommendations on clubs to get me started. I'll be buying used due to being on a very tight budget and probably won't need a full set to start, I'd honestly rather take the money I save and spend on range balls. So any suggestions for a used iron set that's forgiving but not so forgiving that I develop bad habits? I'm thinking 6-PW, SW, 5h, driver, 5w, and I'll just use my dad's old mizuno putter, will also be picking up a new bag as his old heavy leather bag has seen better days. Also, I'm 25, 5'11" and fairly strong but swing a little slower as i'm more focused on form rather than killing the ball for now.

Thanks in advance guys!

Also, what's everyone's thoughts on used sites like 3ballls, 2ndswing, or even eBay. Keep in mind I don't need top of the line clubs, just good clubs to get me started and I can start replacing as my game improves and it's warranted.

2 hours ago, Mconn116 said: