Jump to content
iacas

Girl Loses U.S. Junior Match After Raking Back Short Putt

124 posts / 10703 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

http://www.golfchannel.com/news/golf-central-blog/shepherd-us-junior-final-after-concession-controversy

Quote

On the first playoff hole, the par-5 14th, Moon faced a 4-foot birdie putt for the win. She missed the putt and left herself a 4-inch comebacker for par. Already in with par, Shepherd didn’t concede her opponent’s short putt, and Moon mindlessly pulled her ball back to try again.

"I didn't say that was good," Shepherd said.

Because the putt wasn’t conceded, Moon violated Rule 18-2 (moving a ball in play) and received a one-shot penalty, resulting in a loss of hole and, ultimately, the match.

Ouch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Seems like both of them handled it really well, at least.  The comments in that link are funny - people are bashing her (the winner) since she's going to Duke.

1 minute ago, David in FL said:

2)  Some people are assholes.

Who, in this situation?  Neither of them did anything even remotely asshole-ish.

“And so I said, ‘I don’t think I gave that to you.’ Then I said, ‘I totally would have given that to you, no doubt.’”

Shepherd thought that because she intended to concede the putt, the match would be allowed to continue. But that wasn’t the case. Because the concession wasn’t verbalized prior to Moon raking her ball, Moon violated Rule 18-2 (moving a ball in play) and received a one-shot penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Hardspoon said:

Seems like both of them handled it really well, at least.  The comments in that link are funny - people are bashing her (the winner) since she's going to Duke.

Who, in this situation?  Neither of them did anything even remotely asshole-ish.

“And so I said, ‘I don’t think I gave that to you.’ Then I said, ‘I totally would have given that to you, no doubt.’”

Shepherd thought that because she intended to concede the putt, the match would be allowed to continue. But that wasn’t the case. Because the concession wasn’t verbalized prior to Moon raking her ball, Moon violated Rule 18-2 (moving a ball in play) and received a one-shot penalty.

Yeah, the quote in the OP didn't really reflect the same story as the link.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 minutes ago, David in FL said:

2)  Some people are assholes.

I'm with John. Nobody was an asshole here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, iacas said:

I'm with John. Nobody was an asshole here.

I mean, she's going to Duke, so she will be soon...but for now, no, she was good.  :-P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, Hardspoon said:

Seems like both of them handled it really well, at least.  The comments in that link are funny - people are bashing her (the winner) since she's going to Duke.

Who, in this situation?  Neither of them did anything even remotely asshole-ish.

“And so I said, ‘I don’t think I gave that to you.’ Then I said, ‘I totally would have given that to you, no doubt.’”

Shepherd thought that because she intended to concede the putt, the match would be allowed to continue. But that wasn’t the case. Because the concession wasn’t verbalized prior to Moon raking her ball, Moon violated Rule 18-2 (moving a ball in play) and received a one-shot penalty.

I don't disagree, but I would be curious how often putts of inconsequential distance are conceded without officially saying so.  And I say that because it's very noticeable how she turns to walk away and then pauses and her eyes get kinda wide before she turns back and says she didn't concede.  I find it hard to believe that anybody would care if she just continued that turn towards the next tee.  I believe that is the action Dave might be referring to (and also why I gave him a thumbs up)

I could be entirely wrong though. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

I don't disagree, but I would be curious how often putts of inconsequential distance are conceded without officially saying so.

OK - so I'm revealing my ignorance here (I've never played in an "official" match play tournament), but don't you have to verbally concede anything?

8 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

And I say that because it's very noticeable how she turns to walk away and then pauses and her eyes get kinda wide before she turns back and says she didn't concede.

Not that you can read her mind, but it looks like she clearly turned away because she thought Moon was going to tap the putt in.  Her eyes got wide when she raked it instead.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, Hardspoon said:

OK - so I'm revealing my ignorance here (I've never played in an "official" match play tournament), but don't you have to verbally concede anything?

No. You can motion "pick it up" or tap it away yourself or whatever.

1 minute ago, Hardspoon said:

Not that you can read her mind, but it looks like she clearly turned away because she thought Moon was going to tap the putt in.  Her eyes got wide when she raked it instead.

Ditto.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, Hardspoon said:

OK - so I'm revealing my ignorance here (I've never played in an "official" match play tournament), but don't you have to verbally concede anything?

I dont know either but I would assume that by the rules you would indeed have to clearly concede, just that I wonder if they ever don't.

I can tell you with 100% certainty, though, that I f that was me that I'd have kept walking to the next tee.  If an official came to me and asked if I conceded I'd say I didn't but I wouldn't volunteer it.

8 minutes ago, Hardspoon said:

Not that you can read her mind, but it looks like she clearly turned away because she thought Moon was going to tap the putt in.  Her eyes got wide when she raked it instead.

Agree completely about the mind reading but I don't think I've ever seen that happen - people finish out a hole in match play like that.  (I admittedly haven't watched all that much match play and I don't think I've ever watched junior match play)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, iacas said:

No. You can motion "pick it up" or tap it away yourself or whatever.

Ditto.

Looked to me like a concession....turning and starting to walk away.  No doubt that Moon should have confirmed it before raking it back though.  Shepherd could easily have said, yep, I conceded that, let's move on....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

If an official came to me and asked if I conceded I'd say I didn't but I wouldn't volunteer it.

Per the story (and what you can hear on video), her coach did ask her "Did you concede?"  She hesitated long enough that she was asked, and then she had no choice but to tell the truth.

2 minutes ago, David in FL said:

Looked to me like a concession....turning and starting to walk away.  No doubt that Moon should have confirmed it before raking it back though.  Shepherd could easily have said, yep, I conceded that, let's move on....

Yeah, agreed...I guess I give her the benefit of the doubt since she's young and probably didn't realize what was going on.  I'd bet that next time she just walks away.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, David in FL said:

Looked to me like a concession....turning and starting to walk away.  No doubt that Moon should have confirmed it before raking it back though.  Shepherd could easily have said, yep, I conceded that, let's move on....

Turning away is not a concession.

If she did not actually concede, but walks away and doesn't lodge a claim in time, it's effectively the same thing as conceding.

But it's not conceding.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, iacas said:

Turning away is not a concession.

It is if the player says it is.

Again, Moon never should have assumed.  Her fault.  Had I been asked if I had conceded that putt, I would have said yep.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, David in FL said:

It is if the player says it is.

No, it isn't.

See the rest of my post that you didn't quote.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It really is a tough break for both of them. In the end, the responsibility is on Moon to make sure the putt was conceded. 

9 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

I can tell you with 100% certainty, though, that I f that was me that I'd have kept walking to the next tee.  If an official came to me and asked if I conceded I'd say I didn't but I wouldn't volunteer it.

Yea, that is kinda what I am thinking I would have done as well. I am not sure what I would say or do if I noticed the opponent do what Moon did. I probably mention the same thing, that I didn't concede the putt. Though it would be very rare for me not to concede that length of a putt. I am pretty good at saying "That's good" early enough that this type of situation probably would not happen. 

Another question is, if you notice the opponent pick up the ball with out being conceded, and do not mention anything. Are you in violation of waiving the rules of golf and disqualified? 

4 minutes ago, iacas said:

Turning away is not a concession.

I agree with this. Unless the opponent makes a deliberate sign or says something then the putt is not conceded. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, iacas said:

Turning away is not a concession.

Agree, if she were older and wiser I'd say a well played hustle but seems to be a mistake on both parties with the fault really lying with the person who didn't hole out. Lesson learned for her about rules, lesson learned for other about sportsmanship. 

Edited by Gator Hazard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, iacas said:

No, it isn't.

See the rest of my post that you didn't quote.

I didn't quote it, because you edited it... ;-) 

I know of no place in the rules where it specifies exactly what needs to be done in order to concede a hole.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2018 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    More to come…
  • Posts

    • 100: Took me about 3-4 years at 4-5 round a year to break 100, was not playing a lot back then. I shoot a 96.  90: About two year after breaking 100 (20 rounds), shoot a 86 and a 89 two rounds after that. Just managing blow-ups better help me a lot, did not have a single birdie in those 2 rounds but no triple either. Better control of my driving helped a lot (less slices).  80: Not yet. Hoping this year 😊 My lowest round last year was 83 and now i'm waiting for the snow to melt!!  70: N/A
    • 100 & 90 - not sure.   I started golf pretty early.   I'm sure I shot in the 80's some time around 14 years old.    80: I shot 80 on the nose more than a handful of times between 1999 and 2018.   but never could get below, till I shot a 78 last summer.   which was baller.   70:  yeah, we'll see about that.  
    • Here are my top five favorite and least favorite players currently on the PGA Tour. Favorites------------Jason Day, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Rickie Fowler and Francesco Molinari Least Favorites----Dustin Johnson, Bill Haas, Billy Horshel, Rory Sabbatini and Hunter Mahan                                                                                                                                           I don't really dislike the last five as much as I just catch myself pulling against them when they are in contention. (Also, I realize Haas and Mahan are not in the top 125 right now). Who are your favorites and least favorites?
    • Well, it's not an absolute, of course.  It's just a tendency to fare well in the long game and crap out in the short game.  (BTW, the 7-iron over the green was pretty useful information for me.  It is the result of my fiddling with the swing.  Looks like I am getting about 20-30 yards extra off my irons with this hips-first swing.) Also, on the 7 you quoted, I hit a 2nd shot off the tee since the right shoreline is tree-lined and I did not think I could get a decent drop.  I should have put that part in there.  Naturally that faded some and ended under a tree anyway. pfft Klineka, we are so far off the topic now that I have nearly forgot the point. Actually, this thread has been off point for a long time anyway.
    • made some changes and have a few DTL videos to share. noticed inconsistent ball position was causing some previously unexplained mishits. using a couple of alignment rods to fix this. widened stance and feeling more centered foot pressure. just feels more solid. keeping chin higher at address and throughout backswing. much easier to get a full turn and had the unintended consequence (along with wider stance) of reducing lateral head movement when i load up (à la henrik stenson). using a neutral grip now. most frequent miss has turned into a pull. neutral grip helps prevent pull hooks. first video is a drill (7-iron) i'm using to improve tempo and separation. it's the drill i love to hate: challenging and significantly reduces power but very helpful. this particular swing is acceptable but i want to try to get more separation. 1) i need better core strength and to do more pelvic exercises. and 2) i need to trust the top half will follow the bottom half. feedback or questions? second video is about 80% tempo with a p-wedge. there's a clear difference between this and the drill swing. i hit this ball dead straight but it could've easily been a 10-yard pull if my timing was slightly off. i want to fix this so i don't rely on timing and i think that starts with a more consistent path on the backswing (like in the drill) and getting better separation so i don't jump at the ball from the top before sliding/turning with the lower half. feedback or questions? third video is an example of how much more drastic this swing flaw looks with longer irons. here i'm hitting a 16.5* driving iron. saved the shot with good timing and roasted a baby pull fade but it could have turned out badly. i want this club to be my fairway finder. have made solid progress in the last few weeks but still have a bit of work to do before i'm comfortable bagging it. feedback or questions?  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. gabrielwalker
      gabrielwalker
      (29 years old)
    2. Justin C
      Justin C
      (33 years old)
    3. Sean G
      Sean G
      (35 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...