Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 2614 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Let's say I hit a tee shot with driver and pulled it left. It hits a tree and potentially bounced left into a canyon that is out of bounds. I then hit a provisional ball off the tee and it ends up on the left side of the fairway. I then search for my original ball and I'm unable to find it, so I hit my 2nd shot on my provisional ball and it ends up near the green. After hitting my 2nd shot of my provisional ball, I walk towards the green and end up finding my first tee shot. It had hit the tree and somehow bounced forward, resting beyond my provisional ball tee shot. 

What is the ruling here? Do I play my first tee shot without penalty? Or do I have to play my provisional ball with a "3 off the tee" penalty?

-Jimmy

:nike: VR_S Covert 2.0 Driver, 3W
:pxg: 0311 X (3), 0311 XF (4-6), 0311 (7-PW, 52/56/60)
:titleist: 2016 Scotty Cameron Newport Select Putter

"That tiger ain't go crazy; that tiger went tiger!" - Chris Rock

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Sorry man, once you make a stroke at your provisional ball the original ball is deemed lost.

My bag is an ever-changing combination of clubs. 

A mix I am forever tinkering with. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
8 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

Sorry man, once you make a stroke at your provisional ball the original ball is deemed lost.

That’s inaccurate.

You can play a provisional so long as it is played from behind where the original ball is likely to be.

Look at these two rulings.

71481203-5C6D-4883-86A2-E353FE9EEC06.png

  • Thumbs Up 2
  • Informative 2

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)

You can play the provisional until you reach the area in which your original ball is likely to be found.  (Posted while another, more specific, answer was posted.)  Pipped at the post once more.

Edited by Piz
  • Thumbs Up 1

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
4 minutes ago, iacas said:

That’s inaccurate.

You can play a provisional so long as it is played from behind where the original ball is likely to be.

Look at these two rulings.

71481203-5C6D-4883-86A2-E353FE9EEC06.png

I'm glad you confirmed what I was thinking. I was pretty sure it didn't matter if you played a second shot on the provisional as long as you are not passed the original ball and the time hadn't expired for the search.

KICK THE FLIP!!

In the bag:
:srixon: Z355

:callaway: XR16 3 Wood
:tmade: Aeroburner 19* 3 hybrid
:ping: I e1 irons 4-PW
:vokey: SM5 50, 60
:wilsonstaff: Harmonized Sole Grind 56 and Windy City Putter

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
7 minutes ago, iacas said:

That’s inaccurate.

You can play a provisional so long as it is played from behind where the original ball is likely to be.

Look at these two rulings.

71481203-5C6D-4883-86A2-E353FE9EEC06.png

 

Thank you! Yes that was the case. I ended up playing my original ball without penalty which was the correct thing to do. I was playing as a single and one of the guys I was paired up with explained the rule correctly.

-Jimmy

:nike: VR_S Covert 2.0 Driver, 3W
:pxg: 0311 X (3), 0311 XF (4-6), 0311 (7-PW, 52/56/60)
:titleist: 2016 Scotty Cameron Newport Select Putter

"That tiger ain't go crazy; that tiger went tiger!" - Chris Rock

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

This happened to me in a tournament once, and to a guy in my group at a club championship i played in over the weekend. Thought he hit his tee shot OB, hit a provisional, played it on to the green, then found his original ball just off the fairway when we were walking up. I told him he had to play his original, but he wasn't convinced so he played both balls in. (Im not sure how that works...) He actually made the same score on both balls, anyway so i let it go. Drained his provisional ball for bogey and missed the green on the original then didn't get up and down.

I had always assumed once your declared your provisional in play and played it you forfeited your original ball wherever it might be. Turns out that wasn't true. Now i make it a point to take a little off my provisional shots from the tee just to give myself some wiggle room. Its a little trickier with green side provisionals. 


  • Administrator
Posted
12 minutes ago, jimnm said:

Thank you! Yes that was the case. I ended up playing my original ball without penalty which was the correct thing to do. I was playing as a single and one of the guys I was paired up with explained the rule correctly.

Depends on when you played your original versus when you started the search.

5 minutes ago, Groucho Valentine said:

This happened to me in a tournament once, and to a guy in my group at a club championship i played in over the weekend. Thought he hit his tee shot OB, hit a provisional, played it on to the green, then found his original ball just off the fairway when we were walking up. I told him he had to play his original, but he wasn't convinced so he played both balls in.

Maybe. Maybe not. He may have played a wrong ball depending on where the original was likely to be.

It doesn’t matter where it was actually found.

  • Informative 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

 

6 minutes ago, iacas said:

Depends on when you played your original versus when you started the search.

I should have stated that I played the original ball within 5 minutes of reaching the provisional ball/area of the original tee shot. My provisional was short/right of the tree. I looked under the tree for my original and did not find it. So I hit the provisional. Then walked towards the green and ended up finding the original in front of the tree. Hopefully the original ball was the right play.

 

-Jimmy

:nike: VR_S Covert 2.0 Driver, 3W
:pxg: 0311 X (3), 0311 XF (4-6), 0311 (7-PW, 52/56/60)
:titleist: 2016 Scotty Cameron Newport Select Putter

"That tiger ain't go crazy; that tiger went tiger!" - Chris Rock

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
41 minutes ago, iacas said:

That’s inaccurate.

You can play a provisional so long as it is played from behind where the original ball is likely to be.

Look at these two rulings.

71481203-5C6D-4883-86A2-E353FE9EEC06.png

I believe the spirit of that rule is if you hit a 300 yard drive that's possibly out of bounds and then you hit a 20 yard provisional. You can hit your provisional again. In this case he said he looked where his original was likely to be, and then struck his provisional. The first ball is then deemed lost. 

6 minutes ago, jimnm said:

 

I should have stated that I played the original ball within 5 minutes of reaching the provisional ball/area of the original tee shot. My provisional was short/right of the tree. I looked under the tree for my original and did not find it. So I hit the provisional. Then walked towards the green and ended up finding the original in front of the tree. Hopefully the original ball was the right play.

 

Oops, I didn't see this. I stand corrected. You were right to play your first ball. 

I assumed your original drive and your provisional drive were of similar lengths. 

My bag is an ever-changing combination of clubs. 

A mix I am forever tinkering with. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
28 minutes ago, Groucho Valentine said:

Now i make it a point to take a little off my provisional shots from the tee just to give myself some wiggle room. Its a little trickier with green side provisionals.  

I will need to consider this next time I'm in a potential OOB situation. 👍

-Jimmy

:nike: VR_S Covert 2.0 Driver, 3W
:pxg: 0311 X (3), 0311 XF (4-6), 0311 (7-PW, 52/56/60)
:titleist: 2016 Scotty Cameron Newport Select Putter

"That tiger ain't go crazy; that tiger went tiger!" - Chris Rock

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
10 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

I believe the spirit of that rule is if you hit a 300 yard drive that's possibly out of bounds and then you hit a 20 yard provisional. You can hit your provisional again. In this case he said he looked where his original was likely to be, and then struck his provisional. The first ball is then deemed lost. 

Thats what i used to think. But it turns out its not aways true. 


  • Administrator
Posted
28 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

I believe the spirit of that rule is if you hit a 300 yard drive that's possibly out of bounds and then you hit a 20 yard provisional. You can hit your provisional again. In this case he said he looked where his original was likely to be, and then struck his provisional. The first ball is then deemed lost. 

Not true.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
3 minutes ago, iacas said:

Not true.

I know I know. I read on. At first I made an assumption. My bad. I already said I stand corrected. I was wrong. I made an error. I goofed up. I'm terribly sorry. I throw myself at the mercy of the court and beg for forgiveness. 

My bag is an ever-changing combination of clubs. 

A mix I am forever tinkering with. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
2 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

I know I know. I read on. At first I made an assumption. My bad. I already said I stand corrected. I was wrong. I made an error. I goofed up. I'm terribly sorry. I throw myself at the mercy of the court and beg for forgiveness. 

Huh? You said in your last post “I believe” in the present tense.

I guess your posts were likely merged.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
1 minute ago, iacas said:

I guess your posts were likely merged.

Yep

My bag is an ever-changing combination of clubs. 

A mix I am forever tinkering with. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The big question is whether the second shot with the provisional was played from a point closer to the hole than the original was likely to be.  The actual location of the original ball is not important in making that determination.  From the wording of the original post, I am not certain that this requirement was met.  Only the original poster can really answer that question.


Posted
On 10/2/2018 at 2:53 PM, Groucho Valentine said:

He actually made the same score on both balls, anyway so i let it go. 

@Groucho Valentine, you said this was a tournament; when you say "you let it go" does that mean you just posted the score and returned the card? If the committee was not informed that a second ball was played, the player is DQ.  "Before returning his score card, the competitor must report the facts of the situation to the Committee. If he fails to do so, he is disqualified."


Note: This thread is 2614 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.